Living Things - Linkin Park
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    80
    Bold stuff and proof Shinoda remains a richly talented creative force. [Aug 2012, p.103]
  2. 75
    What remains is a barrage of cyber-metal elbow jabs, with just enough fluffy new-wave padding to soften the onslaught.
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    70
    It doesn't stay still, it peaks and ebbs, flowing steadily between brooding and explosions of repressed rage, a fitting soundtrack for aging rap-rockers who are comfortable in their skin but restless at heart.
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    62
    Living Things" is simply a minor effort in an impressive discography, and one that should translate well to Linkin Park's live show.
  5. Jul 18, 2012
    60
    Living Things is a very good entry that's simply not as special as its precursor. All in all, Linkin Park has always been a bit unique and the best at what they do, and they continue to excel on this album. Just don't expect too much from it.
  6. Jul 17, 2012
    60
    Too often, Living Things is the sound of a band with vast talent, but also one that hasn't figured out where to go next. [23 Jun 2012, p.52]
  7. Jun 26, 2012
    60
    While they've spiffed up their sound for the dance floor, the band found some of its greatest inspiration in pop-wise hip-hop - "Lies Greed Misery," a sweet-and-sour gem, is guaranteed to make you jump.
  8. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    Living Things feels more like consolidation than advancement, perhaps in an attempt to pacify fans alienated by the new direction, while keeping new converts interested, too.
  9. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    By refusing to play it safe, they'll further diminish their original fanbase, but such boldness is to be applauded.
  10. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    While it lacks the finesse of the band's previous work, somewhere in amongst all the bluster, soul-searching, adrenaline and anger, the record carves out a space where everything seems to fit together.
  11. Jun 29, 2012
    50
    Linkin Park will always be a compelling and watchable entity. But Living Things doesn't deliver music as interesting or as arresting as what immediately preceded it. Which comes as both a surprise and, more importantly, a shame.
  12. Jun 29, 2012
    50
    There are still traces of their recent, more mature outings, but those moments are predictably outshined by the ones that harken back to the band's glory days.
  13. Jun 26, 2012
    50
    Shinoda and Bennington's brotherly chemistry remains undiminished, but what troubles is how little they've matured lyrically.
  14. 50
    It's largely the usual semi-hilarious histrionica to which we've become accustomed
  15. 20
    Breaking down barriers is not the forte of Top 40 rock music, but when you can't tell the difference between a Linkin Park track and something produced by a plebeian confusing dance beats for real drums, something has to give.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 291 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 94
  2. Negative: 4 out of 94
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    I kept refreshing the page to ensure that I got the first user review in. Guys and gals, IGNORE THE CRITICS. This is LP's best album since Hybrid Theory, and one of the best rock albums EVER. The amazing thing about this album is that not one song is weak or half hearted. All of them have some quality that makes them shine. The melodies are usual LP stuff, nothing out of the ordinary. What's new is a delicious mixture of electronica which means that every song is in a genre of its own. The deaf and dumb critics, while heaping praise upon smelly, skinny rock bands who can't wear a shirt decently and whose pimples show in their music, have always derided LP. We, the fans know better. I know their lyrics get heavy handed at times - they are not the best lyricists out there. But hey, the music - that INCOMPARABLE mixture of electronica and metal, coupled to earnestness about world and emotional issues, means that even a 33 year old daddy like me can't get enough of them. So go ahead and buy it without fear. LP fans will rejoice, while other rock music fans will find a remarkably consistent album that defies categorization and sounds different from everything else out there. If you're not willing to take that chance, listen to the stream on iTunes or the various videos on YouTube. I can't get myself off this album. The new Smashing Pumpkins album is good too, but the sheer bombast and ambition of Living Things keeps calling me to it. There is something to be said for the incredibly goovy rhythm section that LP have fashioned over the years. This stuff will eat Blink 182's and David Guettas of this world for breakfast. IGNORE THE CRITICS. DECIDE FOR YOURSELF. PLEASE. Full Review »
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    While it's not the best album of 2012, it certainly is a return to form for a band who lost their way with their previous release. There are only two bad songs on this record (Lies Greed Misery and Until It Breaks) and one "okay" song (Roads Untravelled). Other than the aforementioned this is a solid release by Linkin Park with a semi-new sound and songs that could have been recorded during their Meteora days. I thought I would hate this record but I was wrong. I highly recommend this to all Linkin Park fans! Full Review »
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    CASTLE OF GLASS. Enough said. As a massive LP fan, this is a solid listen. The critics are simply incorrect. This is a modern LP matured Hybrid Theory/Meoteora. Full Review »