Living Things - Linkin Park
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 294

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2012
    1
    My score: 1 (for Burn It Down and Lies Greed Misery)... The rest of the record SUCKS!
    I really miss the band that brought us Numb, Crawling, Faint, In the End...
  2. Oct 20, 2012
    3
    The problem isn't that Living Things dosen't have good songs... The problem is that there isn't enough of them to keep this album from falling apart. Songs like "Victimized" are examples of why this band lost it since Minutes to Minute. It's garbage. I mean, Burn it Down is a song filled with powerful choruses and an interesting use of new formula, but that is the only song where they seem to use there talent in a noteable way. The band mostly just added electronic sounds and stated that they created a great album. If you want to hear a great album this year, I'd pick up "Transit of Venus" by Three Days Grace. Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    4
    Linkin Park ha hecho un album, en ciertos momentos torpe, en otros momentos fuerte, mas sin embargo un album muy decepcionante, he sido fanatico de trabajos como "A Thousand Suns" y "Minutes To Midnight", el resultado en este album es una seria de canciones que conviven entre si con gran fluides, pese a esto la misma serie de canciones suena como un chicle masticado al derecho y al reves a traves del album, como si no cambiara de forma en ningun momento, decepción, es una palabra mas elegante para describir el album a su maxima expresion. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    4
    Let me get one thing straight I understand that bands change and I was very excited to see Linkin Parks new direction when buying this album only to see that the band tugged themselfs into many directions and done mostly alt rock which doesn't refect them going bonkers at all, however the album is decent by itself when compared with other LP albums it isn't very great and probably equal to A Thousand Suns or Minutes To Midnight. However for people who barley knew of LP would probably find this album great but in my opinion it really only shows their alt rock style with a couple of Electronic Head Bangers such as Lies Greed Misery. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    2
    This is the worst album ever made by Linkin Park. They call it Alternative Rock (and this is an insult to R.E.M., U2 and Oasis) but it sounds more like a techno-dance album, with a blur of something that was similar to rock or metal. All the songs (but Castle Of Glass) are awful.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    80
    Bold stuff and proof Shinoda remains a richly talented creative force. [Aug 2012, p.103]
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    60
    Living Things is a very good entry that's simply not as special as its precursor. All in all, Linkin Park has always been a bit unique and the best at what they do, and they continue to excel on this album. Just don't expect too much from it.
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    60
    Too often, Living Things is the sound of a band with vast talent, but also one that hasn't figured out where to go next. [23 Jun 2012, p.52]