Living Things - Linkin Park
Living Things Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 297 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Personal relationships influenced the lyrics on the fifth album produced with Rick Rubin for the alternative rock band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    80
    Bold stuff and proof Shinoda remains a richly talented creative force. [Aug 2012, p.103]
  2. 75
    What remains is a barrage of cyber-metal elbow jabs, with just enough fluffy new-wave padding to soften the onslaught.
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    70
    It doesn't stay still, it peaks and ebbs, flowing steadily between brooding and explosions of repressed rage, a fitting soundtrack for aging rap-rockers who are comfortable in their skin but restless at heart.
  4. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    While it lacks the finesse of the band's previous work, somewhere in amongst all the bluster, soul-searching, adrenaline and anger, the record carves out a space where everything seems to fit together.
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    Living Things feels more like consolidation than advancement, perhaps in an attempt to pacify fans alienated by the new direction, while keeping new converts interested, too.
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    By refusing to play it safe, they'll further diminish their original fanbase, but such boldness is to be applauded.
  7. 20
    Breaking down barriers is not the forte of Top 40 rock music, but when you can't tell the difference between a Linkin Park track and something produced by a plebeian confusing dance beats for real drums, something has to give.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 96
  2. Negative: 4 out of 96
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    I kept refreshing the page to ensure that I got the first user review in. Guys and gals, IGNORE THE CRITICS. This is LP's best album since Hybrid Theory, and one of the best rock albums EVER. The amazing thing about this album is that not one song is weak or half hearted. All of them have some quality that makes them shine. The melodies are usual LP stuff, nothing out of the ordinary. What's new is a delicious mixture of electronica which means that every song is in a genre of its own. The deaf and dumb critics, while heaping praise upon smelly, skinny rock bands who can't wear a shirt decently and whose pimples show in their music, have always derided LP. We, the fans know better. I know their lyrics get heavy handed at times - they are not the best lyricists out there. But hey, the music - that INCOMPARABLE mixture of electronica and metal, coupled to earnestness about world and emotional issues, means that even a 33 year old daddy like me can't get enough of them. So go ahead and buy it without fear. LP fans will rejoice, while other rock music fans will find a remarkably consistent album that defies categorization and sounds different from everything else out there. If you're not willing to take that chance, listen to the stream on iTunes or the various videos on YouTube. I can't get myself off this album. The new Smashing Pumpkins album is good too, but the sheer bombast and ambition of Living Things keeps calling me to it. There is something to be said for the incredibly goovy rhythm section that LP have fashioned over the years. This stuff will eat Blink 182's and David Guettas of this world for breakfast. IGNORE THE CRITICS. DECIDE FOR YOURSELF. PLEASE. Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    This album is so stunningly good. It grabs you and doesn't let go. This is a rock solid listen. The only song I tend to skip over is "Lies Greed Misery" but I respect it. I just don't love it. There's a narrative quality in the way this album is arranged. It's about pain and destruction and healing and being human(Castle of Glass). Recommend. Also, I really like Roads Untraveled. There's a lot there. Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Linkin Park made it! This album is really a pleasant surprise and a proof that Linkin Park deserve their good stature as a rock band. I love all song of this one, it's an album I can listen to over and over again. A perfect job from Linkin Park; this is gonna be one of my top contenders for the best album of 2012. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    let me say, as a LONG TIME LP fan, it is so nice to see they are heading back towards what they use to do best! I do not mind their new sound, but their Meteora was an album I lived by through High School. I still go back and listen to it, it is an amazing accomplishment that replaced their already amazing Hybrid Theory.
    I hope they keep up the great work!
    Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    This is an incredible album, they decided to make something different despite what people said and came with this masterpiece.
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    8
    I remember me doing the review of A thousand suns and gave it 10/10. A thousand suns is not a bad album but when you put it next to this one it's just not that good.

    Living Things kicks off with a gem! LOST IN THE ECHO sounds similar to LP's older work but it's combined with their new electro-sound and it works great! One of the future singles!!! (10/10)

    Next is IN MY REMAINS. Heavy guitars in this song, no rap whatsoever and Mike joins Chester at the end of the song but this time singing. The first two songs show that LP came back to distinctive strong choruses and it works! (8/10)

    BURN IT DOWN is the first single and even though it's kinda overplayed now, it's a strong song and it was a great choice for the first taste! (9/10)

    LIES GREED MISERY is experimental. Many people love it but I'm just not so much into it. It's not that I don't like it but the sound doesn't work for me that much. (6/10)

    I'LL BE GONE is awesome! I liked it when I heard it for the first time but now I love it!!! Probably the best chorus from the album with Chester's powerful lyrics and beautiful voice! It's the first song with only Chester's singing. (10/10)

    CASTLE OF GLASS reminds me Breaking the Habit from Meteora which I love, but I didn't get into it this one much yet. It doesn't progress that much and sounds the same for a whole time. But it's not bad at all. (7/10)

    VICTIMIZED is short, fast and crazy. Sounds like the old LP but it's just missing something. (6/10)

    ROADS UNTRAVELED is the first of the two balads. Starting with Mike's singing and then Chester is joining him. Chorus is without lyrics - simple and perfect. Beautiful song ladies and gentlemen. (9/10)

    SKIN TO BONE is one of the shorter tracks which contains both Mike's and Chester's singing and many electro elements. It's not bad but doesn't feel like a big hit. (7/10)

    UNTIL IT BREAKS is Hip-Hop. It doesn't have that LP drive but it's an interesting one. It's probably most of Mike that you can hear on the entire album. Not bad but there are better ones. (6/10)

    TINFOIL is Mr.Hahn's work similar to Session from Meteora and it works as intro for the last song of the album...

    The last song is POWERLESS. Another ballad, this time it's just Chester's singing. It starts slow and evolves to the epic finish. It's one of the 3 best song from Living Things and definitely future single! (10/10)


    Living Things has 3 perfect songs, 3 really great ones and the rest is worse but definitely not bad. It's not the second coming of Meteora but that's not what we're expecting. They've grown up and have different style now which I still like and I bet you'll like it too.

    I would give Hybrid Theory (8/10), Meteora (9/10), Minutes to Midnight (7/10) and A Thousand Suns (6/10) now. This one goes next to Hybrid as the second best studio album of Linkin Park. Definitely worth of your listening.
    Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2012
    1
    My score: 1 (for Burn It Down and Lies Greed Misery)... The rest of the record SUCKS!
    I really miss the band that brought us Numb, Crawling,
    Faint, In the End... Expand

See all 96 User Reviews