Living Things - Linkin Park
Living Things Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Personal relationships influenced the lyrics on the fifth album produced with Rick Rubin for the alternative rock band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    80
    Bold stuff and proof Shinoda remains a richly talented creative force. [Aug 2012, p.103]
  2. 75
    What remains is a barrage of cyber-metal elbow jabs, with just enough fluffy new-wave padding to soften the onslaught.
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    70
    It doesn't stay still, it peaks and ebbs, flowing steadily between brooding and explosions of repressed rage, a fitting soundtrack for aging rap-rockers who are comfortable in their skin but restless at heart.
  4. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    While it lacks the finesse of the band's previous work, somewhere in amongst all the bluster, soul-searching, adrenaline and anger, the record carves out a space where everything seems to fit together.
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    Living Things feels more like consolidation than advancement, perhaps in an attempt to pacify fans alienated by the new direction, while keeping new converts interested, too.
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    60
    By refusing to play it safe, they'll further diminish their original fanbase, but such boldness is to be applauded.
  7. 20
    Breaking down barriers is not the forte of Top 40 rock music, but when you can't tell the difference between a Linkin Park track and something produced by a plebeian confusing dance beats for real drums, something has to give.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 96
  2. Negative: 4 out of 96
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    I kept refreshing the page to ensure that I got the first user review in. Guys and gals, IGNORE THE CRITICS. This is LP's best album since Hybrid Theory, and one of the best rock albums EVER. The amazing thing about this album is that not one song is weak or half hearted. All of them have some quality that makes them shine. The melodies are usual LP stuff, nothing out of the ordinary. What's new is a delicious mixture of electronica which means that every song is in a genre of its own. The deaf and dumb critics, while heaping praise upon smelly, skinny rock bands who can't wear a shirt decently and whose pimples show in their music, have always derided LP. We, the fans know better. I know their lyrics get heavy handed at times - they are not the best lyricists out there. But hey, the music - that INCOMPARABLE mixture of electronica and metal, coupled to earnestness about world and emotional issues, means that even a 33 year old daddy like me can't get enough of them. So go ahead and buy it without fear. LP fans will rejoice, while other rock music fans will find a remarkably consistent album that defies categorization and sounds different from everything else out there. If you're not willing to take that chance, listen to the stream on iTunes or the various videos on YouTube. I can't get myself off this album. The new Smashing Pumpkins album is good too, but the sheer bombast and ambition of Living Things keeps calling me to it. There is something to be said for the incredibly goovy rhythm section that LP have fashioned over the years. This stuff will eat Blink 182's and David Guettas of this world for breakfast. IGNORE THE CRITICS. DECIDE FOR YOURSELF. PLEASE. Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Living Things is easily one of best rock albums ever made. Every song on the record has its own recognition and power. I have been listening to Linkin Park ever since I was a kid and they always sound awesome. DON'T LISTEN TO CRITICS! They don't even understand the intensity of the awesomeness of this album. "Lost in the Echo", "In My Remains", "Castle of Glass", and "Roads Untraveled" are my favorite on the album. "Lies Greed Misery" is a catchy dubstep/rock/rap track which sounds nothing like Skrillex as reviewed by the critics. "Tinfoil" is an amazing instrumental, literally gives you chills and the way it connects with "Powerless" which closes the album is epic. THIS ALBUM IS A MUST LISTEN. LINKIN PARK, FOR THE WIN! Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Linkin Park made it! This album is really a pleasant surprise and a proof that Linkin Park deserve their good stature as a rock band. I love all song of this one, it's an album I can listen to over and over again. A perfect job from Linkin Park; this is gonna be one of my top contenders for the best album of 2012. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    let me say, as a LONG TIME LP fan, it is so nice to see they are heading back towards what they use to do best! I do not mind their new sound, but their Meteora was an album I lived by through High School. I still go back and listen to it, it is an amazing accomplishment that replaced their already amazing Hybrid Theory.
    I hope they keep up the great work!
    Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    Simply i can say is that the album is better than Hybrid Theory And Meteora....I liked A Thousand Suns more than Living Things......but still this record holds its ground..........a must buy album................. Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    Living Things, fifth studio album of Linkin Park, is a new, 'hybrid' sound - combining the sound of their previous, highly experimental album, "A Thousand Suns" with their usual sound (from their previous 3 albums, more so from "Minutes To Midnight"). Despite being a bit of a change from "A Thousand Suns", I feel that it is adequately impressive compared to their previous albums. After listening to the entire album, I have identified 7 out of 12 to be tracks that I would listen to often, and 5 out of 12 to be potential favorites (favorite being "Powerless"). After rating each song on a scale out of 5 and finding the average of all 12 ratings, I rate Living Things 3.75 out of 5. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2012
    1
    My score: 1 (for Burn It Down and Lies Greed Misery)... The rest of the record SUCKS!
    I really miss the band that brought us Numb, Crawling,
    Faint, In the End... Expand

See all 96 User Reviews