Logic Will Break Your Heart

  • Record Label: Vice
  • Release Date: Oct 21, 2003
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 100
    The Stills have always shown promise, but Logic Will Break Your Heart ascends far beyond anyone's wildest expectations.
  2. The Stills' excellent debut album, Logic Will Break Your Heart, is a stunner, a rush of shoegazer guitars and suave lover-boy angst.
  3. Q Magazine
    80
    There's plenty of regret and "emotional disgust," but it's applied with piercing guitar lines that resemble a soppier Interpol. [Mar 2004, p.112]
  4. Blender
    80
    Mope-rock never felt so good. [Nov 2003, p.121]
  5. Partly glamorous and fully imaginative.
  6. Alternative Press
    80
    The Stills succeed where other time-travelers fail by emphasizing substance over style. [Jan 2004, p.108]
  7. It’s not a pretty record; while of course, being at times a very pretty record.
  8. while the production’s sleek sheen holds tight reigns over any explosive guitars threatening to get out of hand, The Stills still manage to build up enough tension to hold your attention through good old fashioned songwriting.
  9. Mojo
    80
    A similar osmosis of Bunneymen and Chameleons' dramarama as Interpol. [Mar 2004, p.106]
  10. Filter
    76
    The Stills manage to sound quite a bit like Wire Train or House Of Love, all jangly, mournful guitars and sparkling melodies... oh, and lots of reverb. [#8, p.106]
  11. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    The Stills succeed at distilling their influences into an inviting update. [24 Oct 2003, p.105]
  12. Logic Will Break Your Heart serves up likable songs in the mode of mid-'80s Britpop, alongside atmospheric ballads in the mode of just about every post-Coldplay European rock band.
  13. Guitar connoisseurs will find much to admire.
  14. But for every moment where the echoes of what's gone before threaten to engulf them, The Stills have ten more that shrug off the dead weight of their influences and reveal a thick, dark veneer of anguished sincerity.
  15. 70
    Disco, punk and pop, all in one bag.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. SelinaA
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    I've listened to this cd for countless hours and can honestly that The Stills are one of my favorite bands.
  2. ZachR
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    This was one of my favorite albums of 2003. I listened to it over and over and over. You really do have to listen to it through a few times This was one of my favorite albums of 2003. I listened to it over and over and over. You really do have to listen to it through a few times to really appreciate it. 'Of Montreal' is a top notch track that just blows me away every time I listen to it. I really can't understand the Interpol comparrisons. 'Logic Will Break Your Heart' is a much deeper album than any of the Interpol albums. You really just have to give it a chance to truly appreciate it. Full Review »
  3. JohnR
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    Absolutely top notch from beginning to end and probably the best album I've heard in 10 years. It really is that good.