User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 166

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    A true masterpiece by a great band working at its creative peak, which stands among the best rock albums of all time. It is possibly the greatest of them all. I believe it is. It is really not a true punk album, but a rock album laced with a good deal of reggae, country, pop, jazz, soul, rockability, and yes, punk. There is not one bad track on the album, which is rare, particularlyA true masterpiece by a great band working at its creative peak, which stands among the best rock albums of all time. It is possibly the greatest of them all. I believe it is. It is really not a true punk album, but a rock album laced with a good deal of reggae, country, pop, jazz, soul, rockability, and yes, punk. There is not one bad track on the album, which is rare, particularly for a double album. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    The album that practically defines both punk music and The Clash. A sprawling 65 minutes of diverse music ranging from garage rock to reggae. A genuine classic.
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    This album is just incredible. What's great is that The Card Cheat, not London Calling, is the best song. Each song is so unique that it feels like a different band could've written each one. It suits any mood and it shows just what kind of talent the Clash had. It is more than rock n' roll and is phenomenal. Everyone needs to listen to it.
  4. Oct 23, 2014
    10
    Pure genius. After the first two albums being solid in your face punk rock, this album explores a range of genres and instrumentation. At the core, there's still the punk songs 'London Calling', 'Death or Glory' and 'Clampdown'. Then there's the reggae/ska tracks 'Wrong Em' Boyo' and 'Revolution Rock'. With the piano based 'The Card Cheat' and the dub based 'Guns of Brixton' thrown inPure genius. After the first two albums being solid in your face punk rock, this album explores a range of genres and instrumentation. At the core, there's still the punk songs 'London Calling', 'Death or Glory' and 'Clampdown'. Then there's the reggae/ska tracks 'Wrong Em' Boyo' and 'Revolution Rock'. With the piano based 'The Card Cheat' and the dub based 'Guns of Brixton' thrown in there as well. A truly unique classic which will have an everlasting influential legacy. Expand
  5. BryanS
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    One of the best rock albums of all time. It also demonstrated how punk could deliver very powerful and meaningful messages.
  6. DanC
    Sep 23, 2004
    10
    In my top 10 of all time albums. The demos and DVD are great too.
  7. Matt
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    The Perfect Album
  8. MurrayK
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    THE best album of all time. Hands down!
  9. DocJ
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    The Clash were one of the best bands in their era. This is a must have for any rock fan.
  10. RobW.
    Nov 24, 2004
    10
    Richard S- in future could you at least throw off the average for a really crap album...like the new used or simple plan CD's. This album is probably one of the greatest albums of all time. Today's so called punk bands should listen to it, then quit the music business in shame.
  11. EoinG
    Oct 8, 2004
    7
    Good album but overated. There are a few very skippble tracks on this (e.g "Lost in the Supermarket"), and this album would have been much better condensed to about 12 or 13 of the best songs.
  12. DouglasC
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    One of the best rock and roll albums of all times....
  13. MusicMaven
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    Absolutely a must-buy. Buy it now. Now.
  14. [Anonymous]
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    Just listening to this recently, and I was amazed at the timeless greatness of this album. Through the dredge of shit that we have to put up with that is labelled at the heirs to the clash, such as babyshambles and the like, this album, although 25 years old, still sounds more modern than anything else being pushed by nme
  15. Pedro
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    This album IS Rock'n'Roll. Listen to it, love it and live it.
  16. randys
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    When I first saw these guys on SNL in '79, my so-called life suddenly snapped into focus. Whether singing about discontent across the pond or thrashing our beloved Ray-gun, everything they said hit home. Very little has changed in 25 years, and this album will resonate for many more decades.
  17. Farter
    Nov 29, 2004
    9
    Bunch of jerks 'round here.
  18. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    10
    One of the best Rock records I have ever heard. Not just influential in punk rock, but for rock music in general. From the swooning (my favorite) 'Lost in the Supermarket', to the gangster ridden rap of 'The Guns of Brixton.' It's an album that builds from one song to another, making it feel neither dull or repetitive.
  19. knut
    Sep 23, 2004
    10
    best album ever
  20. johnp
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    best album of all time
  21. Garry
    Dec 8, 2004
    9
    (Never gave it a 10 because it is possible something could be better.) London Calling was one of those albums that changed the way you think and feel. For me it became the benchmark for creativity and energy in music; it was a new sound. Actually it was a collection of old sounds that formed a new montage. It was brave and bold and bright and dark. It must be seen in the context of (Never gave it a 10 because it is possible something could be better.) London Calling was one of those albums that changed the way you think and feel. For me it became the benchmark for creativity and energy in music; it was a new sound. Actually it was a collection of old sounds that formed a new montage. It was brave and bold and bright and dark. It must be seen in the context of England in the 70's but is still relevant today. The orginal remains my favorite album of all times. Expand
  22. shaftelMr
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Greatest rock album ever.
  23. dinamoz
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    one of best albums of all time....very goood
  24. EwanK
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    I think this one is maybe the best cd in the last 30 years. Better than any Sex Pistols album. If you don't have it, don't hesitate
  25. Ben
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    I'm gonna be boring and give this a 10 as well. A life lived without hearing London Calling is a life all the poorer. On the Vanilla Tapes CD, check out the raucous instrumental version of 'Hateful' and the song 'Heart and Mind' - with a bit more work, that would have been a classic.
  26. michaelk
    May 1, 2005
    10
    this album changed my attitude towards music...a big turning point for me. the clash at their peak. it still sounds great but for it's time it was a sensation, especially coming from a musically underrated "punk band"
  27. mars88
    Apr 26, 2006
    9
    pretty awesome. there debut was more hard rocking then this one tho.
  28. JordanT
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    Basically the best album ever.
  29. LawrenceP
    Sep 26, 2004
    10
    The best LP of the 70's and 80's. Anything less than a 10 rating would be a major crime.
  30. DonnyDon't
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    Well... what can you say about the Clash which you haven't heard a hundred times before? From the opening impending doom of the title track, to the brilliant pop of Lost in the Supermarket, this is one of the best albums of all time, and rightfully given an expanded release. It certainly belongs upon everyone's shelf. And as far as a landmark goes in punk music, it's hard Well... what can you say about the Clash which you haven't heard a hundred times before? From the opening impending doom of the title track, to the brilliant pop of Lost in the Supermarket, this is one of the best albums of all time, and rightfully given an expanded release. It certainly belongs upon everyone's shelf. And as far as a landmark goes in punk music, it's hard to approach this... save for Nevermind the Bollucks and All Mod Cons (which probably belonged more to the mod revival). I don't know if the expanded release is worth it for fans who snapped up a previous copy... but for die hards? Why are you reading this when you should be buying it at your nearest retailer and thanking the clerk in fake-cockney accent? Expand
  31. AntonioR
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    Classic Album
  32. AdamT.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    It's perfection is beyond question
  33. Sep 19, 2010
    10
    Each listening brings a new pleasure,every song is a sing along. Some of the lines are unforgettable such as ,"he who ..... nuns will later join the church". Just an awesome album for it's time and forever!
  34. LouiseS.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    This album changed my life!
  35. AlanR
    Nov 20, 2004
    10
    What they said...
  36. JohnB
    Nov 12, 2004
    10
    I can't possibly fathom anyone not liking this album. Every single one of the 19 tracks are great. Exceptional ones: London Calling Jimmy Jazz Rudie Can't Fail The Right Profile Clampdown The Guns of Brixton The Card Cheat Revolution Rock Train in Vain buy this album now. you will not regret it.
  37. ErlingO
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    One of the greatest lps of all times. Should be in all collections.
  38. Oct 28, 2010
    9
    London Calling is a very, very good album and although I am slightly stumped by the incredible claim it has received it is still worth a couple of listens whatever your taste in music. The title track is an iconic punk blues track which tops anything else. The coupling of 'Spanish Bombs' and 'The Right Profile' is clever, both are catchy and memorable. Every track has a different quality,London Calling is a very, very good album and although I am slightly stumped by the incredible claim it has received it is still worth a couple of listens whatever your taste in music. The title track is an iconic punk blues track which tops anything else. The coupling of 'Spanish Bombs' and 'The Right Profile' is clever, both are catchy and memorable. Every track has a different quality, but still keeping a repetitive,interesting punky feel. This is a superb album with punk that still manages to appeal to a mass audience. Expand
  39. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Believe the hype, it really is one of the best albums of all time. This needs to be at least 150 characters long, but to be honest there isn't much else to say.
  40. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    I dare to say that this is THE best album of all time. Absolutely flawless. This should be seen as the benchmark of a good album. All hail The Clash.
  41. May 12, 2011
    10
    the 2 people who gave this album a bad review have no taste in music. and yes i hope you do read this because are how the hell are you not gonna like this album. i loved this album. now the people who gave it 7 or 8 i respect that. at least your on point. this album is a classic.
  42. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    One of best albums ever , has 1 or 2 worse songs but overall is brilliant. The Clash made their best , London Calling is ALMOST a masterpiece :) The title song is the best song on it :)
  43. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    this is a very good album. in my top ten,the clash are one of he most influential bands of all time and london calling is there best body of work. it would have been even better if they cut 4 or 5 tracks but still amazing
  44. Jan 4, 2013
    9
    The Clash's finest hour for me, keeping punk rock at the core of thing but adding many other dimensions to the mix as well. For a record always associated with Punk it's got surprising diversity. So many moments of genius, if it had one or 2 less tracks it could have been perfect. Highly recommended.
  45. Apr 25, 2012
    8
    This album represents the "only band that matters" at the height of their powers. Countless young men and women have picked up guitars and started a band specifically because of this album. "London Calling" is the most influential album in that time between the Beatles and Nirvana. There isn't a bad song on the record and "London Calling" stands out as one of the all-time greats. ThoseThis album represents the "only band that matters" at the height of their powers. Countless young men and women have picked up guitars and started a band specifically because of this album. "London Calling" is the most influential album in that time between the Beatles and Nirvana. There isn't a bad song on the record and "London Calling" stands out as one of the all-time greats. Those opening chords are iconic. My only criticism of the album is that it's too ambitious. Double albums have the tendency to water down the impact of the truly great songs. A little more editing and this record could have been perfect. Expand
  46. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    The Clash are one of thee most brilliant bands to have existed, if not the greatest. Taking all sorts of genres and molding them into a perfect, flowing masterpiece. Every single song from London Calling to Train In Vain is perfection. Not one song should have been cut. It's The Clash at their best. It's music at it's best. It's the CLASH.
  47. Oct 9, 2014
    10
    Am I the only one who feels like this album isn't very punk? Don't get me wrong, this album places on my 5 greatest of all time, without a doubt, but it doesn't have the basic musical intensity that the self-titled album or Give 'em Enough Rope had. Now, the album is still a magnificent piece of pure Rock. I struggle to find flaws even when I deliberately try to look for them. This albumAm I the only one who feels like this album isn't very punk? Don't get me wrong, this album places on my 5 greatest of all time, without a doubt, but it doesn't have the basic musical intensity that the self-titled album or Give 'em Enough Rope had. Now, the album is still a magnificent piece of pure Rock. I struggle to find flaws even when I deliberately try to look for them. This album is timeless, that is not even arguable. Rolling Stone ironically hit the nail on the head when they crowned London Calling the best album of the 80's, though it was released in '79. Expand
  48. Apr 4, 2015
    10
    I was in college when this album came out. It's hard to put in historical perspective, but this album changed music for the next couple decades. The scope of it is truly astounding. I would put this in my "top 10" all time best rock albums list. As an added, bonus, they were one of the best live bands ever. (I saw them 5 times.) Those were the days...
Metascore
100

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Blender
    80
    The demo versions... sound like an incompetent Clash cover band rehearsing in a sock.... If you're considering buying this glorious record for the first time, save 20 bucks and go for the basic version. [Oct 2004, p.136]
  2. Rolling Stone
    100
    A serious, ridiculously ambitious punk album. [14 Oct 2004, p.100]
  3. Q Magazine
    100
    What burns from the music is The Clash's defining characteristic: the fact that they were insatiable omnivores. [Oct 2004, p.136]