Lonerism - Tame Impala
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 195 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 195

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    You know when you start listening to an album, and you start loving it, and you feel like you've heard it before, because it simply sounds that good. Like it was a part of you that was missing. This is that album, for me. Give it a chance. Listen to the album from the beginning, through the end. It's exciting, innovative, and with its classic 60's and 70's rock vibe, instantly fun. ItYou know when you start listening to an album, and you start loving it, and you feel like you've heard it before, because it simply sounds that good. Like it was a part of you that was missing. This is that album, for me. Give it a chance. Listen to the album from the beginning, through the end. It's exciting, innovative, and with its classic 60's and 70's rock vibe, instantly fun. It flows perfectly from start to finish, and by the time it's done you'll wish it wasn't. Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    Probably one of the albums of the year. NME has named it album of the year. It's got diferent sounds and styles, this is psychedelic music at its best. Also check their bonus tracks "Led Zeppelin" and "Beverly Laurel".
  3. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    The Beatles. The 60s. Psychedelia. Summer. It's an album that reminds me of all these beautiful things. Magnificent music, thanks to impeccable instrument work, particularly guitar and drums. The lyrics resonated with me on a personal level. The vocals are terrific. Kevin Parker's voice is one of the best I've heard in a long time.

    Perhaps no album released in the last decade has evoked
    The Beatles. The 60s. Psychedelia. Summer. It's an album that reminds me of all these beautiful things. Magnificent music, thanks to impeccable instrument work, particularly guitar and drums. The lyrics resonated with me on a personal level. The vocals are terrific. Kevin Parker's voice is one of the best I've heard in a long time.

    Perhaps no album released in the last decade has evoked such colorful imagery in my mind, and i love albums that do so. I've listened to this album when it was released back in 2012, and I've been in love with it ever since.

    11 out of 10; for the rare album that transcends the realm of sound. A true classic; one which i hope people will remember decades from now, as I'm sure i will.
    Expand
  4. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    A wonderful album; a refreshing throwback to the psychedelia art rock of the mid late 60s while not feeling overly nostalgic, it feels fresh and new. Fantastic guitar riff driven psychedelia dominate the heavily layered productions; very experimentally produced music that doesn't go over your head but feels like there is more than meets the ear on the first listen. Apocalypse Dreams, KeepA wonderful album; a refreshing throwback to the psychedelia art rock of the mid late 60s while not feeling overly nostalgic, it feels fresh and new. Fantastic guitar riff driven psychedelia dominate the heavily layered productions; very experimentally produced music that doesn't go over your head but feels like there is more than meets the ear on the first listen. Apocalypse Dreams, Keep on Lying and Endors Toi stick out to me as the standout tracks, but the entire album is fantastic. Kevin Parker is an incredible composer and I can't wait for what he's going to do next. I will say though that I think his side project, Melody's Echo Chamber with his girlfriend Melody Prochet, builds and improves upon this sound; it's honestly a better album, if at the very least it's equal. If you like Tame Impala and Lonerism you must check out Melody's Echo Chamber, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Finally this website puts this on here. Great album, easily better than 'Innerspeaker' and one of the best of 2012. I wouldn't call it perfect, but it's close enough.
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Simply put, this is an amazing record. A psychedelic pop masterpiece. I recently saw the animated video for "Elephants" online...very cool. I can't wait to hear what Kevin Parker comes up with next.
  7. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    Lonerism or loner??? Definitely one of the best albums of 2012. Tracks to listen: Elephant, Led Zeppelin (a bonus track) and Beverly Laurel (another bonus track).
  8. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Incredible classic rock inspired sound that sends you on a nouveau psychedelic journey through lavish multi-layered soundscapes and leave you in slack-jawed amazement after every track. Personally i thought their debut album Innerspeaker would be tough to top, but this really takes the band to a new level. A no contest best album of the year, and sure to be one of the best of the decade. AIncredible classic rock inspired sound that sends you on a nouveau psychedelic journey through lavish multi-layered soundscapes and leave you in slack-jawed amazement after every track. Personally i thought their debut album Innerspeaker would be tough to top, but this really takes the band to a new level. A no contest best album of the year, and sure to be one of the best of the decade. A psychedelic pop masterpiece. Expand
  9. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Lonerism deals with much of the 70's psychedelic era and transforms issues that we may have going on today into a melty substance of addiction and a need to know basis. Showing what the album brings to the table definitely encourages it to be spread around like gossip. Good album.
  10. Duu
    Feb 5, 2013
    9
    The sound of this album is psychedelic, well produced, but totally sprawling in its sonic ambitions. Though it is a sound over substance kind of album, Lonerism is epic in its soundscape. There is nothing like it out today. Of 11 actual full songs: 10 are at least respectable; of those, 8 are good; and of those, six are excellent. WIth that said, I almost always listen to the entire album.The sound of this album is psychedelic, well produced, but totally sprawling in its sonic ambitions. Though it is a sound over substance kind of album, Lonerism is epic in its soundscape. There is nothing like it out today. Of 11 actual full songs: 10 are at least respectable; of those, 8 are good; and of those, six are excellent. WIth that said, I almost always listen to the entire album. This is a complete album and fully realized. This is one of the top 3 albums released in 2012 and will probably be a classic. Expand
  11. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    [9.0] Tame Impala provides a certain imagery that no other band can give, and does what all psychedelic records should do: capture the essence of a dream. It can be said about many other bands, but Tame Impala isn't as repetitive or simple as other bands of their kind. They're consistently solid, and very often outstanding.
  12. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Created an account just to review this wonderful piece of art. Incredibly fresh and in my opinion the best album of 2012. Keep up the good work.
  13. May 9, 2013
    9
    This album makes me hopeful that bands like Tame Impala have a chance to bring psychedelic rock that enchants your mind. The tunes on this album each have their own feeling to them but are consistent enough to fit on the same album. Great stuff!!!
  14. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Taking Kevin Parker's attention to detail to its logical extreme, Tame Impala's sophomore album was nearly dismissed as Same Impala, a near-identical composite of what made 2010's Innerspeaker such a delight: fuzzy guitar tones, analog synths and the classic dry drum sound. Here, he blows the sound up and continues his streak of writing inescapably catchy verses. The snaking vocal lines ofTaking Kevin Parker's attention to detail to its logical extreme, Tame Impala's sophomore album was nearly dismissed as Same Impala, a near-identical composite of what made 2010's Innerspeaker such a delight: fuzzy guitar tones, analog synths and the classic dry drum sound. Here, he blows the sound up and continues his streak of writing inescapably catchy verses. The snaking vocal lines of "Elephant", "Feels Like We Only Go Backwards" and "Why Won't They Talk To Me" are better than most pop bands could ever come up with, and of course the sounds are pure bliss at high volume. In a year when a lot of rock bands looked to the past for inspiration, few managed to capture the sound and feel quite as convincingly as these Aussies did. Expand
  15. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    Simply put, this is one of the best albums I've ever heard. A near-perfect combination of technical mastery and emotional impact. Expansive, immersive, and yet somehow it remains focused. A perfect 10.
  16. Aug 3, 2013
    9
    Didn't sound too special at a first listen, but as I listened to the album more, it really grew on me, one of my favorite albums of the decade for sure, Innerspeaker is also great.
  17. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    10/10 bong schlongs. everything is right and sexful. i could hit so maaany listen to this. no weak tracks or any a that filler or any bullllshiiiit crap.
  18. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Musical genius Kevin Parker has once again crafted a spectacular arrangement of songs, even better than those on Innerspeaker. Here, the sounds of the '60s and '70s are brought back once again and amped up to fit the modern era in a way only he could achieve. I don't think there is a bad song on this album, and if you're a fan of neo-psychedelic music with a huge sound, you likely won't, either.
  19. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    This material makes you fly and travel to a thousand different worlds; and all of them feel oblivious, fluorescent and, most of all, perfectly flawless.
  20. Nov 16, 2014
    9
    Takes the ideas of Innerspeaker to a new level, and will certainly be tough for them to top. Overall an impressive CD that will be on repeat in my life for a long, long time. (Bonus points for the iTunes inclusion of "Led Zeppelin" song)
  21. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    fukk yeeeah myniggggggggg. this shiiit make me wan smoke so many blunts it aint even funnnyy. I battlebong for this erryday. this is like the gkmc of psych music.
  22. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    Se tem uma banda que vale a pena ouvir hoje, essa banda é Tame Impala. Com influencias de bandas dos anos 60 e até em bandas mais novas, os australianos levam o ouvinte as profundezas psicodélicas com musicas que se distorcem na sua mente e se transformam em alucinógenos fazendo você sair completamente do mundo em que vive. Lonerism consegue ser melhor que seu antecessor e ainda se tornaSe tem uma banda que vale a pena ouvir hoje, essa banda é Tame Impala. Com influencias de bandas dos anos 60 e até em bandas mais novas, os australianos levam o ouvinte as profundezas psicodélicas com musicas que se distorcem na sua mente e se transformam em alucinógenos fazendo você sair completamente do mundo em que vive. Lonerism consegue ser melhor que seu antecessor e ainda se torna um dos melhores discos de 2012 com facilidade. Expand
  23. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    Absolutely the album of 2012, maybe even better than Kendricks GKMC. Innerspeaker had some pretty weak tracks and the production wasn't quite as good as it is here.
  24. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    Even though this album is definitely the more pop-friendly mainstream side of indie, it's really good. Every tracks stands out, the instrumentation is so fleshed out and some tracks kick ass.
  25. Oct 20, 2014
    10
    Ever since the Flaming Lips stopped writing catchy and pretty music, I have been sad. And I've also been very lonely. Why won't people talk to me? I'm in college right now living off campus, and I need music to soundtrack my myriad lonely feelings. And then, this album introduced me to this calm Australian mammal. Oh, how my isolation while sitting at home with this album playing inEver since the Flaming Lips stopped writing catchy and pretty music, I have been sad. And I've also been very lonely. Why won't people talk to me? I'm in college right now living off campus, and I need music to soundtrack my myriad lonely feelings. And then, this album introduced me to this calm Australian mammal. Oh, how my isolation while sitting at home with this album playing in my headphones almost seems beautiful.
    I love the synths, the drum sounds, the chord changes, and every little thing about this album that I didn't like on first listen (the out-of-place seeming "Elephant"). With a ton of replay value and catchy melodies, this album is so jaw-droppingly good that it blows the great Innerspeaker out of the water. Wonderful.
    Expand
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Dec 21, 2012
    80
    The titles and lyrics form a kind of manifesto of loneliness, elevating self-doubt and even insecurity into badges of honour. He struggles but, with the music growing all around him like a protective cushion, we only hear the sound of a deep, blissful sigh.
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    91
    The band's latest, Lonerism, digs even deeper into those themes and sounds [early-'70s psychedelia, proto-metal, and British pop], and pulls out a masterful collage.
  3. 80
    Tame Impala saves itself from mere revivalism with 21st-century self-consciousness and, tucked amid the swirl and buzz, touching confessions of insecurity.