Lonerism

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Lonerism Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the Perth, Australian band led by Kevin Parker was co-produce with Dave Fridmann.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    100
    It feels digital, alien, the sound of modern machines going wrong. All this is underpinned by genuinely great songwriting
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    This album is incredibly intriguing and was executed beautifully.
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    Themes of isolation and solipsism unfold musically as much as lyrically. Produced with help from Flaming Lips go-to guy Dave Fridmann, Lonerism surprises with layers of detail.
  4. 80
    Tame Impala saves itself from mere revivalism with 21st-century self-consciousness and, tucked amid the swirl and buzz, touching confessions of insecurity.
  5. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    ["Be Above It"] sets the tone for an album that follows closely in the sonic footsteps of its predecessor while occupying a more streamlined headspace.
  6. 70
    The melodies are clearer, pushed up in the mix, given agency by their immediacy. The psych bits have earned an assured swagger, spiraling out from the center of songs.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Incredible classic rock inspired sound that sends you on a nouveau psychedelic journey through lavish multi-layered soundscapes and leave youIncredible classic rock inspired sound that sends you on a nouveau psychedelic journey through lavish multi-layered soundscapes and leave you in slack-jawed amazement after every track. Personally i thought their debut album Innerspeaker would be tough to top, but this really takes the band to a new level. A no contest best album of the year, and sure to be one of the best of the decade. A psychedelic pop masterpiece. Expand
  2. Aug 3, 2015
    10
    Lonerism is a current day masterpiece. All of the tracks work together to create what is not only a revival of psychedelic music, but aLonerism is a current day masterpiece. All of the tracks work together to create what is not only a revival of psychedelic music, but a completely revitalized, updated and modern version of it. Expand
  3. Oct 20, 2014
    10
    Ever since the Flaming Lips stopped writing catchy and pretty music, I have been sad. And I've also been very lonely. Why won't people talkEver since the Flaming Lips stopped writing catchy and pretty music, I have been sad. And I've also been very lonely. Why won't people talk to me? I'm in college right now living off campus, and I need music to soundtrack my myriad lonely feelings. And then, this album introduced me to this calm Australian mammal. Oh, how my isolation while sitting at home with this album playing in my headphones almost seems beautiful.
    I love the synths, the drum sounds, the chord changes, and every little thing about this album that I didn't like on first listen (the out-of-place seeming "Elephant"). With a ton of replay value and catchy melodies, this album is so jaw-droppingly good that it blows the great Innerspeaker out of the water. Wonderful.
    Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2014
    9
    Takes the ideas of Innerspeaker to a new level, and will certainly be tough for them to top. Overall an impressive CD that will be on repeatTakes the ideas of Innerspeaker to a new level, and will certainly be tough for them to top. Overall an impressive CD that will be on repeat in my life for a long, long time. (Bonus points for the iTunes inclusion of "Led Zeppelin" song) Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Finally this website puts this on here. Great album, easily better than 'Innerspeaker' and one of the best of 2012. I wouldn't call itFinally this website puts this on here. Great album, easily better than 'Innerspeaker' and one of the best of 2012. I wouldn't call it perfect, but it's close enough. Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2014
    8
    Steeped in psychedelia, Lonerism reminds you of the past while at the same time sounding very much of the here and now. It's one of the betterSteeped in psychedelia, Lonerism reminds you of the past while at the same time sounding very much of the here and now. It's one of the better records of recent years and while the record has an undeniable pop sensibility, it's well left of the middle. Lonerism always remind me of something (Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds often)and I mean this in the best possible way. Tame Impala are not about recycling whats gone before but more like putting what gone before in a washing machine and spinning it about a couple of hundred times. If the Beatles and Pink Floyd had an illegitimate love child, it's name might well have been Tame Impala.

    The album drifts into existence slowly as the dream "Be Above It" comes along and builds steadily. The album builds from here using a collection of heavy bass, fuzzy guitars, solid percussion and piano with a dreamy Lennonesque vocal leading proceedings. The track "Elephant" sound like one of the heavier sessions from the White album while my favourite track from the album "Feels Like We Only Go Backwards" is indie pop at its best. Great record, close to being a 9 out of 10 and could grow into one in time.
    Expand
  7. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Be above it,
    Elephant,
    EndorsToi Feels like we only gobackwards Mind mischief Music to walk home by The rest of the songs avoid.... I was
    Be above it,
    Elephant,
    EndorsToi
    Feels like we only gobackwards Mind mischief Music to walk home by
    The rest of the songs avoid.... I was hoping for this cd to be amazing instead I struggled with it.
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.