Lonerism - Tame Impala
Lonerism Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 185 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the Perth, Australian band led by Kevin Parker was co-produce with Dave Fridmann.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    100
    It feels digital, alien, the sound of modern machines going wrong. All this is underpinned by genuinely great songwriting
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    Tame Impala prove far more exciting because, by maximizing the use of the available technology, they tap into the progressive and experimental spirit of psychedelic rock, and not just the sound.
  3. Overall, Tame Impala have created a steady sophomore album.
  4. 80
    Tame Impala saves itself from mere revivalism with 21st-century self-consciousness and, tucked amid the swirl and buzz, touching confessions of insecurity.
  5. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    ["Be Above It"] sets the tone for an album that follows closely in the sonic footsteps of its predecessor while occupying a more streamlined headspace.
  6. 70
    The melodies are clearer, pushed up in the mix, given agency by their immediacy. The psych bits have earned an assured swagger, spiraling out from the center of songs.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Incredible classic rock inspired sound that sends you on a nouveau psychedelic journey through lavish multi-layered soundscapes and leave you in slack-jawed amazement after every track. Personally i thought their debut album Innerspeaker would be tough to top, but this really takes the band to a new level. A no contest best album of the year, and sure to be one of the best of the decade. A psychedelic pop masterpiece. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    Even though this album is definitely the more pop-friendly mainstream side of indie, it's really good. Every tracks stands out, the instrumentation is so fleshed out and some tracks kick ass. Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    Probably one of the albums of the year. NME has named it album of the year. It's got diferent sounds and styles, this is psychedelic music at its best. Also check their bonus tracks "Led Zeppelin" and "Beverly Laurel". Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2013
    9
    Didn't sound too special at a first listen, but as I listened to the album more, it really grew on me, one of my favorite albums of the decade for sure, Innerspeaker is also great. Expand
  5. Duu
    Feb 5, 2013
    9
    The sound of this album is psychedelic, well produced, but totally sprawling in its sonic ambitions. Though it is a sound over substance kind of album, Lonerism is epic in its soundscape. There is nothing like it out today. Of 11 actual full songs: 10 are at least respectable; of those, 8 are good; and of those, six are excellent. WIth that said, I almost always listen to the entire album. This is a complete album and fully realized. This is one of the top 3 albums released in 2012 and will probably be a classic. Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    7
    Per pura casualità, ho ascoltato questo disco in contemporanea con la lettura degli ultimi capitoli di
  7. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Be above it,
    Elephant,
    EndorsToi
    Feels like we only gobackwards Mind mischief Music to walk home by
    The rest of the songs avoid.... I was
    hoping for this cd to be amazing instead I struggled with it. Collapse

See all 33 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.