Lonerism - Tame Impala
Lonerism Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the Perth, Australian band led by Kevin Parker was co-produce with Dave Fridmann.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    100
    It feels digital, alien, the sound of modern machines going wrong. All this is underpinned by genuinely great songwriting
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    Tame Impala prove far more exciting because, by maximizing the use of the available technology, they tap into the progressive and experimental spirit of psychedelic rock, and not just the sound.
  3. Overall, Tame Impala have created a steady sophomore album.
  4. 80
    Tame Impala saves itself from mere revivalism with 21st-century self-consciousness and, tucked amid the swirl and buzz, touching confessions of insecurity.
  5. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    ["Be Above It"] sets the tone for an album that follows closely in the sonic footsteps of its predecessor while occupying a more streamlined headspace.
  6. 70
    The melodies are clearer, pushed up in the mix, given agency by their immediacy. The psych bits have earned an assured swagger, spiraling out from the center of songs.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Incredible classic rock inspired sound that sends you on a nouveau psychedelic journey through lavish multi-layered soundscapes and leave you in slack-jawed amazement after every track. Personally i thought their debut album Innerspeaker would be tough to top, but this really takes the band to a new level. A no contest best album of the year, and sure to be one of the best of the decade. A psychedelic pop masterpiece. Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    Felt embraced and transported to a thousand different worlds while listening to this remarkable piece of art; and all these scenarios were nothing but oblivion, fluorescent and (mostly) perfectly flawless. Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Lonerism deals with much of the 70's psychedelic era and transforms issues that we may have going on today into a melty substance of addiction and a need to know basis. Showing what the album brings to the table definitely encourages it to be spread around like gossip. Good album. Collapse
  4. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    A wonderful album; a refreshing throwback to the psychedelia art rock of the mid late 60s while not feeling overly nostalgic, it feels fresh and new. Fantastic guitar riff driven psychedelia dominate the heavily layered productions; very experimentally produced music that doesn't go over your head but feels like there is more than meets the ear on the first listen. Apocalypse Dreams, Keep on Lying and Endors Toi stick out to me as the standout tracks, but the entire album is fantastic. Kevin Parker is an incredible composer and I can't wait for what he's going to do next. I will say though that I think his side project, Melody's Echo Chamber with his girlfriend Melody Prochet, builds and improves upon this sound; it's honestly a better album, if at the very least it's equal. If you like Tame Impala and Lonerism you must check out Melody's Echo Chamber, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    Se tem uma banda que vale a pena ouvir hoje, essa banda é Tame Impala. Com influencias de bandas dos anos 60 e até em bandas mais novas, os australianos levam o ouvinte as profundezas psicodélicas com musicas que se distorcem na sua mente e se transformam em alucinógenos fazendo você sair completamente do mundo em que vive. Lonerism consegue ser melhor que seu antecessor e ainda se torna um dos melhores discos de 2012 com facilidade. Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    7
    Per pura casualità, ho ascoltato questo disco in contemporanea con la lettura degli ultimi capitoli di
  7. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Be above it,
    Elephant,
    EndorsToi
    Feels like we only gobackwards Mind mischief Music to walk home by
    The rest of the songs avoid.... I was
    hoping for this cd to be amazing instead I struggled with it. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.