Lonerism - Tame Impala
Lonerism Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 159 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the Perth, Australian band led by Kevin Parker was co-produce with Dave Fridmann.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    100
    It feels digital, alien, the sound of modern machines going wrong. All this is underpinned by genuinely great songwriting
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    Tame Impala prove far more exciting because, by maximizing the use of the available technology, they tap into the progressive and experimental spirit of psychedelic rock, and not just the sound.
  3. Overall, Tame Impala have created a steady sophomore album.
  4. 80
    Tame Impala saves itself from mere revivalism with 21st-century self-consciousness and, tucked amid the swirl and buzz, touching confessions of insecurity.
  5. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    ["Be Above It"] sets the tone for an album that follows closely in the sonic footsteps of its predecessor while occupying a more streamlined headspace.
  6. 70
    The melodies are clearer, pushed up in the mix, given agency by their immediacy. The psych bits have earned an assured swagger, spiraling out from the center of songs.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Incredible classic rock inspired sound that sends you on a nouveau psychedelic journey through lavish multi-layered soundscapes and leave you in slack-jawed amazement after every track. Personally i thought their debut album Innerspeaker would be tough to top, but this really takes the band to a new level. A no contest best album of the year, and sure to be one of the best of the decade. A psychedelic pop masterpiece. Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Musical genius Kevin Parker has once again crafted a spectacular arrangement of songs, even better than those on Innerspeaker. Here, the sounds of the '60s and '70s are brought back once again and amped up to fit the modern era in a way only he could achieve. I don't think there is a bad song on this album, and if you're a fan of neo-psychedelic music with a huge sound, you likely won't, either. Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Lonerism deals with much of the 70's psychedelic era and transforms issues that we may have going on today into a melty substance of addiction and a need to know basis. Showing what the album brings to the table definitely encourages it to be spread around like gossip. Good album. Expand
  4. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Taking Kevin Parker's attention to detail to its logical extreme, Tame Impala's sophomore album was nearly dismissed as Same Impala, a near-identical composite of what made 2010's Innerspeaker such a delight: fuzzy guitar tones, analog synths and the classic dry drum sound. Here, he blows the sound up and continues his streak of writing inescapably catchy verses. The snaking vocal lines of "Elephant", "Feels Like We Only Go Backwards" and "Why Won't They Talk To Me" are better than most pop bands could ever come up with, and of course the sounds are pure bliss at high volume. In a year when a lot of rock bands looked to the past for inspiration, few managed to capture the sound and feel quite as convincingly as these Aussies did. Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    [9.0] Tame Impala provides a certain imagery that no other band can give, and does what all psychedelic records should do: capture the essence of a dream. It can be said about many other bands, but Tame Impala isn't as repetitive or simple as other bands of their kind. They're consistently solid, and very often outstanding. Expand
  6. Feb 6, 2013
    6
    I find the amount of overwhelming praise for this album absolutely ridiculous. It has some obvious, glaring flaws which I will show you. Let's get into it. The whole thing SOUNDS great (wonderful production and choice of everything, really) BUT the song structures are often weak and the melodies are pretty mediocre at points. When you break down the songs themselves they often are very blase and repetitive. Some songs even putter out in the middle and just cruise to the endpoint. Like he just didn't know where to go with the song and just said it, I'll just extend the current part for 2-3 minutes and add in a couple solos. They won't notice'. Some entire songs are like that. When you get past all the gorgeous sounds there's not an awful lot of meat on these bones. I will say that 'apocalypse dreams' and 'elephant' are wonderful. 'Gotta be above it' is great too. The rest is ok but it's too repetitive to last for me.

    Now I'm going to talk about random songs

    'Mind Mischief' is pretty good. It relies heavily on effects and studio trickery like many of the other songs but it definitely works on this one. The melodies are good too and the song itself 'travels' just enough to satisfy. Don't think I'll be coming back to it that often but it's good.

    'Music to Walk Home By' could have been immense. I can easily see how this song could have just launched into a whole 'nother dimension but it doesn't really travel far. It's still ok to good but again, repetitive (without very strong melodies to fancy it up).

    'Why won't they talk to me' is SO ****ing annoying. How many times do we really need to hear the chorus ffs (it's not that amazing to begin with) and if he is going to reach a 'cathartic' moment of realization by saying "But I don't even care about it anyway. I wouldn't listen to a word any of them say. They just talk about themselves all day. One day Ill be a star and they'll be sorry" then he shouldn't ruin that moment by relegating back to the chorus which makes it seem like he doesn't really believe what he just said. For listeners relating to his experience this could have been therapeutic but instead it just wallows in self-pity and shallow fantasies of revenge.

    'Feels like we only go Backwards' is the biggest mistake here. They took what could have been an amazing song (with the addition of a part or 2) and just REPEAT THE out of the chorus. That is basically the whole song. It sounds gorgeous and has strong melodies so it is still 'good' though it wears out its welcome quicker because of the overbearing repetition.

    'Keep on lying' is like they took 5 seconds of music and just looped it, threw on some OK guitar and organ solos/drones and called it a song.

    Anything I didn't mention is pretty much OK to 'blah'. I'd give it a 6 based on the strength of the better songs.

    I hear some people throwing around the word masterpiece which is just ridiculous. Something like 'Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots' or even the Ruby Suns 'Sea Lion' is much closer to a psych-pop masterpiece than this.
    Expand
  7. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Be above it,
    Elephant,
    EndorsToi
    Feels like we only gobackwards Mind mischief Music to walk home by
    The rest of the songs avoid.... I was
    hoping for this cd to be amazing instead I struggled with it. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.