• Record Label: Koch
  • Release Date: May 25, 2004
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 1 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Robyn
    Jan 24, 2005
    9
    Nina Persson has such a beautiful voice and most of the songs on this album are really fantastic; this album has really grown on my boyfriend and me.
  2. JimW
    Jul 9, 2004
    10
    Top 10 release of the year - give it a few listens
  3. MNguyen
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    If you're already a fan, give it a listen and don't listen to all these crappy critical reviews. It's a beautiful album.
  4. Ryan
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    Never heard much of the cardigans before but i LOVE this album, its much better than these critics have said, as for overproduction BULLSHIT!!!!
  5. tarnn
    Jun 30, 2004
    9
    Good.
  6. MinhN
    Sep 6, 2004
    9
    Don't listen to the critics. If you're already a fan you have nothing to lose, buy it.
  7. marios
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    the cardigans es lo mejor!!
  8. AdamZ
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    Simple, deep, reflective, and most of all, it's a beautiful album. It's not an uplifting collection by any means, but Nina's vocals together with interesting melodies are hypnotic if nothing else. This one is thoughtful and sincere and definitely worth it.
  9. JeebsV
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    A more mature yet great cardigans album
  10. MarkC
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Probably there best album even better than Gran Turismo (and i thought that was a great album) I think they matured a bit with this one lovely melodies and lovely lyrics when you listen it really gets to you makes you think but not all songs are mellow there a some great upbeat guitars tracks included aswell. Definately Buy it. This is a band that is so underestimated by the media and Probably there best album even better than Gran Turismo (and i thought that was a great album) I think they matured a bit with this one lovely melodies and lovely lyrics when you listen it really gets to you makes you think but not all songs are mellow there a some great upbeat guitars tracks included aswell. Definately Buy it. This is a band that is so underestimated by the media and radio stations its as if they have been cast a side. THE CARIDIGANS Probably the Best Thing to Come out of Sweden for Ages Expand
  11. JScott
    Dec 14, 2004
    10
    Perfect. Brilliant. Best album of the year, hands down.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. A sensitive, fully mature contribution to the pop music lexicon, it proves that, like the rare child actor who actually works well into adulthood, The Cardigans have weathered a difficult transition.
  2. The band's best album yet - which is to say that it contains considerably more than three good songs.
  3. Persson, the finest pop lyricist working today, is on peak form while the band's back-to-roots grand piano and grander acoustic guitars provide an appropriately magnificent backing.