• Record Label: Polydor
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 77
  2. Negative: 22 out of 77

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. brianr.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    Could have been shortened to one disc.
  2. TomH
    Jan 3, 2009
    10
    I loved the album. I thought it was fantastic! I was appalled by all the low ratings it got from the magazines, but I loved it.
  3. DaveS.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    As a 19 year old Eagles fan, i have to say that i have been dying for new songs for a long time. i picked up this cd first thing on the 30th and it more than delivers. These guys can still rock and still write deep compelling lyrics. Their voices blend perfectly together, and the title track "The Long Road Out Of Eden" is an amazing piece to an already stellar collection. 10/10 from As a 19 year old Eagles fan, i have to say that i have been dying for new songs for a long time. i picked up this cd first thing on the 30th and it more than delivers. These guys can still rock and still write deep compelling lyrics. Their voices blend perfectly together, and the title track "The Long Road Out Of Eden" is an amazing piece to an already stellar collection. 10/10 from Classic Rockers The Eagles. Expand
  4. EdP.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    A great testament to the enduring talent of the best American band of all time.
  5. mike
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Excellent Vocals and Depth of songs. The second and third listen is even better!
  6. GeorgeP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    If you loved the Eagles in the 70's You'll love this new album. Incredble music, lyrics and vocals. The Eagles are the Beatles of Southern Rock and that's a fact. The album is a creative masterpiece.
  7. JeffT.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    I admit that I love the Eagles style, and have for a good 25 years. This is an album I have been looking forward to for a long time, and I am not disappointed by what I got. Although it may be a little long (20 songs), I don't mind. The Eagles-style harmonies, statements about today's world, and that smooth and easy feeling in a number of the songs really make me feel like the I admit that I love the Eagles style, and have for a good 25 years. This is an album I have been looking forward to for a long time, and I am not disappointed by what I got. Although it may be a little long (20 songs), I don't mind. The Eagles-style harmonies, statements about today's world, and that smooth and easy feeling in a number of the songs really make me feel like the album is well worth the wait and that the Eagles are not dead and never will be. Expand
  8. GregP
    Oct 3, 2008
    7
    A few stinkers, but otherwise some very good Eagles music. Some of the reviews posted to this site read like critics whining for a stage on which to spout their musical "gravitas" and intellect. Over analyzing music from the Eagles is probably a waste of time, whereas simply enjoying their music is good enough for me. It's just the Eagels for crying out loud.
  9. MartinD.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    A fantastic double CD that warrants and rewards frequent playing. As good as anything they did 30+ years ago.
  10. JimM.
    Nov 1, 2007
    8
    Haters of the band won't be converted, but fans will get exactly what they expect. Only the Walsh songs are weak; the rest shines like the sun, and the harmonies are bliss. If this were released as a rarities/unreleased package, it would get more critical acclaim, but it's fashionable to dump on the Eagles making new stuff. It's great...better than 95% of crap on the radio Haters of the band won't be converted, but fans will get exactly what they expect. Only the Walsh songs are weak; the rest shines like the sun, and the harmonies are bliss. If this were released as a rarities/unreleased package, it would get more critical acclaim, but it's fashionable to dump on the Eagles making new stuff. It's great...better than 95% of crap on the radio these days. Expand
  11. Niall
    Nov 3, 2007
    8
    Some reviewers I've read have been unimpressed & I originally decided not to buy. Having done so the melodies & harmonies are as if the last 25 years never happened. Not a classic but it does all you would want from an Eagles CD.
  12. eddie
    Nov 3, 2007
    8
    A little less of Glenn's ballads and more tunes like "How Long" & BBF Joe Walsh rocks!
  13. JyotiL.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    I can now die happy! This CD is pure joy! A mix of sweet love songs, ballads obviously written to their children, and social commentary. The voices are great, the harmonies truly sweet, and the instruments well-seasoned. I've not in a long time heard as funky a song as "Fast Company"!!! These guys still have still got it going on and I just can't stop listening.
  14. LidiaR
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Fabulous! as usual for the Eagles!
  15. JimT
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Fantastic and long time comin'.
  16. SamuelL
    Jan 11, 2008
    8
    I usually don't respond to other users, but Ryu, you just might be legally retarded. The Eagles are one of the greatest bands ever, with a unique style and incredible talent. If you take the time to listen to their songs, you will realize their depth and brilliance. Not surprising that it goes over so many peoples' heads. That being said, this album is weaker than their classic I usually don't respond to other users, but Ryu, you just might be legally retarded. The Eagles are one of the greatest bands ever, with a unique style and incredible talent. If you take the time to listen to their songs, you will realize their depth and brilliance. Not surprising that it goes over so many peoples' heads. That being said, this album is weaker than their classic albums. Please, if you don't take the time to actually listen to their albums and make thoughtful judgment, then do us all a favor and not post comments that depict an I.Q comfortably lower than this album's Metacritic score. Expand
  17. ClayK
    Sep 21, 2009
    8
    Randy Meisner (Take It To The Limit), Bernie Leadon (Earlybird, Train Leaves Here This Morning) and Don Felder (Hotel California) were also Eagles and I hope someday they will play together again for us. I'll be buying the CD after listening on YouTube, will cruise with it.
  18. KenHH
    Nov 1, 2007
    8
    This is not as bad as previous users have noted. Clearly it's not as strong as Eagles of decades ago but for a bunch of aging rockers that are ripping off their fans with overpriced tickets, I can still be somewhat objective and hear they are making quality music.
  19. JohnT.
    Nov 12, 2007
    8
    You might be tempted to hate them were they not so freaking talented. And they are truly fine on this outing. Yeah, the record is lush & lovely; it's what the Eagles have been real good at all along. No one does this like them....The vocals just jump out of the speakers! This one will be perfect while driving around looking for whatever you will. Or just hanging out at the homefront You might be tempted to hate them were they not so freaking talented. And they are truly fine on this outing. Yeah, the record is lush & lovely; it's what the Eagles have been real good at all along. No one does this like them....The vocals just jump out of the speakers! This one will be perfect while driving around looking for whatever you will. Or just hanging out at the homefront away from it all. Enjoy. Expand
  20. MattF.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Pure joy. Top quality Eagles - I like the variety from the edgy Don Henley tunes to the smooth Glenn Frey. Surprised by the Joe Walsh entries - loved them.
  21. MIkeF.
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    Old style Eagle with updated sounds.
  22. JBH.
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    Thank you Glenn, Don, Joe & Timothy for persevering and bringing out a double CD that I will play and play and play. Yes, it sounds like I've heard it before, but that's okay because it's fresh and it's Eagles and honestly, it's exceeded my expectations.
  23. WoodyC.
    Nov 29, 2007
    9
    Let's remember folk's these men are 60 years plus.It is amazing they still have such great voices and the ability to still play as perfect as they do.Go see them in concert they give a 110% live and in the studio.
  24. LindaP.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Definitely worth the wait. A great American band.
  25. ChrisG.
    Nov 5, 2007
    7
    Some very nice melodies, some nice put downs at which they are so adept. The production almost feels over the top, but still, a sold effort by a group that in my estimation doesn't get it due as one of the all time great American bands,
  26. BillM
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    I grew up listening to The Eagle's and this album is one of their greatest. Lots of feeling and mood for a group that has matured with the years.
  27. PaulC
    Dec 8, 2007
    8
    There are several cuts that are remarkable. The drum work is very very good. Don's vocals are typically very very good. I like the mix of the others across the album... not a 'one man show' at all. Best song on the album is (and this is given much thought) "Last Good Time in Town". The drum work is astonishing, the guitar highlights make you want to move.... and the vocals There are several cuts that are remarkable. The drum work is very very good. Don's vocals are typically very very good. I like the mix of the others across the album... not a 'one man show' at all. Best song on the album is (and this is given much thought) "Last Good Time in Town". The drum work is astonishing, the guitar highlights make you want to move.... and the vocals are reminiscent of "Pretty Maids All in a Row". Well done, gentlemen! Expand
  28. TimA
    Nov 24, 2007
    8
    Wow strong reactions pro and con.... usually translates to great music... and I do indeed hear flashes of classic sound.
  29. SteveV
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    The people that gave this bad reviews are nuts. While not the greatest Eagles, it is a solid record.
  30. Oct 11, 2010
    7
    The album starts off very strong, with 6 "quality songs" in the first 10 songs. However, disc 2 was terrible. Out of the 9 songs on disc 2, none of them were a "quality song". In my mind, a quality song is a song that is worth listening to. My rating for this album would be much lower had the first disc not been so good. The songs I recommend listening to are: 2. How Long
    3. Busy Being
    The album starts off very strong, with 6 "quality songs" in the first 10 songs. However, disc 2 was terrible. Out of the 9 songs on disc 2, none of them were a "quality song". In my mind, a quality song is a song that is worth listening to. My rating for this album would be much lower had the first disc not been so good. The songs I recommend listening to are: 2. How Long
    3. Busy Being Fabulous
    5. Guilty of the Crime
    6. I Don't Want to Hear Any More
    9. Fast Company
    10. Do Something
    Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. The album is savvier still, crafted to evoke the spirit and feel of the Eagles' biggest hits.
  2. It's all a testament to the durable Eagles footprint on the pop landscape.
  3. It is an auspicious beginning for a double album so strong it's almost irritating that it took so long to release it.