• Record Label: Polydor
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 75
  2. Negative: 22 out of 75

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Paul
    Nov 1, 2007
    0
    haven't even heard this record, but the fact that it is only being sold at wal mart is disgusting. talk about out of touch. 2007 will go down in history as the year radiohead got it right and the eagles got it wrong.
  2. JustinZ.
    Nov 4, 2007
    0
    This could be the best album of the year, but the fact that it's only available at Walmart makes me sick. Shame on the Eagles.
  3. JasonF.
    Nov 5, 2007
    0
    Very very boring.
  4. jjuveli
    Nov 1, 2007
    4
    horrible
  5. brianr.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    Could have been shortened to one disc.
  6. TomH
    Jan 3, 2009
    10
    I loved the album. I thought it was fantastic! I was appalled by all the low ratings it got from the magazines, but I loved it.
  7. DaveS.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    As a 19 year old Eagles fan, i have to say that i have been dying for new songs for a long time. i picked up this cd first thing on the 30th and it more than delivers. These guys can still rock and still write deep compelling lyrics. Their voices blend perfectly together, and the title track "The Long Road Out Of Eden" is an amazing piece to an already stellar collection. 10/10 from As a 19 year old Eagles fan, i have to say that i have been dying for new songs for a long time. i picked up this cd first thing on the 30th and it more than delivers. These guys can still rock and still write deep compelling lyrics. Their voices blend perfectly together, and the title track "The Long Road Out Of Eden" is an amazing piece to an already stellar collection. 10/10 from Classic Rockers The Eagles. Expand
  8. EdP.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    A great testament to the enduring talent of the best American band of all time.
  9. mike
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Excellent Vocals and Depth of songs. The second and third listen is even better!
  10. GeorgeP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    If you loved the Eagles in the 70's You'll love this new album. Incredble music, lyrics and vocals. The Eagles are the Beatles of Southern Rock and that's a fact. The album is a creative masterpiece.
  11. ToddW.
    Nov 5, 2007
    3
    The vocals are great, the playing is good, but The Eagles appear to have lost their lyrical and melodic acumen. Much of this album is schlock. The only decent songs are the ones written with Don Henley, which is no surprise based on his successful solo career, but even he offers more misses than hits. Listening to him rip the Bush Administration on album centerpiece 'Business As The vocals are great, the playing is good, but The Eagles appear to have lost their lyrical and melodic acumen. Much of this album is schlock. The only decent songs are the ones written with Don Henley, which is no surprise based on his successful solo career, but even he offers more misses than hits. Listening to him rip the Bush Administration on album centerpiece 'Business As Usual' while the band cozies up to Walmart to make the most bang for their buck is laughable. To say nothing of their concert ticket prices... Tim Schmit's 'I Don't Want To Hear Any More' is a warmed over 'I Can't Tell You Why,' and it wasn't even written by him - Paul Carrack is the doctor who originally tried to give life to this dead patient. All those years of self-destructive behavior have pickled Joe Walsh's mind; his songs are quickly forgettable. Glenn Frey is still a fine singer, but most of his offerings are silly love songs. Maybe they'll do us all a favor and wait another 28 years before going down this road again. Expand
  12. ToddN
    Nov 7, 2007
    6
    Words to describe the production: "polite", "Slick""clean", "flat". Really lacks dynamics. The songs are not strong on melody. They waste 10 minutes on the title track that goes nowhere. Joe Walsh gets 2 songs and he waste one of his chances on a weak cover. Henley comes off as a grumpy know-it-all. His better work on the album sounds like some of his more recent solo work. (How many Words to describe the production: "polite", "Slick""clean", "flat". Really lacks dynamics. The songs are not strong on melody. They waste 10 minutes on the title track that goes nowhere. Joe Walsh gets 2 songs and he waste one of his chances on a weak cover. Henley comes off as a grumpy know-it-all. His better work on the album sounds like some of his more recent solo work. (How many tracks does Henley play drums on?) They definitely miss the 2 guitar attack of Felder and Walsh. I wonder how much guitar Joe Walsh actually contributes to the album. Glenn Frey does well with the classic sounding "No More Cloudy days" and the somewhat dark "Somebody". Remember the studio tracks on "Hell Freezes Over" weren't very good either. Expand
  13. DaveL
    Nov 9, 2007
    3
    I've been a huge Eagles fan all my life. They were the staple of my youth and the inpration for my music career. But this is not the Eagles I grew up loving so much. They made a HUGE mistake getting rid of Felder. He was THE SOUND. He gave them an edge that defined them from other country rock artists. Bring back Don baby, they really need him.
  14. Ryu
    Dec 1, 2007
    2
    Boring! They never were interesting anyways.Now velvet underground reunion album...that would be nice.
  15. JeffT.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    I admit that I love the Eagles style, and have for a good 25 years. This is an album I have been looking forward to for a long time, and I am not disappointed by what I got. Although it may be a little long (20 songs), I don't mind. The Eagles-style harmonies, statements about today's world, and that smooth and easy feeling in a number of the songs really make me feel like the I admit that I love the Eagles style, and have for a good 25 years. This is an album I have been looking forward to for a long time, and I am not disappointed by what I got. Although it may be a little long (20 songs), I don't mind. The Eagles-style harmonies, statements about today's world, and that smooth and easy feeling in a number of the songs really make me feel like the album is well worth the wait and that the Eagles are not dead and never will be. Expand
  16. BM
    Jan 10, 2008
    2
    I have been an Eagles fan since the early 70's. This album is terrible. There are only a couple of songs worth listening to. I kept advancing the cd to find a song that reminded me why I loved the Eagles so much. Never found one.
  17. GregP
    Oct 3, 2008
    7
    A few stinkers, but otherwise some very good Eagles music. Some of the reviews posted to this site read like critics whining for a stage on which to spout their musical "gravitas" and intellect. Over analyzing music from the Eagles is probably a waste of time, whereas simply enjoying their music is good enough for me. It's just the Eagels for crying out loud.
  18. MartinD.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    A fantastic double CD that warrants and rewards frequent playing. As good as anything they did 30+ years ago.
  19. NoelLo.
    Nov 1, 2007
    0
    unlistenable (if such word even exist. if not, then it should be added to english dictionary because of this record) poor effort by eagles...
  20. JimM.
    Nov 1, 2007
    8
    Haters of the band won't be converted, but fans will get exactly what they expect. Only the Walsh songs are weak; the rest shines like the sun, and the harmonies are bliss. If this were released as a rarities/unreleased package, it would get more critical acclaim, but it's fashionable to dump on the Eagles making new stuff. It's great...better than 95% of crap on the radio Haters of the band won't be converted, but fans will get exactly what they expect. Only the Walsh songs are weak; the rest shines like the sun, and the harmonies are bliss. If this were released as a rarities/unreleased package, it would get more critical acclaim, but it's fashionable to dump on the Eagles making new stuff. It's great...better than 95% of crap on the radio these days. Expand
  21. DougW
    Nov 20, 2007
    2
    As much as I hate to say it- it's crap. As Dave L. has already said: "...this is not the Eagles I grew up loving so much." It sure ain't. Tired old men.
  22. DowJ.
    Nov 3, 2007
    2
    This CD gets a 2 rating for only 2 songs worth listening to. Six years in the making? What were doing searching through 28 years of castoffs for this collection? The Eagles in concert are the best of the best. The old songs keep playing in my head. These songs may have all of the musicality and harmonies of the old, but they will soon be forgotten. If this is their last album and these This CD gets a 2 rating for only 2 songs worth listening to. Six years in the making? What were doing searching through 28 years of castoffs for this collection? The Eagles in concert are the best of the best. The old songs keep playing in my head. These songs may have all of the musicality and harmonies of the old, but they will soon be forgotten. If this is their last album and these are their swan songs, this was a swan dive. Please go back and do one more with songs of everlasting quality. Expand
  23. Niall
    Nov 3, 2007
    8
    Some reviewers I've read have been unimpressed & I originally decided not to buy. Having done so the melodies & harmonies are as if the last 25 years never happened. Not a classic but it does all you would want from an Eagles CD.
  24. eddie
    Nov 3, 2007
    8
    A little less of Glenn's ballads and more tunes like "How Long" & BBF Joe Walsh rocks!
  25. JyotiL.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    I can now die happy! This CD is pure joy! A mix of sweet love songs, ballads obviously written to their children, and social commentary. The voices are great, the harmonies truly sweet, and the instruments well-seasoned. I've not in a long time heard as funky a song as "Fast Company"!!! These guys still have still got it going on and I just can't stop listening.
  26. LidiaR
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Fabulous! as usual for the Eagles!
  27. JimT
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Fantastic and long time comin'.
  28. ToddV
    Dec 25, 2007
    4
    The track "How Long" fools you into thinking that you're getting the old Eagles sound. After what seemed to be 2 hours getting through the rest of the album - you find out you were tricked. I don't hear even one more radio track. Wish it was much better.
  29. HalS.
    Dec 4, 2007
    4
    I love the Eagles. I have been listening to the Eagles for over 20 years. I was really looking forward to this album. Then I listened to it. Very disappointing. This album is a shadow of the band's former work. Flat, sedate, cliche, and boring. Don't bother with it. I like to think it would have been better with Felder. But who knows?
  30. SamuelL
    Jan 11, 2008
    8
    I usually don't respond to other users, but Ryu, you just might be legally retarded. The Eagles are one of the greatest bands ever, with a unique style and incredible talent. If you take the time to listen to their songs, you will realize their depth and brilliance. Not surprising that it goes over so many peoples' heads. That being said, this album is weaker than their classic I usually don't respond to other users, but Ryu, you just might be legally retarded. The Eagles are one of the greatest bands ever, with a unique style and incredible talent. If you take the time to listen to their songs, you will realize their depth and brilliance. Not surprising that it goes over so many peoples' heads. That being said, this album is weaker than their classic albums. Please, if you don't take the time to actually listen to their albums and make thoughtful judgment, then do us all a favor and not post comments that depict an I.Q comfortably lower than this album's Metacritic score. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. The album is savvier still, crafted to evoke the spirit and feel of the Eagles' biggest hits.
  2. It's all a testament to the durable Eagles footprint on the pop landscape.
  3. It is an auspicious beginning for a double album so strong it's almost irritating that it took so long to release it.