• Record Label: Polydor
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 75
  2. Negative: 22 out of 75

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Paul
    Nov 1, 2007
    0
    haven't even heard this record, but the fact that it is only being sold at wal mart is disgusting. talk about out of touch. 2007 will go down in history as the year radiohead got it right and the eagles got it wrong.
  2. JustinZ.
    Nov 4, 2007
    0
    This could be the best album of the year, but the fact that it's only available at Walmart makes me sick. Shame on the Eagles.
  3. JasonF.
    Nov 5, 2007
    0
    Very very boring.
  4. jjuveli
    Nov 1, 2007
    4
    horrible
  5. brianr.
    Nov 4, 2007
    9
    Could have been shortened to one disc.
  6. TomH
    Jan 3, 2009
    10
    I loved the album. I thought it was fantastic! I was appalled by all the low ratings it got from the magazines, but I loved it.
  7. DaveS.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    As a 19 year old Eagles fan, i have to say that i have been dying for new songs for a long time. i picked up this cd first thing on the 30th and it more than delivers. These guys can still rock and still write deep compelling lyrics. Their voices blend perfectly together, and the title track "The Long Road Out Of Eden" is an amazing piece to an already stellar collection. 10/10 from As a 19 year old Eagles fan, i have to say that i have been dying for new songs for a long time. i picked up this cd first thing on the 30th and it more than delivers. These guys can still rock and still write deep compelling lyrics. Their voices blend perfectly together, and the title track "The Long Road Out Of Eden" is an amazing piece to an already stellar collection. 10/10 from Classic Rockers The Eagles. Expand
  8. EdP.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    A great testament to the enduring talent of the best American band of all time.
  9. mike
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Excellent Vocals and Depth of songs. The second and third listen is even better!
  10. GeorgeP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    If you loved the Eagles in the 70's You'll love this new album. Incredble music, lyrics and vocals. The Eagles are the Beatles of Southern Rock and that's a fact. The album is a creative masterpiece.
  11. ToddW.
    Nov 5, 2007
    3
    The vocals are great, the playing is good, but The Eagles appear to have lost their lyrical and melodic acumen. Much of this album is schlock. The only decent songs are the ones written with Don Henley, which is no surprise based on his successful solo career, but even he offers more misses than hits. Listening to him rip the Bush Administration on album centerpiece 'Business As The vocals are great, the playing is good, but The Eagles appear to have lost their lyrical and melodic acumen. Much of this album is schlock. The only decent songs are the ones written with Don Henley, which is no surprise based on his successful solo career, but even he offers more misses than hits. Listening to him rip the Bush Administration on album centerpiece 'Business As Usual' while the band cozies up to Walmart to make the most bang for their buck is laughable. To say nothing of their concert ticket prices... Tim Schmit's 'I Don't Want To Hear Any More' is a warmed over 'I Can't Tell You Why,' and it wasn't even written by him - Paul Carrack is the doctor who originally tried to give life to this dead patient. All those years of self-destructive behavior have pickled Joe Walsh's mind; his songs are quickly forgettable. Glenn Frey is still a fine singer, but most of his offerings are silly love songs. Maybe they'll do us all a favor and wait another 28 years before going down this road again. Expand
  12. ToddN
    Nov 7, 2007
    6
    Words to describe the production: "polite", "Slick""clean", "flat". Really lacks dynamics. The songs are not strong on melody. They waste 10 minutes on the title track that goes nowhere. Joe Walsh gets 2 songs and he waste one of his chances on a weak cover. Henley comes off as a grumpy know-it-all. His better work on the album sounds like some of his more recent solo work. (How many Words to describe the production: "polite", "Slick""clean", "flat". Really lacks dynamics. The songs are not strong on melody. They waste 10 minutes on the title track that goes nowhere. Joe Walsh gets 2 songs and he waste one of his chances on a weak cover. Henley comes off as a grumpy know-it-all. His better work on the album sounds like some of his more recent solo work. (How many tracks does Henley play drums on?) They definitely miss the 2 guitar attack of Felder and Walsh. I wonder how much guitar Joe Walsh actually contributes to the album. Glenn Frey does well with the classic sounding "No More Cloudy days" and the somewhat dark "Somebody". Remember the studio tracks on "Hell Freezes Over" weren't very good either. Collapse
  13. DaveL
    Nov 9, 2007
    3
    I've been a huge Eagles fan all my life. They were the staple of my youth and the inpration for my music career. But this is not the Eagles I grew up loving so much. They made a HUGE mistake getting rid of Felder. He was THE SOUND. He gave them an edge that defined them from other country rock artists. Bring back Don baby, they really need him.
  14. Ryu
    Dec 1, 2007
    2
    Boring! They never were interesting anyways.Now velvet underground reunion album...that would be nice.
  15. JeffT.
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    I admit that I love the Eagles style, and have for a good 25 years. This is an album I have been looking forward to for a long time, and I am not disappointed by what I got. Although it may be a little long (20 songs), I don't mind. The Eagles-style harmonies, statements about today's world, and that smooth and easy feeling in a number of the songs really make me feel like the I admit that I love the Eagles style, and have for a good 25 years. This is an album I have been looking forward to for a long time, and I am not disappointed by what I got. Although it may be a little long (20 songs), I don't mind. The Eagles-style harmonies, statements about today's world, and that smooth and easy feeling in a number of the songs really make me feel like the album is well worth the wait and that the Eagles are not dead and never will be. Expand
  16. BM
    Jan 10, 2008
    2
    I have been an Eagles fan since the early 70's. This album is terrible. There are only a couple of songs worth listening to. I kept advancing the cd to find a song that reminded me why I loved the Eagles so much. Never found one.
  17. GregP
    Oct 3, 2008
    7
    A few stinkers, but otherwise some very good Eagles music. Some of the reviews posted to this site read like critics whining for a stage on which to spout their musical "gravitas" and intellect. Over analyzing music from the Eagles is probably a waste of time, whereas simply enjoying their music is good enough for me. It's just the Eagels for crying out loud.
  18. MartinD.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    A fantastic double CD that warrants and rewards frequent playing. As good as anything they did 30+ years ago.
  19. NoelLo.
    Nov 1, 2007
    0
    unlistenable (if such word even exist. if not, then it should be added to english dictionary because of this record) poor effort by eagles...
  20. JimM.
    Nov 1, 2007
    8
    Haters of the band won't be converted, but fans will get exactly what they expect. Only the Walsh songs are weak; the rest shines like the sun, and the harmonies are bliss. If this were released as a rarities/unreleased package, it would get more critical acclaim, but it's fashionable to dump on the Eagles making new stuff. It's great...better than 95% of crap on the radio Haters of the band won't be converted, but fans will get exactly what they expect. Only the Walsh songs are weak; the rest shines like the sun, and the harmonies are bliss. If this were released as a rarities/unreleased package, it would get more critical acclaim, but it's fashionable to dump on the Eagles making new stuff. It's great...better than 95% of crap on the radio these days. Expand
  21. DougW
    Nov 20, 2007
    2
    As much as I hate to say it- it's crap. As Dave L. has already said: "...this is not the Eagles I grew up loving so much." It sure ain't. Tired old men.
  22. DowJ.
    Nov 3, 2007
    2
    This CD gets a 2 rating for only 2 songs worth listening to. Six years in the making? What were doing searching through 28 years of castoffs for this collection? The Eagles in concert are the best of the best. The old songs keep playing in my head. These songs may have all of the musicality and harmonies of the old, but they will soon be forgotten. If this is their last album and these This CD gets a 2 rating for only 2 songs worth listening to. Six years in the making? What were doing searching through 28 years of castoffs for this collection? The Eagles in concert are the best of the best. The old songs keep playing in my head. These songs may have all of the musicality and harmonies of the old, but they will soon be forgotten. If this is their last album and these are their swan songs, this was a swan dive. Please go back and do one more with songs of everlasting quality. Expand
  23. Niall
    Nov 3, 2007
    8
    Some reviewers I've read have been unimpressed & I originally decided not to buy. Having done so the melodies & harmonies are as if the last 25 years never happened. Not a classic but it does all you would want from an Eagles CD.
  24. eddie
    Nov 3, 2007
    8
    A little less of Glenn's ballads and more tunes like "How Long" & BBF Joe Walsh rocks!
  25. JyotiL.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    I can now die happy! This CD is pure joy! A mix of sweet love songs, ballads obviously written to their children, and social commentary. The voices are great, the harmonies truly sweet, and the instruments well-seasoned. I've not in a long time heard as funky a song as "Fast Company"!!! These guys still have still got it going on and I just can't stop listening.
  26. LidiaR
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Fabulous! as usual for the Eagles!
  27. JimT
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Fantastic and long time comin'.
  28. ToddV
    Dec 25, 2007
    4
    The track "How Long" fools you into thinking that you're getting the old Eagles sound. After what seemed to be 2 hours getting through the rest of the album - you find out you were tricked. I don't hear even one more radio track. Wish it was much better.
  29. HalS.
    Dec 4, 2007
    4
    I love the Eagles. I have been listening to the Eagles for over 20 years. I was really looking forward to this album. Then I listened to it. Very disappointing. This album is a shadow of the band's former work. Flat, sedate, cliche, and boring. Don't bother with it. I like to think it would have been better with Felder. But who knows?
  30. SamuelL
    Jan 11, 2008
    8
    I usually don't respond to other users, but Ryu, you just might be legally retarded. The Eagles are one of the greatest bands ever, with a unique style and incredible talent. If you take the time to listen to their songs, you will realize their depth and brilliance. Not surprising that it goes over so many peoples' heads. That being said, this album is weaker than their classic I usually don't respond to other users, but Ryu, you just might be legally retarded. The Eagles are one of the greatest bands ever, with a unique style and incredible talent. If you take the time to listen to their songs, you will realize their depth and brilliance. Not surprising that it goes over so many peoples' heads. That being said, this album is weaker than their classic albums. Please, if you don't take the time to actually listen to their albums and make thoughtful judgment, then do us all a favor and not post comments that depict an I.Q comfortably lower than this album's Metacritic score. Expand
  31. Tara
    Jan 8, 2008
    6
    The only really great song on the CD is How Long. The few songs sung for Glen Frey are good, and everything else is poor - average. Don't care for any of Don Henley's songs. CD1 > CD2. A double CD was just too much.
  32. ClayK
    Sep 21, 2009
    8
    Randy Meisner (Take It To The Limit), Bernie Leadon (Earlybird, Train Leaves Here This Morning) and Don Felder (Hotel California) were also Eagles and I hope someday they will play together again for us. I'll be buying the CD after listening on YouTube, will cruise with it.
  33. wesselK.
    Nov 1, 2007
    0
    You must be braindead to like this shit!!! Nothing is as boring as listening to this crap. I almost caused a major accident listening to this dribbel music behind the wheel. It's no doubt these guys can play their instruments and the voices match, but what the make wit it is so bad, that i rather role around in a bathtub full of glass listening to the reunion of take that, then You must be braindead to like this shit!!! Nothing is as boring as listening to this crap. I almost caused a major accident listening to this dribbel music behind the wheel. It's no doubt these guys can play their instruments and the voices match, but what the make wit it is so bad, that i rather role around in a bathtub full of glass listening to the reunion of take that, then listen another minute to this crap. You people giving it a 10 ,wow, must be accountants. Expand
  34. KenHH
    Nov 1, 2007
    8
    This is not as bad as previous users have noted. Clearly it's not as strong as Eagles of decades ago but for a bunch of aging rockers that are ripping off their fans with overpriced tickets, I can still be somewhat objective and hear they are making quality music.
  35. JohnT.
    Nov 12, 2007
    8
    You might be tempted to hate them were they not so freaking talented. And they are truly fine on this outing. Yeah, the record is lush & lovely; it's what the Eagles have been real good at all along. No one does this like them....The vocals just jump out of the speakers! This one will be perfect while driving around looking for whatever you will. Or just hanging out at the homefront You might be tempted to hate them were they not so freaking talented. And they are truly fine on this outing. Yeah, the record is lush & lovely; it's what the Eagles have been real good at all along. No one does this like them....The vocals just jump out of the speakers! This one will be perfect while driving around looking for whatever you will. Or just hanging out at the homefront away from it all. Enjoy. Expand
  36. MattF.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Pure joy. Top quality Eagles - I like the variety from the edgy Don Henley tunes to the smooth Glenn Frey. Surprised by the Joe Walsh entries - loved them.
  37. MIkeF.
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    Old style Eagle with updated sounds.
  38. JBH.
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    Thank you Glenn, Don, Joe & Timothy for persevering and bringing out a double CD that I will play and play and play. Yes, it sounds like I've heard it before, but that's okay because it's fresh and it's Eagles and honestly, it's exceeded my expectations.
  39. ChrisK
    Nov 25, 2007
    5
    After nearly thirty years, you would have thought that maybe they'd reach for some new sounds, instead of pandering to those of us raised on their Greatest Hits. Blah.
  40. WoodyC.
    Nov 29, 2007
    9
    Let's remember folk's these men are 60 years plus.It is amazing they still have such great voices and the ability to still play as perfect as they do.Go see them in concert they give a 110% live and in the studio.
  41. LindaP.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Definitely worth the wait. A great American band.
  42. RF
    Nov 3, 2007
    1
    Why was this album ever recorded? The Eagles have been pumping out the same tired, by the numbers drivel since their inception and for the life of me I can't see that they have progressed in any meaningful way since the 70's. I always thought that good "rock" should be pushing boundaries and looking toward the future. The Eagles seem to have found a niche doing the same boring Why was this album ever recorded? The Eagles have been pumping out the same tired, by the numbers drivel since their inception and for the life of me I can't see that they have progressed in any meaningful way since the 70's. I always thought that good "rock" should be pushing boundaries and looking toward the future. The Eagles seem to have found a niche doing the same boring thing over and over and the fact that this music is only available at Walmart should serve a warning as it seems to be the musical equivalent of the cheap, plastic chinese made crap that Walmart specializes in. Expand
  43. jims.
    Nov 4, 2007
    5
    Horrible, horrible, horrible...... Trite beyond belief, huge disappointment, disc two was a complete waste...
  44. JohnD.
    Nov 5, 2007
    5
    Not horrible but pretty lackluster effort. Essentially half a Henley solo album (and not a great one at that!) combined with subpar songs from Frey, Schmit and Walsh. Other than Henley, these guys really don't have much to say.
  45. ChrisG.
    Nov 5, 2007
    7
    Some very nice melodies, some nice put downs at which they are so adept. The production almost feels over the top, but still, a sold effort by a group that in my estimation doesn't get it due as one of the all time great American bands,
  46. TroyW
    Dec 22, 2007
    4
    The only time I listened to the album, I could guess the next lyrics. Good musically but poorly written lyrics.
  47. BillM
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    I grew up listening to The Eagle's and this album is one of their greatest. Lots of feeling and mood for a group that has matured with the years.
  48. PaulC
    Dec 8, 2007
    8
    There are several cuts that are remarkable. The drum work is very very good. Don's vocals are typically very very good. I like the mix of the others across the album... not a 'one man show' at all. Best song on the album is (and this is given much thought) "Last Good Time in Town". The drum work is astonishing, the guitar highlights make you want to move.... and the vocals There are several cuts that are remarkable. The drum work is very very good. Don's vocals are typically very very good. I like the mix of the others across the album... not a 'one man show' at all. Best song on the album is (and this is given much thought) "Last Good Time in Town". The drum work is astonishing, the guitar highlights make you want to move.... and the vocals are reminiscent of "Pretty Maids All in a Row". Well done, gentlemen! Expand
  49. kenw.
    Aug 13, 2009
    2
    Felder and Walsh were one of the the greatest guitar tandems ever. To think the Eagles could go on without Felder and with a fading Walsh is just silly. This album relies entirely on Henley's tired angst and Frey's inane lyrics. The Eagles have gone from a great band to all that is wrong with the music industry: constant infighting, out of control egos, putting money above Felder and Walsh were one of the the greatest guitar tandems ever. To think the Eagles could go on without Felder and with a fading Walsh is just silly. This album relies entirely on Henley's tired angst and Frey's inane lyrics. The Eagles have gone from a great band to all that is wrong with the music industry: constant infighting, out of control egos, putting money above music,constant repackaging of the same music (how many "definitive hits" albums does one band need?), outrageous ticket prices that exclude everyone but the affluent... And then to make an album about corporate greed just screams of hypocrisy. On top of it all, it just isn't any good. Save your money and go buy The Long Run instead. Expand
  50. TimA
    Nov 24, 2007
    8
    Wow strong reactions pro and con.... usually translates to great music... and I do indeed hear flashes of classic sound.
  51. SteveV
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    The people that gave this bad reviews are nuts. While not the greatest Eagles, it is a solid record.
  52. MattY
    Dec 16, 2007
    3
    This album is the most disappointing musical event of my year. As a child of the '70s, I grew up on the Eagles along with Jackson Browne and Bruce Springsteen. I anxiously looked forward to the almost simultaneous releases of Bruce's "Magic" and the Eagle's "Out of Eden." Bruce still has a pulse, even a strong heartbeat. The Eagles... Yawn! This doesn't even come close This album is the most disappointing musical event of my year. As a child of the '70s, I grew up on the Eagles along with Jackson Browne and Bruce Springsteen. I anxiously looked forward to the almost simultaneous releases of Bruce's "Magic" and the Eagle's "Out of Eden." Bruce still has a pulse, even a strong heartbeat. The Eagles... Yawn! This doesn't even come close to the worst of their former works. Lobotomy rock.... Put a fork in 'em. They're done. Expand
  53. Oct 11, 2010
    7
    The album starts off very strong, with 6 "quality songs" in the first 10 songs. However, disc 2 was terrible. Out of the 9 songs on disc 2, none of them were a "quality song". In my mind, a quality song is a song that is worth listening to. My rating for this album would be much lower had the first disc not been so good. The songs I recommend listening to are: 2. How Long
    3. Busy Being
    The album starts off very strong, with 6 "quality songs" in the first 10 songs. However, disc 2 was terrible. Out of the 9 songs on disc 2, none of them were a "quality song". In my mind, a quality song is a song that is worth listening to. My rating for this album would be much lower had the first disc not been so good. The songs I recommend listening to are: 2. How Long
    3. Busy Being Fabulous
    5. Guilty of the Crime
    6. I Don't Want to Hear Any More
    9. Fast Company
    10. Do Something
    Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. The album is savvier still, crafted to evoke the spirit and feel of the Eagles' biggest hits.
  2. It's all a testament to the durable Eagles footprint on the pop landscape.
  3. It is an auspicious beginning for a double album so strong it's almost irritating that it took so long to release it.