Long.Live.A$AP

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jan 15, 2013
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    60
    Harlem's A$AP Rocky finally delivers his long delayed major label debut, and while it builds on his mixtape legacy and emphasizes his strengths as an inventive stylist, it also amplifies his flaws.
  2. Jan 15, 2013
    60
    A fine enough retail debut, but when you can get the stronger, more unique product for free that's a strange thing to strongly recommend anyone.
  3. Jan 10, 2013
    60
    A macabre mood keeps it cohesive and lends a cinematic quality, kind of like the A$AP Rocky Horror Picture Show.
  4. Jan 7, 2013
    60
    So like A$AP's debut, Long. Live. A$AP is an intermittently dazzling collection of slinky, mutated R&B helmed by an unsteady, half-interested voice.
  5. Jan 22, 2013
    50
    When consumed passively, as ambient music, his conceptual flaws recede into the fuzz of his production, a raw mush of sound that provides an appropriate and occasionally great backdrop for refreshing your Tumblr dashboard, at least until it delivers a more engaging artist to look at.
  6. Jan 11, 2013
    50
    Florence, Santigold and the usually brilliant Danny Brown do little more than tick boxes, and ultimately Long.Live.A$AP fails to match its hype with a coherent trend-setting statement.
  7. Jan 10, 2013
    50
    A little shallowness is fine by me, but Rocky's studied, humourless delivery is harder to swallow.
  8. Jan 15, 2013
    40
    There are enough genre-hopping and synergistic, trans-genre partnerships present on the tracklist that Long. Live. A$AP, its commercial bets hedged, feels not unlike a myriad of other major-label rap disappointments from nearly any other era of rap.
  9. Jan 14, 2013
    40
    Long.Live.A$AP, his major-label debut, is both cunning and desperate in its attempts to please every possible demographic without looking like it's trying too hard.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Jan 18, 2013
    7
    Good album to start 2013 off with a new york and southern mixed style yet the album is seems it was over done in production and needs to focusGood album to start 2013 off with a new york and southern mixed style yet the album is seems it was over done in production and needs to focus on the lyrics more but the album is a great debut for the 24 year old. Full Review »
  2. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Great album. I don't understand why some aren't liking it. I can see Rocky's progression as an artist on this. (best tracks: Long Live ASAP,Great album. I don't understand why some aren't liking it. I can see Rocky's progression as an artist on this. (best tracks: Long Live ASAP, LVL, PMW, Phoenix and Suddenly) Full Review »
  3. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    This album is a great first step for Rocky's career because it show you what he is capable of 1. A Great Emcee (don't believe me listen toThis album is a great first step for Rocky's career because it show you what he is capable of 1. A Great Emcee (don't believe me listen to suddenly, and 1 train) and 2. A very smart man for wisely choosing what to put in this album. This album could have been Live Love A$AP 2 but he went the opposite way and made a gem Full Review »