Long.Live.A$AP

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jan 15, 2013
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 163 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 163
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    5
    There are a few highlights, such as "Goldie", "Fuckin' Problems", and "1Train", but otherwise, this one's a poor effort and below average at best. The album is honestly just boring. Aside from the tracks mentioned, they all seem to sound the same and the beat selection was hit-and-miss as there were just some dud beats. Huge disappointment of an album and a sign that Rocky needs to headThere are a few highlights, such as "Goldie", "Fuckin' Problems", and "1Train", but otherwise, this one's a poor effort and below average at best. The album is honestly just boring. Aside from the tracks mentioned, they all seem to sound the same and the beat selection was hit-and-miss as there were just some dud beats. Huge disappointment of an album and a sign that Rocky needs to head back to the drawing board. Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2013
    5
    This is the first time I have ever listened to A$AP Rocky's music, so I didn't have much of an idea about his reputation or what kind of rap music he made. Judging by the critical reviews, I expected great things, but I've been left a bit puzzled as to where all this great praise comes from.
    A$AP may not be a terrible rapper, but I wouldn't rank him as one of the best. His raps are not as
    This is the first time I have ever listened to A$AP Rocky's music, so I didn't have much of an idea about his reputation or what kind of rap music he made. Judging by the critical reviews, I expected great things, but I've been left a bit puzzled as to where all this great praise comes from.
    A$AP may not be a terrible rapper, but I wouldn't rank him as one of the best. His raps are not as ridiculous and infantile as some rappers, but neither are they outstanding and groundbreaking. The big standouts are Wild For The Night, a dubstep infused number that worked in a way that I didn't expect, 1 Train, a brilliant emotional piece, Phoenix, a beautiful spiritual sounding track and I Come Apart, the lovely bonus track featuring vocals by Florence Welch. Unfortunately, everything else is just ok. There are no bad tracks on the album, although Fashion Killa is extremely mediocre and is so out of place that I don't know how it made the final cut.
    There is talent here and A$AP just needs to expand it and develop it a bit more. A halfway decent major label debut is quite rare these days, though, so he is on the right track.
    Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2013
    6
    his mixtape was way better. 1 train is easily the best song on the album. pretty much because of the guest verses. asap rocky practically relies on his beats. he sold out
  4. Jan 10, 2014
    4
    This album definitely strayed away from his mixtape Live.Love.A$AP. Songs like PMW, LONG.LIVE.A$AP and Suddenly produced a different sound not many hiphop artists tend to do. Goldie was also a standout which reminded me of the Watch The Throne hit **** In Paris. The album does make a quick turn into a problem with 1Train which featured a lot of artists on the one track. A track that has soThis album definitely strayed away from his mixtape Live.Love.A$AP. Songs like PMW, LONG.LIVE.A$AP and Suddenly produced a different sound not many hiphop artists tend to do. Goldie was also a standout which reminded me of the Watch The Throne hit **** In Paris. The album does make a quick turn into a problem with 1Train which featured a lot of artists on the one track. A track that has so many features because long and boring to listen to. The rest of the tracks become plain and ordinary, nothing too special. I expected much better from this. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2015
    6
    6.4/10................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Rocky raps over the music without saying a damn thing older, meaner, and sharper rappers haven't said before. Then, bang, three dynamite songs.... Then, aww, three tracks that could be more obvious by half.
  2. Mojo
    Mar 7, 2013
    80
    Rocky bests every beat thrown at him. [Apr 2013, p.94]
  3. The Wire
    Feb 28, 2013
    70
    Rocky synthesises the cutting edge experiments of his peers into a more commercially polished product that lacks the eccentricity of its influences but is uniquely out there when compared to most mainstream fare. [Feb 2013, p.61]