• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Long.Live.A$AP Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 2 Chainz, Action Bronson, Big K.R.I.T., Danny Brown, Drake, Joey Bada$$, Kendrick Lamar, Santigold, Schoolboy Q, Skrillex, and Yelawolf guest on the official debut studio release for the New York rapper.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    His major-label debut proves he's more than a magnetic hedonist.
  2. Jan 16, 2013
    80
    In many ways Long.Live.A$AP is an album of the present.
  3. Feb 21, 2013
    80
    It is a step up for Rocky and the perfect documentation of today's new forefront in hip-hop. [Feb-Mar 2013, p.88]
  4. Unsure whether he wanted to create a sunny, party album, gangstafest, or a record of cool pop vibes, Rocky seems to have tried to make them all, and with minor successes in all departments, he sacrifices something stronger.
  5. Rocky's rhymes are believable when reminiscing about growing up poor.
  6. Jan 16, 2013
    63
    If there's a knock to be had against the Harlem rapper, it's that he lacks an original presence. So it's curious that for his major-label debut he's opted to further venture down the rabbit hole of references, loading Long.Live.A$AP with a bevy of guests with personalities far more distinctive than his own.
  7. Jan 14, 2013
    40
    Long.Live.A$AP, his major-label debut, is both cunning and desperate in its attempts to please every possible demographic without looking like it's trying too hard.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    Wow. Just from the title track, this is an album like nothing I have ever heard before. This is an album that you can never get tired of.Wow. Just from the title track, this is an album like nothing I have ever heard before. This is an album that you can never get tired of. Its got everything needed for a great album, and I was just blown away. The guest verses were mostly amazing, with the only one really not that good being Yelawolf's verse on 1Train. The best part about the album though, is that the bonus tracks sound even better than the first twelve. Ghetto Symphony, Jodye, Angels, and I Come Apart are some of the best songs of the year no doubt. It will be exciting to see where Lord Flacko goes from here Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    this album is fantastic debut for A$AP Rocky, its of the same technique as Live Love A$AP. I found that this album is a complete classic, mythis album is fantastic debut for A$AP Rocky, its of the same technique as Live Love A$AP. I found that this album is a complete classic, my fav. tracks are 1 Train,Long Live A$AP, LVL, Goldie and PMW(all i really need) Expand
  3. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Great album. I don't understand why some aren't liking it. I can see Rocky's progression as an artist on this. (best tracks: Long Live ASAP,Great album. I don't understand why some aren't liking it. I can see Rocky's progression as an artist on this. (best tracks: Long Live ASAP, LVL, PMW, Phoenix and Suddenly) Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    This album is easily one of the best albums of the year. Great debut from A$AP Rocky. Great lyrics, great prouction and great features. IThis album is easily one of the best albums of the year. Great debut from A$AP Rocky. Great lyrics, great prouction and great features. I wasn't a big fan of A$AP Rocky before this album, but when I got the CD and listened to it, I feel in love with it. I suggest you buy this album.
    Best Tracks (IMO):
    Long. Live. A$AP
    Goldie
    PMW
    LVL
    Jodye
    Ghetto Symphony
    1 Train
    Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2014
    8
    You can't say A$AP Rocky isn't original, not after listening to "Long.Live.A$AP," anyways. After his extremely successful mixtapeYou can't say A$AP Rocky isn't original, not after listening to "Long.Live.A$AP," anyways. After his extremely successful mixtape "Live.Love.A$AP" garnered both praise and expectations, he had a lot of hype to live up to. Live up to them he did, however, as his debut album broadens his original by almost every measure, with Rocky getting wittier, sharper, and overall better, and with the sound that made him a household name remaining firmly in place. Unique, it is (you will be hard-pressed to find a similar sounding album), but what's missing is a firm direction, as Rocky appears to have attempted to please too many genre-fans. His lyricism isn't also as good as people make it seem, though that is quickly gleamed over with the style and swagger that he lives for. The exciting production also does a lot for the album as well, giving us thrills and soft touches here and there for a complete feeling. For a debut album with all of the hype and expectations, though, Rocky has crafted an absorbing project, and for you to miss out on it would be to miss out on a young talent poised to overtake a new form of hip-hop. Expand
  6. Jul 12, 2014
    7
    This is an undeniably good album that propels A$AP Rocky into the upper tiers of active rappers. I love how Rocky focuses on putting out goodThis is an undeniably good album that propels A$AP Rocky into the upper tiers of active rappers. I love how Rocky focuses on putting out good music with unique production, instead of just screaming over cookie cutter trap production. There are several clear filler tracks, however, and he definitely doesn't impress me lyrically over most of the album.
    ~ 7.2/10
    ~ including deluxe tracks and pre-order bonus track: 7.4/10
    Best track: "1 Train": WOW! is all I can say.. this is one of my favorite tracks of 2013. The beat feels underground and the features were perfect, especially Big K.R.I.T.
    Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2013
    0
    I'm giving a zero to this album and this artist just because he stole his name from Aesop Rock, who is a superior artist compared to thisI'm giving a zero to this album and this artist just because he stole his name from Aesop Rock, who is a superior artist compared to this child. Oh, and this album and "asap rocky's" music in general is terrible. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews