Lookaftering

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarcE
    Nov 14, 2005
    1
    I 2nd Andy D's assessment. Enough of these boring-as-eff albums where every song has the same structure, the same tempo, the same fingered guitar, the same "delicate" vocals. 1 is enough!
  2. GarinH
    Jan 27, 2006
    9
    a beautiful album, proving that Vashti Bunyan can still access the delicate beauty that was so evident on her first record.
  3. RaulJulia
    Dec 5, 2005
    8
    This album is a time machine to 1972 with emotion and grace at the wheel. It's a beautiful ride indeed.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Dec 6, 2005
    4
    Yuck.
  5. StevenL
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    It's soothing and beautiful. Vashti has a lovely voice, and this is a fantastic album.
  6. MarkusP.
    Feb 9, 2007
    8
    Not as good as her first one but a fine record nevertheless. Her voice is a real winner and the guest musicians do a very nice job specially Joanna Newsom.
  7. johnH
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    When I first encountered Just Another Diamond Day a few years back I was annoyed to discover it was firstly so old and secondly a one-off. So I
  8. thomasb
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    gorgeous and heartfelt , not in the least boring ! i hope this is just the first of many new albums by this exceptional artist. this is real music , with beautiful thoughtful singing and lyrics; not the screeching and posturing so prevalent today and obviously preferred by one of the other reviewers.
  9. FlemmingF
    Nov 8, 2005
    9
    Pretty damn close to perfection
  10. GeorgesT
    Nov 9, 2005
    9
    The only reason I didn't rate LOOKAFTERING as a "10" is that I know that nothing is perfect. But LOOKAFTERING is "as close to perfect" as you can get in this imperfect world. A simply amazing recording!
  11. C.G.
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    A rare delicatessen. An album made for music lovers. Please, flintstone hearts abstain.
  12. martinø
    Oct 26, 2005
    9
    What a glorious return!
  13. SebastianN
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    One of my all time favorite folk albums.
  14. rienb
    Nov 19, 2005
    3
    very weak voice.. Even Melanie was better. Thank God we had to wait for 30 years. Eva Cassidy ,please come back.
  15. JacobD
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    What a fantastic album. There are no bad songs at all.
  16. AndyD
    Nov 9, 2005
    5
    I'm so sick of albums like this. Fine, yeah, its "beautiful," melodies are nice, so on and so forth, but it's so damn boring! Who actually listens to albums like this regularly? This year just seems dominated of these boring-as-hell, but oh-so-pretty albums, and I'm so sick of picking them up and being so utterly dissappointed. I encourage everyone that has this album to I'm so sick of albums like this. Fine, yeah, its "beautiful," melodies are nice, so on and so forth, but it's so damn boring! Who actually listens to albums like this regularly? This year just seems dominated of these boring-as-hell, but oh-so-pretty albums, and I'm so sick of picking them up and being so utterly dissappointed. I encourage everyone that has this album to try this little experiment: listen to the first bar of every track in order, one after another. It should be amazingly obvious what I'm pointing out after even just 3 tracks. By track 11, it is just ridiclous. Expand
  17. SeanT
    Dec 11, 2005
    8
    this is a very nice and warming album. the kind of album you get a nice comfy chair,a nice fire,a cat, and a glass of wine and just chill the hell out to.
  18. name
    Dec 16, 2005
    7
    The title to track 8 says it all: "Same But Different". It's still very good though.
  19. PlatypusQuest
    Oct 25, 2005
    9
    This is one extremely beautiful album. Vashti's voice is unbearably gorgeous and her compositions are minimal and evocative of a lost, tranquil place in a world outside our on. A vital release.
  20. JulianP
    Jan 31, 2007
    3
    Thin, thin, thin.
  21. DaveMcQ
    Nov 12, 2005
    5
    Andy D, Couldn' t be more with you, regarding this album or the state of rock and roll in general. Pretty is great, as long as it's also interesting...this album is only the former.
  22. JulianR
    Nov 13, 2005
    6
    The quality of this album is high, but it's just not all that interesting. There is a lighness of touch here that is quite beautiful but it all just washes over you, nothing really stands out. I can certainly understand all of the good reviews because I generally like this kind of stuff but I can't imagine listening to this too often unless I was trying to fall asleep.
  23. JM
    Nov 17, 2005
    9
    Yep, it's lovely AND interesting, the perfect soundtrack to this time of year.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. The New York Times
    80
    Pastoral doesn't quite describe it; this seems to come from some place more eco-protected than any in existence. [24 Oct 2005]
  2. That Vashti Bunyan had the courage to step out of seclusion and follow up her classic debut is admirable. That she was able to do so with an excellent batch of songs is a joy to behold, pure and simple.
  3. Lookaftering sees her trading the overly twee vibe of her debut for a darker, more mysterious and mature sound.