• Band Name: Usher
  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jun 12, 2012

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 11, 2012
    At its best, a truly next-level soul album. One that has the warm, organic feel of R&B and deep pop hooks, but also the pulsating low-end and shimmering keyboard flourishes of EDM.
  2. Jul 2, 2012
    This is still a record pushing the boundaries of what modern R&B music can be and still keep its audience. Usher sounds and looks good out on that cutting edge.
  3. Jun 15, 2012
    Looking 4 Myself isn't a classic, it's just not, but until I hear better, it's the best R&B album of the year.
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    Looking 4 Myself is bloated and self-conscious, but when it hits the spot it's a feast of detailed, brilliantly gleaming R&B.
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    Where the experimentation often succeeds, the editing fails.
  6. An Usher album that is good, but not great.
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    It's more pop than it is revolutionary, but within its 14 songs are a number of fantastic steps forward.
  8. 75
    He's always been popular, but now he sounds cool.
  9. 70
    The 14 tracks on Looking 4 Myself leave the listener enticed, mainly because there is no pattern to what the next song has to offer.
  10. Jun 15, 2012
    Without any quality control or stylistic cohesion, Usher stumbles into his best record since Confessions. If only this was better planned.
  11. Jun 14, 2012
    Far from the bold reinvention initially promised, its restless energy masks over most missteps.
  12. Jun 12, 2012
    The only thing that rings false on Usher's seventh LP is the title.
  13. Jun 11, 2012
    Compared to Usher's previous album, this is weighted more heavily toward dance-pop, much of which is functional and well made but unremarkable.
  14. Jun 11, 2012
    Ultimately, Looking 4 Myself reveals Usher as lost within the genre pick 'n' mix as he ever was; but inbetween its shortcomings, this seventh album sees him beaming proudly through a new and exciting sound.
  15. Jun 12, 2012
    Although few of these songs rank among his best, it's a pleasure to hear a great performer branch out, following whims and taking risks as he tests new ways to work his voice.
  16. Jun 21, 2012
    It's more about sound quality and songwriting than the calculated brand-building of his recent releases.
  17. Jun 18, 2012
    Unavoidably uneven but fresh.
  18. Jun 13, 2012
    The groupthink does drain some of the individuality and soul from the process.
  19. Jun 11, 2012
    For every hit... there are a couple of misses.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Jun 13, 2012
    Looking for Myself is a very good album.Not quite as revolutionary as usher said it would be but by far his best abulm since Confessions and a return to form. Looking for myself blends element of soul, pop and R&B to create a new sound.Looking for myself is the a solid abulm that reaffirms Usher's position as the king of R&B and is an essential buy for any Usher fan. Stand out tracks include the instant classic Climax, Show Me, Sins of a Father and Twisted Full Review »
  2. JRD
    Jun 13, 2012
    Looking for Myself is Usher's third greatest album after the classics 8701 and Confessions.It mixes elements of Soul,Pop,Dance and R&B music to form a new and impressive sound.Looking for Myself will Impress all his fans with club anthems such as Euphoria and Scream for his pop fans and classic R&B records like Climax,Sins of a Father,2nd Round Show me and so much more for fans of his R&B Jams.Looking for myself has no filler and is an essential buy for any fan of R&B music. Full Review »
  3. Jun 13, 2012
    Looking for Myself is Usher's best album since 2004's Confessions.Not as revolutionary as he said it would be but a very good album.Looking for myself is a good mix of Pop and R&B music that will impress most usher fans. Stand out tracks include lead single Climax,Twisted and Sins of a Father. Full Review »