• Band Name: Usher
  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jun 12, 2012
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 53
  2. Negative: 6 out of 53

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JRD
    Jun 13, 2012
    9
    Looking for Myself is Usher's third greatest album after the classics 8701 and Confessions.It mixes elements of Soul,Pop,Dance and R&B music to form a new and impressive sound.Looking for Myself will Impress all his fans with club anthems such as Euphoria and Scream for his pop fans and classic R&B records like Climax,Sins of a Father,2nd Round Show me and so much more for fans of his R&BLooking for Myself is Usher's third greatest album after the classics 8701 and Confessions.It mixes elements of Soul,Pop,Dance and R&B music to form a new and impressive sound.Looking for Myself will Impress all his fans with club anthems such as Euphoria and Scream for his pop fans and classic R&B records like Climax,Sins of a Father,2nd Round Show me and so much more for fans of his R&B Jams.Looking for myself has no filler and is an essential buy for any fan of R&B music. Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Looking for Myself is Usher's best album since 2004's Confessions.Not as revolutionary as he said it would be but a very good album.Looking for myself is a good mix of Pop and R&B music that will impress most usher fans. Stand out tracks include lead single Climax,Twisted and Sins of a Father.
  3. Jun 16, 2012
    9
    The album is long, the deluxe edition is even longer and there's a lot of different styles. Elements that could destroy a body of work, but it's not the case of Looking 4 Myself. In fact, the new album is surprisingly cohesive and well executed. That sense of passion, love and lost is all over it.

    Favorite: Climax, Euphoria, Lessons For The Lover, I Care 4 U, Sins Of My Father and I.F.U..
  4. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Looking for Myself is a great album. Usher's best since the classic Confessions. On looking for myself usher combines elements of pop,R&B and soul to create a new sound that will please both fans of his last project Raymond v Raymond with the songs Numb & Euphoria as well as fans of his classic albums 8701 and Confessions with tracks like Climax,Lemme see, Dive, Lessons for theLooking for Myself is a great album. Usher's best since the classic Confessions. On looking for myself usher combines elements of pop,R&B and soul to create a new sound that will please both fans of his last project Raymond v Raymond with the songs Numb & Euphoria as well as fans of his classic albums 8701 and Confessions with tracks like Climax,Lemme see, Dive, Lessons for the Lover,Sins of Father, I.F.U and more. Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    The idea of making a new genre ''revolutionary pop'' seemed to convince me it deserved that kind of name, the concept, the instrumentals of the album shows this primary advantage of how Usher's brilliant idea of mixing genres was worth it, he has tracks for every single audience; The retro-infused songs ''Show Me'', the 90s-esque RnB-infused dubstep track ''I Care 4 U'' and ''What HappenedThe idea of making a new genre ''revolutionary pop'' seemed to convince me it deserved that kind of name, the concept, the instrumentals of the album shows this primary advantage of how Usher's brilliant idea of mixing genres was worth it, he has tracks for every single audience; The retro-infused songs ''Show Me'', the 90s-esque RnB-infused dubstep track ''I Care 4 U'' and ''What Happened To U'' including the periodical-RnB deluxe track ''IFU''! The seemingly melodramatic electro song ''Euphoria'', which in this case it shows how the album changes the electropop scene that's been going on and on since the start of this decade, and Usher is the only artist at the moment that has done this! Nearly every song has the old RnB fragments yet mixed with the modern electro synths...great examples like Climax, Twisted, I Care 4 U, Can't Stop Won't Stop and Dive. As for Sins of My Father..that must be a future number 1, this just creates a sudden resurrection to neo-soul and this i album is still very underrated, it might be abstract but it is aesthetically interesting at this rate you can see how this album is different to today's same-old electro garbage! Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    this may be his lowest selling number 1 album to date but its by far his Best album since Confessions. This reminds me of Beyonce's 4, they both went more on a traditional R&B route and probably there best albums in they're entire career but they're lowest selling ones as well. the album is a very good R&B album.
  7. Jun 30, 2012
    9
    Usher is in the music scene since 1994, its evolution is remarkable. Looking 4 a success Myself A to Z, from music to lyrics, to the singles to the realization, in short, a perfect album. Usher in the songs that go past the radio as Scream, Climax and Leemee See. Little anecdotes: I listened to the album by Usher along with that of Jusitn Bieber, and I noticed that the student has notUsher is in the music scene since 1994, its evolution is remarkable. Looking 4 a success Myself A to Z, from music to lyrics, to the singles to the realization, in short, a perfect album. Usher in the songs that go past the radio as Scream, Climax and Leemee See. Little anecdotes: I listened to the album by Usher along with that of Jusitn Bieber, and I noticed that the student has not surpassed the master (check out the review I'm on Believe) . Expand
  8. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Looking for Myself is the best album released so far in 2012.Usher's best since his legendary Confessions. Looking for myself is an album that will satisfy both old and new usher fans both male and female.Looking for myself includes the classic climax, great R&B jams such as lemme see,What happened to you, Dive, Sins of Father, Twisted and more as well as club anthems Numb and Euphoria.
  9. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    The idea of making a new genre ''revolutionary pop'' seemed to convince me it deserved that kind of name, the concept, the instrumentals of the album shows this primary advantage of how Usher's brilliant idea of mixing genres was worth it, he has tracks for every single audience; The retro-infused songs ''Show Me'', the 90s-esque RnB-infused dubstep track ''I Care 4 U'' and ''What HappenedThe idea of making a new genre ''revolutionary pop'' seemed to convince me it deserved that kind of name, the concept, the instrumentals of the album shows this primary advantage of how Usher's brilliant idea of mixing genres was worth it, he has tracks for every single audience; The retro-infused songs ''Show Me'', the 90s-esque RnB-infused dubstep track ''I Care 4 U'' and ''What Happened To U'' including the periodical-RnB deluxe track ''IFU''! The seemingly melodramatic electro song ''Euphoria'', which in this case it shows how the album changes the electropop scene that's been going on and on since the start of this decade, and Usher is the only artist at the moment that has done this! Nearly every song has the old RnB fragments yet mixed with the modern electro synths...great examples like Climax, Twisted, I Care 4 U, Can't Stop Won't Stop and Dive. As for Sins of My Father..that must be a future number 1, this just creates a sudden resurrection to neo-soul and this i album is still very underrated, it might be abstract but it is aesthetically interesting at this rate you can see how this album is different to today's same-old electro garbage! Expand
  10. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    Climax is a colourful song. The tunes are gentle. Climax gets climatic towards the end. I enjoyed hearing this. That song touched my heart. It's inspiring.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jul 2, 2012
    80
    This is still a record pushing the boundaries of what modern R&B music can be and still keep its audience. Usher sounds and looks good out on that cutting edge.
  2. Jun 21, 2012
    60
    It's more about sound quality and songwriting than the calculated brand-building of his recent releases.
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    76
    Where the experimentation often succeeds, the editing fails.