• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Looking 4 Myself Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The seventh studio album for the R&B singer features songs produced and/or written by Diplo, Max Martin, the Neptunes, Rico Love, Salaam Remi, and Swedish House Mafia.
Buy On

Top Track

Climax
Going nowhere fast We've reached our climax We're together, now we're undone Won't commit so we choose to Run away Do we separate? Don't wanna give... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 11, 2012
    90
    At its best, a truly next-level soul album. One that has the warm, organic feel of R&B and deep pop hooks, but also the pulsating low-end and shimmering keyboard flourishes of EDM.
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    80
    Looking 4 Myself isn't a classic, it's just not, but until I hear better, it's the best R&B album of the year.
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    76
    Where the experimentation often succeeds, the editing fails.
  4. Jun 11, 2012
    70
    Ultimately, Looking 4 Myself reveals Usher as lost within the genre pick 'n' mix as he ever was; but inbetween its shortcomings, this seventh album sees him beaming proudly through a new and exciting sound.
  5. Jun 15, 2012
    70
    Without any quality control or stylistic cohesion, Usher stumbles into his best record since Confessions. If only this was better planned.
  6. Jun 12, 2012
    70
    The only thing that rings false on Usher's seventh LP is the title.
  7. Jun 11, 2012
    60
    For every hit... there are a couple of misses.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Looking for Myself is Usher's best album since 2004's Confessions.Not as revolutionary as he said it would be but a very good album.LookingLooking for Myself is Usher's best album since 2004's Confessions.Not as revolutionary as he said it would be but a very good album.Looking for myself is a good mix of Pop and R&B music that will impress most usher fans. Stand out tracks include lead single Climax,Twisted and Sins of a Father. Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Looking for Myself is the best album released so far in 2012.Usher's best since his legendary Confessions. Looking for myself is an albumLooking for Myself is the best album released so far in 2012.Usher's best since his legendary Confessions. Looking for myself is an album that will satisfy both old and new usher fans both male and female.Looking for myself includes the classic climax, great R&B jams such as lemme see,What happened to you, Dive, Sins of Father, Twisted and more as well as club anthems Numb and Euphoria. Expand
  3. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    The idea of making a new genre ''revolutionary pop'' seemed to convince me it deserved that kind of name, the concept, the instrumentals ofThe idea of making a new genre ''revolutionary pop'' seemed to convince me it deserved that kind of name, the concept, the instrumentals of the album shows this primary advantage of how Usher's brilliant idea of mixing genres was worth it, he has tracks for every single audience; The retro-infused songs ''Show Me'', the 90s-esque RnB-infused dubstep track ''I Care 4 U'' and ''What Happened To U'' including the periodical-RnB deluxe track ''IFU''! The seemingly melodramatic electro song ''Euphoria'', which in this case it shows how the album changes the electropop scene that's been going on and on since the start of this decade, and Usher is the only artist at the moment that has done this! Nearly every song has the old RnB fragments yet mixed with the modern electro synths...great examples like Climax, Twisted, I Care 4 U, Can't Stop Won't Stop and Dive. As for Sins of My Father..that must be a future number 1, this just creates a sudden resurrection to neo-soul and this i album is still very underrated, it might be abstract but it is aesthetically interesting at this rate you can see how this album is different to today's same-old electro garbage! Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    8
    In what is easily Usher
  5. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    Looking for Myself is a very good album.Not quite as revolutionary as usher said it would be but by far his best abulm since Confessions andLooking for Myself is a very good album.Not quite as revolutionary as usher said it would be but by far his best abulm since Confessions and a return to form. Looking for myself blends element of soul, pop and R&B to create a new sound.Looking for myself is the a solid abulm that reaffirms Usher's position as the king of R&B and is an essential buy for any Usher fan. Stand out tracks include the instant classic Climax, Show Me, Sins of a Father and Twisted Collapse
  6. Jan 1, 2016
    8
    Looking 4 Myself is an album with remarkable consistancy in quality, while having a good variety in styles. I enjoyed every song. I even dareLooking 4 Myself is an album with remarkable consistancy in quality, while having a good variety in styles. I enjoyed every song. I even dare to see that the less known songs of this album like "Sins of my father" and " what happened to you" are better than the songs that charted well such as "Scream". Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2012
    3
    I didn't enjoy this album at all. I wasn't big fan on it. Usher really let me down, but I give him credit for his songs "Scream" and "Climax"I didn't enjoy this album at all. I wasn't big fan on it. Usher really let me down, but I give him credit for his songs "Scream" and "Climax" they were enjoyable to a certain extent. The rest of the songs didn't met my standard though. My standard was very high, its not the best album he has created. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews