Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
Buy On
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    90
    Fear of Men speak with clarity (for all their lo-fi charm) through the idiom of twee and jangle pop.
  2. 90
    With Loom, Fear of Men have proven to be just as brilliantly complex as that natural wonder they so often invoke--deep, refreshing, mysterious, life-affirming.
  3. Apr 21, 2014
    90
    Fear of Men come all that much closer to the mastery of their uniquely conflicted perspective on pop music with Loom, offering a set of songs as effortlessly enjoyable as they are smart, as inspired as they are hopeless.
  4. Jun 6, 2014
    80
    Loom is an outstanding collection of sharp, smart pop-rock songs that also sweep over us in an involving way that can in the process wash away the feeling that I need to analyze or concretely pin down everything that’s going on.
  5. Q Magazine
    May 20, 2014
    80
    It's a graceful exhibition of light melody over dark mood. [Jun 2014, p.110]
  6. Apr 25, 2014
    80
    Though the pure, dripping niceness of the album can start to feel dusty after a while, the constant effect of washing prevents that.
  7. Apr 25, 2014
    80
    This is the rare offering of post-Smiths jangle that doesn't rely on pomp or posturing.
  8. Apr 22, 2014
    80
    Anyone who can get past the timid first impression will find plenty of fascinating layers and beautiful music to love on Loom.
  9. Apr 21, 2014
    80
    With Loom, Fear of Men have created something more than mere fragments; a record which could engulf you if you give it chance; where sounds and textures merge together to create a beautifully bleak story.
  10. 80
    Psychological trauma aside, there’s a warmth to Weiss’ soft, sighing vocals and Daniel Falvey’s rippling guitar textures that lifts Loom to the heavens.
  11. Apr 21, 2014
    80
    Loom seems to touch upon many periods within the extensive annals of indie pop, but Fear of Men put their own stamp with smart, modish pop tunes that intend to make sorrow, in the face of uncertainty, sound invigorating.
  12. 75
    Fear of Men have arrived with a storybook in hand, one detailing personal pain with vivid, gentle clarity that should elevate it above any accusations of coyness.
  13. Apr 25, 2014
    75
    There is no denying that Loom is a beautifully fragile album.
  14. Apr 22, 2014
    75
    Though Loom can occasionally feel familiar, lacking in grand ambitions, its still-confident songs are meticulously crafted and packed with moments of shimmering pop splendor.
  15. 75
    There’s a duality here, and it’s present throughout Fear of Men’s debut album, Loom.
  16. Apr 22, 2014
    68
    Fear of Men are likely never going to shred riotously, blow up their gear, or even raise their voices to anything resembling a scream--they simply aren’t that kind of band--but here’s hoping that all that well-considered vitriol in Weiss’ lyrics might eventually bleed over into their music.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    This is a new band for me. I love Jessica Weiss' deep lyrics and beautiful voice (reminds me a little of Delores O'Riordan, the CranberriesThis is a new band for me. I love Jessica Weiss' deep lyrics and beautiful voice (reminds me a little of Delores O'Riordan, the Cranberries singer). The music is melodious and low key, but it's very exciting nonetheless. I sense some gothic undercurrents on this one also - even on the album cover. Wish the lyrics were included. Great album and recommended! Full Review »