Loom Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: Jessica Weiss, Daniel Falvey, Michael Miles
  • Summary: The debut full-length studio release for the British indie pop trio of Jessica Weiss, Daniel Falvey (Guitar), and Michael Miles is a follow-up to its 2012 single compilation, "Early Fragments."
  • Record Label: Kanine Records
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Indie Pop, Dream Pop, Experimental Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    90
    Fear of Men speak with clarity (for all their lo-fi charm) through the idiom of twee and jangle pop.
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    90
    Fear of Men come all that much closer to the mastery of their uniquely conflicted perspective on pop music with Loom, offering a set of songs as effortlessly enjoyable as they are smart, as inspired as they are hopeless.
  3. Apr 21, 2014
    80
    Loom seems to touch upon many periods within the extensive annals of indie pop, but Fear of Men put their own stamp with smart, modish pop tunes that intend to make sorrow, in the face of uncertainty, sound invigorating.
  4. Apr 21, 2014
    80
    With Loom, Fear of Men have created something more than mere fragments; a record which could engulf you if you give it chance; where sounds and textures merge together to create a beautifully bleak story.
  5. May 20, 2014
    80
    It's a graceful exhibition of light melody over dark mood. [Jun 2014, p.110]
  6. Apr 25, 2014
    75
    There is no denying that Loom is a beautifully fragile album.
  7. Apr 22, 2014
    68
    Fear of Men are likely never going to shred riotously, blow up their gear, or even raise their voices to anything resembling a scream--they simply aren’t that kind of band--but here’s hoping that all that well-considered vitriol in Weiss’ lyrics might eventually bleed over into their music.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    This is a new band for me. I love Jessica Weiss' deep lyrics and beautiful voice (reminds me a little of Delores O'Riordan, the CranberriesThis is a new band for me. I love Jessica Weiss' deep lyrics and beautiful voice (reminds me a little of Delores O'Riordan, the Cranberries singer). The music is melodious and low key, but it's very exciting nonetheless. I sense some gothic undercurrents on this one also - even on the album cover. Wish the lyrics were included. Great album and recommended! Collapse

Related Articles

  1. The Freshman 15: 2014's Best Debut Albums

    The Freshman 15: 2014's Best Debut Albums Image
    Published: December 4, 2014
    We rank the year's best-reviewed debut albums, including releases from FKA twigs, Ex Hex, East India Youth, Arca, Ought, and more.