Lost And Found

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Apr 12, 2005
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 61
  2. Negative: 11 out of 61

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NickR
    May 3, 2005
    10
    this cd is the best one made by them and the best one i have ever heard beating out even "the war of art" and "The Height Of Callousness"
  2. OAKside
    Jun 12, 2006
    9
    Mudvayne's Lost and Found is currently in the Bottom 30 of Metacritic's All-time Worst metascores. I'm astonished, as this would easily be my pick for Mudvayne's best. Scream what you want, Lost and Found delivers serious metal that will hook you like nothing else.
  3. jeffs
    May 18, 2005
    10
    it was a very good cd
  4. caroleer
    May 1, 2005
    10
    amazing
  5. ezzer
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    i loved it fuck the critics!!!!!!!!
  6. jacksonb
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    To the anonymous, i started out listening to twisted sister and all the greatets and i will tell you right now that mudvayne is one of the greatest bands to play. If you would actually take the time and listen to what they are trying to get across, then you will find a new (light) in there music. They are everything but average my friend
  7. Metalman
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    I admit, I was unsure of what to expect out of this album, compared to their others. After reading most of the user comments, I suggest more people need to at least finish highschool, and learn to spell and write. Honestly, how can you take someone's review seriously when they have the vocabulary of a six year old? Deep lyrics? Do you even know what they mean? Death Metal has such a I admit, I was unsure of what to expect out of this album, compared to their others. After reading most of the user comments, I suggest more people need to at least finish highschool, and learn to spell and write. Honestly, how can you take someone's review seriously when they have the vocabulary of a six year old? Deep lyrics? Do you even know what they mean? Death Metal has such a small following anymore, it's not even worth calling a genre. This is simply pure METAL. You morons should try listening to music for it's complexity and range, not for it's tendency to make you want to head bang. The composure of this album supercedes the previous albums by a vast margin. Maybe if you pull your heads out of your @$$es and actually listen to the music, instead of comparing them to everything else, you'll realize there's more to metal than powerchords. But I suppose that would require a brain wouldn't it? Expand
  8. JonS
    Nov 17, 2005
    7
    The songs that are good on this album (which are about 5) are awesome songs! But the rest of the album I can't really say much about. It was worth the money, but don't put it on your top 10 "to buy" list.
  9. toms
    May 26, 2005
    10
    best album from mudmayen to date.
  10. CoreyP
    May 4, 2005
    8
    I really like the album. It's not quite as good as LD 50, but it doesn't deserve the reviews it's received by Billboard or Rolling Stone. Talk about magazines that are out of touch.
  11. TylerF
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    best cd from them to date! LD 50 was just as angry and I feel they've included some stuff from their earlier "Kill I Oughta" days. Again, the "big" critics don't have a feel for harder bands because they are too into the pop stuff. This is a true Mudvayne album!!!
  12. alexc
    Jul 5, 2005
    9
    mudvayne is one of the most respected bands in the death metal world this CD is as great as any theyve made i think theyre the sh*% and i bet my life on it that the critic reviews for this band sell this band short because of their own personal opinion towards this genre and their lack of understanding towards the qualties in a death metal band that make a band in this style great i bid u mudvayne is one of the most respected bands in the death metal world this CD is as great as any theyve made i think theyre the sh*% and i bet my life on it that the critic reviews for this band sell this band short because of their own personal opinion towards this genre and their lack of understanding towards the qualties in a death metal band that make a band in this style great i bid u good day. Expand
  13. johnb
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    this was one of mudvaynes worse, but it is still muydvayne
  14. skudl
    Oct 14, 2006
    10
    i agree totally with metalman, mduvayne are one of the most original, under-rated, talented bands of all time so much thought must go into what they do, its so heavy yet so beautiful at the same time which is a very hard thing to aomplish in a metal album and yes this is METAL album and one of the best ive personally ever heard its is on the same level as l.d50 the begginings of all i agree totally with metalman, mduvayne are one of the most original, under-rated, talented bands of all time so much thought must go into what they do, its so heavy yet so beautiful at the same time which is a very hard thing to aomplish in a metal album and yes this is METAL album and one of the best ive personally ever heard its is on the same level as l.d50 the begginings of all things to end and the end of all thigns to come and they have recently started writing there new album i cant wait for anyone who doesnt go nuts your a bitch! MUDVAYNE OWN YOU ALL Expand
  15. RageMcTurpentine
    May 21, 2006
    10
    This is one of those albums where every song makes you wanna rock out. IMO the best thing Mudvayne could have done was to release a hard rock album.
  16. JamesM
    May 23, 2006
    10
    Simply and utterly awesome, shows that "nu metal" has more soul and power than many precieve it to have. I like this album so much I'm having a mudvayne tattoo. Melodic but not sell-out and that speaks volumes in a time when Linkin Park clones are ten-a-penny. Heavy and melodic...need I say more? (Slipknot and Mudvayne rule!)
  17. Kas
    Jul 26, 2006
    9
    This is the first Mudvayne album I've aqquired and frankly I think its one of the best I've gotten recently. I really enjoyed every track on the album but "Happy?" is by far the best song on the album, if not one of the best songs released this year. Dont listen to these geeks downing the album, listen to it for yourself before making a decision on this one, IMO this album is This is the first Mudvayne album I've aqquired and frankly I think its one of the best I've gotten recently. I really enjoyed every track on the album but "Happy?" is by far the best song on the album, if not one of the best songs released this year. Dont listen to these geeks downing the album, listen to it for yourself before making a decision on this one, IMO this album is great and offers the promise of more great albums to come. Expand
  18. AndrewD.
    Oct 18, 2007
    7
    Not the best Mudvayne album, but to say this album deserves a 46 is a travesty. There are far worse things in existence. As an album i'd say this is an alright Nu-Metal album that has it's moments. Not on the level of their first 2 albums but still good enough to listen to and pick up from the "Sale" bin.
  19. kims
    Feb 10, 2007
    9
    although mudvayne isn't real metal like pantera and iron maiden, etc, they are still extremely talented. they manage to blend their screaming with actual melody, which many bands are not able to do competently. the reason this album received such poor reviews is because the majority of music critics do not appreciate good music. they believe that any screamo/ death metal bands have although mudvayne isn't real metal like pantera and iron maiden, etc, they are still extremely talented. they manage to blend their screaming with actual melody, which many bands are not able to do competently. the reason this album received such poor reviews is because the majority of music critics do not appreciate good music. they believe that any screamo/ death metal bands have pointless lyrics and that only suicidal/depressed/pissed-off-at-the-world-in-general teenagers listen to them. although i am a teen, i am neither suicidal nor am i depressed and even though i may get pissed off at certain people, i am not pissed off at the entire world. unlike the critics, i appreciate good music and i know a good rock album when it comes along. this album gets a 9 from me because i believe it rocks, but also because i believe that mudvayne is so talented that the next album they release will blow this one away. ROCK ON!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  20. robh
    Feb 15, 2007
    9
    I really liked this album, as kim s said, you don't have to be angry with the whole world to listen to them. In fact this period of my life has been the happiest ever and i have just started listening to mudvayne, and lost and found stuck out as their best yet. Choices lends a lesson to all and fall into sleep and happy?, not to mention forget to remember are all gems, as are all the I really liked this album, as kim s said, you don't have to be angry with the whole world to listen to them. In fact this period of my life has been the happiest ever and i have just started listening to mudvayne, and lost and found stuck out as their best yet. Choices lends a lesson to all and fall into sleep and happy?, not to mention forget to remember are all gems, as are all the other tracks, with perhaps the exception of, actually they're all amazing. Expand
  21. mudfan
    May 6, 2007
    10
    I would say this band is not really metal (its metal-ish), but they get away with it by their screaming/singing combination. Brilliant!
  22. EricL.
    Feb 23, 2008
    9
    MAN it drives me crazy when critics write Mudvayne off! Their last two albums have been clever and experimental in ways it seems (to me) hard to notice - are critics even listening to this stuff before they rate it? This group is a lot smarter than people give them credit for; just listen to the clash between all instruments. The guitar, bass, and drums each go their own way and come MAN it drives me crazy when critics write Mudvayne off! Their last two albums have been clever and experimental in ways it seems (to me) hard to notice - are critics even listening to this stuff before they rate it? This group is a lot smarter than people give them credit for; just listen to the clash between all instruments. The guitar, bass, and drums each go their own way and come together for the grooviest of grooves. And obviously the fans on this website gave it a 7.9/10, so what gives? What bias to critic associations have? Expand
  23. PatrikD.
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    this album rocks, the score on here says nothing a metalhead does know when an album is good a this is brilliant, these guys sure can play not like the most of the artist on first position here 100%
  24. mattv
    Jan 14, 2006
    9
    I think this is a work of genius, an album that grows more and more into a leviathonic masterpiece of pure greatness. Er, I like it.
  25. Gregorio
    Dec 24, 2006
    8
    This is one of those bands that really evolve over their albums, yet still stay true to their core. Mudvayne sounds like mudvayne no matter their album. It's not nu-metal because these guys don't use turn tables, it's not TRUE metal like pantera either, no - MuDvAyNe deserves their own genre... pure bad assness. They are very original! Lost and Found is so far the cleanest This is one of those bands that really evolve over their albums, yet still stay true to their core. Mudvayne sounds like mudvayne no matter their album. It's not nu-metal because these guys don't use turn tables, it's not TRUE metal like pantera either, no - MuDvAyNe deserves their own genre... pure bad assness. They are very original! Lost and Found is so far the cleanest sounding album to date for them, yet they still manage to add some of their screaming and hardcore riffs with tasteful style. Fall into sleep is my favorite track on this cd. Quite different from songs like severed and cultivate which are as good in their own ways, yet so different. I love these guys. Can't wait for the new cd. PS. Critics gave them low reviews because they don't have any other bands to compare them to. Lyrically and talent wise these guys are on par with everything else out there, now how they compose the vocals and music to mesh together so well is beyong amazing, and is the main reason they stand out. It's not all thrown together like most of slipknot sounds like, these guys got rhythm. (sorry slipknot fans..) Expand
  26. Mislav
    Nov 8, 2007
    8
    Really well-done song. The bridge from Rain. Sun. Gone. to Choices combination is excellent. They're too technically proficient to write off as average.
  27. Luke
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    This album stood out to me as being very good! I was very suprised to see such a low rating from the critics.
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Ultimately Mudvayne gets lost between thrash and diluted Slipknot devotion.
  2. The album is, while not terrible, not very memorable, either.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Weaving crystallized melodies into their signature rage clusters, the metalheads dip a toe in clearer waters without losing any of the grime. [29 Apr 2005, p.147]