Lost And Found

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 56
  2. Negative: 10 out of 56

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    The album Lost And Found by Will Smith is real nice. Especially the songs "Party Starter" and "Switch" are cool. Overall it's pretty varied and promises hours of full music enjoyment.
  2. LukeC
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    Not usually a Will Smith fan but gave it a try and its a fantastic album, Will is saying something new with great beats to match.
  3. JohnJ
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    One of Will Smith's greatest efforts. a fun album, a lot more "adult" than last efforts, but truly a great album. Best album of 2005 so far. Dont listen to the critics.This album is highly underrated. MUST LISTEN to "Mr.Niceguy", "I Wish i Made That/Swagga" and "Pump Ya Brakes".
  4. RayN
    May 7, 2005
    10
    hello
  5. MekevaliY
    Oct 3, 2005
    10
    The best
  6. SteveS
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    I have enjoyed Will's past albums. However, they don't have the heart and edge this album has. You can hear his feelings come through with each song. Will, I like the edge attitude, your best work yet.
  7. YazMin
    May 17, 2005
    9
    Just plain good hip hop: slick rhymes, good stories, nice beats. What real hip hop is about. The songs are a combination of angry/funny, favorites: Mr. Niceguy, I wish I made that, lost and found, here he come, pump ya breaks.
  8. [Anonymous]
    May 1, 2005
    10
    THis is it! The track "Lost and Found" says it all. Why should all rap have to sound alike. Why should we have more gangsta wannabe's? Smith is fresh, his beats are real. More importantly, his rhyms are real and intelligent. They make you smile, or think, or cry. Yes, this is it!
  9. JGibson
    Jun 10, 2005
    8
    I've hated Will in the past, but this album is really good. I listen to it alot, an im a Dead Prez Fan.
  10. LG
    Aug 17, 2005
    8
    Will Smith is mos def diff from the other rappers. He said it best, 90% of today rappers have the same bs in their videos.
  11. jaysizzle
    Sep 9, 2005
    10
    Will Smith once again shows that he can flow, is more talented then any of the wannbe be rappers today with their cookie cutter sell out crap. Will Smith is easily one of the most talented artist out there, that surely cannot be said about 99.9% of todays offerings in the hip hop world. Thankfully Will is still around.
  12. AndriaM
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    i luv this album mostly tell me why
  13. SeanM
    Aug 1, 2006
    10
    An excellent album, both passionate and playful. Brilliant.
  14. seaneeem
    Aug 1, 2006
    10
    fantastic
  15. MusicLover
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    People underrate Will Smith enormously, but the first hip-hop album I ever heard was Big Willie Style & since then, I've been hooked to hip-hop. This album is just as awesome as Big Willie Style was (and still is). He's got range in subject matter, flow, beats. He comes at every song differently. This album kept me on my toes beginning to end.
  16. GeraldF
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    Album is the best. The sounds are so good, and finally something different. This is real!
  17. Zach
    Apr 12, 2005
    8
    Good album, with good beats and some good lyrics. Ok so he isn't gangsta, who cares its a good album, different from everyone claiming their gangsta's. Whether you like the guy or not he is talented and has been around for years, more than i can say for some rappers who leave the rap game before they even started.
  18. Renny
    Apr 13, 2005
    7
    Will Smith is not 50 cent, or Fat Joe or even Eminem. But that is a good thing. He is contributing to the artfrom in a positive way and he's pretty nice with his especially on "lost and found". He's simply not getting a chance cause we too wrapped up in the meanface thug rappers. I'm into Talib Kweli and Mos and them kats, but i bought Will's album because he said "i Will Smith is not 50 cent, or Fat Joe or even Eminem. But that is a good thing. He is contributing to the artfrom in a positive way and he's pretty nice with his especially on "lost and found". He's simply not getting a chance cause we too wrapped up in the meanface thug rappers. I'm into Talib Kweli and Mos and them kats, but i bought Will's album because he said "i got something you need to hear" and that's real. I never bought a Will Smith album but i think he needs to be respected for this one. (a few songs are corny but i forgive him) GIVE SOME DIFFERENT HIP-HOP A CHANCE! Expand
  19. eddiec
    Apr 16, 2005
    9
    He finally had enough and went all out. His beats are original and his lyrics are with out a dout HOT!
  20. Sonny
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    In this album Will Smith gives Hip Hop (or as he says it Hip Street) CPR. "Will Smith is soft case he doesn't use profanity" people say. Have you tried writing a song or even a verse with OUT a profane word? How about ALBUMSSSSSSS! But yeah sure his soft. How about Lyrics that actually entices your brain? Or even a song that is not about some other guy
  21. charliem
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    best ever !
  22. MattC
    Apr 6, 2005
    9
    Hearing of Will Smith making a comeback in music, and from what I'd heard prior to actually listening to the album was that he was "back, and trying to take on the big boys". This worried me to what this outing would be like; and in actual fact, I liked the album so much, I went out and bought it. Will Smith doesn't have that 'bad boy' image that is on show from most Hearing of Will Smith making a comeback in music, and from what I'd heard prior to actually listening to the album was that he was "back, and trying to take on the big boys". This worried me to what this outing would be like; and in actual fact, I liked the album so much, I went out and bought it. Will Smith doesn't have that 'bad boy' image that is on show from most artists in that genre, and so when you do give the album a listen, and like it - you'll no doubt have the impression in your mind that the album shouldn't be liked - because "its not right". But, it is. Its a brilliant album, and one I'd recommend to anyone - regardless of the funny looks and laughs I'd receive. People may be too shallow to admit that its good, because it might not be 'cool' or down with the kids - but I like this album, and its money well spent. Expand
  23. LarryW
    May 24, 2005
    10
    Lost and Found = Grand Slam for Big Willie Like someone else has said Gangsta Rap killed Hip Hop, Big Willie brought it back to life. A picture in the CD Insert has Will wearing a sweatshirt that says "Lost and Found I am Hip Hop" That is the truth, Will is Hip Hop. No one can touch him in this game. Gangsta Rap is just a medium for a bunch of pissed off, no talent thugs. In a landscape Lost and Found = Grand Slam for Big Willie Like someone else has said Gangsta Rap killed Hip Hop, Big Willie brought it back to life. A picture in the CD Insert has Will wearing a sweatshirt that says "Lost and Found I am Hip Hop" That is the truth, Will is Hip Hop. No one can touch him in this game. Gangsta Rap is just a medium for a bunch of pissed off, no talent thugs. In a landscape where everything looks the same "truck wit rims (check) throw back jersey (check), champagne bottles (check) lot's of models (check) Damn thats the list for 90% of ya'll videos and songs" That hits is straight on the head. Everything is the same, there is nothing original anymore. These gangsta rap fans will call pop crap because of cookie cutter groups like backstreet boys and 'NSYNC but gangsta rap is the same old cookie cutter with a different shape. THank you Will for having the strength to be original instead of chasing after a pay check. Who says some one has to have "street cred" to sell an album, stree cred is code for a person deserving to be in jail. Who cares if a 50+ year old listens to it, that is the mark of a great album and artist if it is something that can transcend age and time. Will rhymes are timeless, and he made hip hop what it was, and I hope he takes us back to the good ol days. Expand
  24. Tracy-annS
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    I thought the album was excellent! I am so sick of the cursing and the derogatory remarks about women and other subjects. RAP is Rhythm AND POETRY isn't it? Even a comedian makes you laugh while they're talking about serious issues. Will Smith clarifies his perspective, speaks his mind on everything from the way he has been treated by his colleagues, to religion, and politics. I thought the album was excellent! I am so sick of the cursing and the derogatory remarks about women and other subjects. RAP is Rhythm AND POETRY isn't it? Even a comedian makes you laugh while they're talking about serious issues. Will Smith clarifies his perspective, speaks his mind on everything from the way he has been treated by his colleagues, to religion, and politics. We even get some lessons on how to conduct ourselves at a club, and what it is to have some fun, without embarrasing yourself. Thank You Will Smith for a message inside the good time! Expand
  25. AlbertoV
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    yo the album is DOPE!!! yo, lost and found is good, is something different, today rappers only tak 'bout girls,drugs and sex. "They just all mad cause they in the coat section of the hate train & they can't get off"
  26. allanb
    Aug 12, 2006
    10
    This is a great album. It is really starting to make me mad how people have been criticising Will. Who are they to criticise.
  27. JonnyL
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    Will smith album is pure quality his best music yet!!!!
  28. TawnyL
    Apr 12, 2005
    10
    Great Album..Will put his best foot forward on this one!
  29. J-Diddy
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    This is worthy attempt by the fresh prince to make his return to the hip-hop/rap field. He brings this old style that has been long forgotten by the swear words and slander of modern rappers who are so lyrically furious that they can't have a good time themselves... Get 'em Big Willie Style!
  30. JeremyR
    May 18, 2005
    10
    Great his heart came out he said what he felt no stories no gimmicks not trying to get fans speakin his mind like rap should be. anyone who does not like this cool you just jealous cause he is not sellin out like eminem and all the others atleast he sings with his heart and not the hate of others.
  31. JonathanC
    Jul 27, 2005
    9
    Will smith pushes the envelope? Yes he actually does with this album. No, he isn't seeing how graphicaly you can describe sodomizing your mother and still get people to buy your record. No, he isn't attempting a MC Hammer gansta makeover. nice break from eminem, jay-z, evenescence, and linkin park, without losing the reality and honestHe is pushing the envelope by attempting to Will smith pushes the envelope? Yes he actually does with this album. No, he isn't seeing how graphicaly you can describe sodomizing your mother and still get people to buy your record. No, he isn't attempting a MC Hammer gansta makeover. nice break from eminem, jay-z, evenescence, and linkin park, without losing the reality and honestHe is pushing the envelope by attempting to get people to buy a rap record that is autobiographical but not obscene. Sure there is still a little of his lighthearted club persona on the album. But songs like mr. niceguy and holyroller show a new depth in his writting. I love this album. It offers a y that those artists offer. As a parent i especially found "Tell me why" a touching song. I don't know if this is material that will sell lots of records but it made this aging rap fan very happy. I didn't give the album a 10 for one reason. The raps are great the music and samples they are set over in some of the songs are a little simple. This isn't true throughout but songs like "tell me why" and "holyroller" could be much better with some more attention to the music. Expand
  32. DanielaR
    May 18, 2006
    10
    Its been the best so far. i love will smith and his music. he betta keep it up he rocks!
  33. KiaraS
    May 18, 2006
    10
    will smith is lovely. just thought id share....... his album is very good
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. His decision to stray from his usual blend of impish party tunes and extended jingles for the latest summer blockbuster constitutes one of the most ill-advised career moves since MC Hammer went gangsta.
  2. Sure, sanitary party jams like "Switch" will get the PTA meeting rocking, but there's just no getting around Smith's insipid rhymes.
  3. Somewhat entertaining.