Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Lost Highway recalls nothing so much as a latter-day Bon Jovi record in how it balances fist-pumping arena anthems with heavy doses of sentiment.
  2. Lost Highway isn't "Bon Jovi goes country" so much as a meaningful tribute to the Nashville ethos done on their own terms.
  3. This is an exciting new chapter for Bon Jovi. [23 Jun 2007]
  4. 60
    Luckily, Bon Jovi's country-music move yields just... one irritant. [Jul 2007, p.113]
  5. The band does little more than take the easiest trappings of country and plug them in.
  6. Bon Jovi are at their best when delivering the country-tinged ballads.
  7. A slightly above-average Bon Jovi disc. [22 Jun 2007, p.69]
  8. You can slag them off all you like but it’s impossible to truly dislike their catchy, inoffensive pop-rock.
  9. Overall, as safe as Highway might be, there's no way long-time fans won't buy it.
  10. Lost Highway moves in on Nashville as shrewdly as "It's My Life" skimmed Stockholm seven years ago. [28 Jun 2007, p.71]
  11. Devoid of any country heart, country soul, or country swing, if Bon Jovi had started out a country band and decided to play mainstream rock, this is what it would sound like.
  12. [It] yield[s] unsurprising but reasonably strong results. [18 Jun 2007]
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. JeffL
    Jun 28, 2007
    3
    At Least Bon Jovi is smart enough to market their music towards people with really low standards. But who am I to argue, the album's #1. Doesn
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    the last great bon jovi album, for not to say more of the count, the last great album, after of this album,is disaster,a great disaster, thethe last great bon jovi album, for not to say more of the count, the last great album, after of this album,is disaster,a great disaster, the 3rd. best Bon Jovi album Full Review »
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    7
    Lost Highway is a nice country album, I love it. With Lost Highway, Bon Jovi proves the fact that they don't have to be loud to be good. TheirLost Highway is a nice country album, I love it. With Lost Highway, Bon Jovi proves the fact that they don't have to be loud to be good. Their lyrics are, as usual, awesome. (You Want To) Make a Memory is, for a single, dissapointing, but the rest of the album is pretty cool. The title track is quite cool. We Got It Going On and I Love This Town are the best songs of the album. Their awesome solos are "fading away" but they still make awesome music. Great album. Greater band. Full Review »