• Record Label: Superego
  • Release Date: Aug 27, 2002
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 3 out of 31

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JimT.
    Sep 2, 2002
    10
    Ignore the Rolling Stone review! This is a gorgeous CD...period! Aimee Mann deserves a lot more recognition, and a lot more radio time!
  2. MrBobertz
    Aug 5, 2003
    10
    How can I sum this up? Incredible? Hardly does it justice, does it. Not that it is perfect, it does have its flaws. Many songs do sound similar, but can you ever have too much of a good thing? But then, they aren't THAT similar. If I could, I'd give it a 9.5. But I can't, so I gave it a 10.
  3. MichelleS.
    Dec 30, 2004
    10
    Aimee Mann is one of the best artists around--the timbre of her voice is beautiful and unmistakable, her melodies are amazing, and her words cut you to the core. Although I listen to his album all the time, I've found that it's absolutely perfect for a rainy day.
  4. SteveW.
    Aug 22, 2002
    10
    Sensually-textured sounds create a moody ambiance that alternatively soars and dips low over a river in turmoil seeking its prey.
  5. RobertS.
    Sep 10, 2002
    10
    Fantastic in its songwriting, wonderful in its musical direction, and with that beyond beautiful voice, should be rated # 1 everywhere.
  6. JButler
    Sep 2, 2002
    10
    the theme of dissecting the past lamentations of surburbia, after the fifities is being ignored as a subtext in this CD. The illustrations which come with the CD are worth the price alone...as usual the songs are genius.
  7. levvy
    Jul 8, 2005
    8
    Good album but it's no Bachelor No. 2.
  8. SamG.
    Aug 22, 2002
    10
    I've been a Mann fan since her earliest "Til Tuesday releases. This is easily her most cohesive, arresting work.
  9. MatthewS.
    Aug 29, 2002
    10
    this disc is rich in Mann's unique storytelling. The delivery is subdued with regret and wisdom gleaned from experience. Mann's melodies and stories hook the listener from beginning to end.
  10. francines
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    I think this cd is beautiful. With thought provoking lyrics and meleodies that melt your soul. The combination is just amazing.
  11. SamD
    Oct 2, 2005
    9
    i guess im kinda biased since 'it's not' perfectly describes my life but other than that its all good other than 'this is how it goes'
  12. ElizabethD
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    I think this album is probably the best album I've ever heard. Aimee Mann is my favorite singer/songwriter for a reason, and that is that she is able to write beautiful, thought-provoking songs, with great lyrics and a melodic line. In my opinion she is a true musical genius.
  13. AustinA
    Apr 22, 2005
    10
    Best work yet. With depressing lyrics and eerily beautiful songs, this will fill the deep void within your heart.
  14. JamesL
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    Well worth the wait.
  15. RosarioH.
    Aug 22, 2002
    10
    Excellent!!!
  16. JohnC.
    Sep 14, 2002
    10
    Fantastic! I am a long time fan, and I am amazed how much she changes from cd to cd. Lost In Space is rich, warm, and deep. It is some of her best work.
  17. JillW.
    Sep 21, 2002
    10
    Just amazing!!!
  18. AllanF
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    This is honestly one of the only albums I'd ever rent a 10. The emotion she puts into this album is amazing. It's a dark, sad and bleak look into depression and addiction, but during the whole way you feel like she's right there next to you, and making something beautiful out of it.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Uncut
    80
    Textured and complex. [Oct 2002, p.108]
  2. Mojo
    70
    Michael Lockwood's production occasionally affects a sound akin to a Vonda Sheppard reared on black dreams and Russian literature. [Oct 2002, p.98]
  3. Q Magazine
    80
    [Mann has] returned to writing songs which are wry, funny, adult and perceptive, all wrapped up in handsome melodies. [Oct 2002, p.112]