Lotus - Christina Aguilera
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 239 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 239

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    4
    No! It's not that good! Christina needs to go back to Bionic! Christina can do so much better than this. And so can the people she features in the album.
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    7
    Lotus is a great divide in the career of Christina, unlike previous albums he has no set theme, sounds just like it was another album released, however the album opens with an interesting intro, despite being just a intro, ''Lotus Intro'' is one of the best songs on the album, the highlights are also ''Blank Page'', ''Army of Me'', ''Best of Me'' and ''Just A Fool'', the rest is not very surprising, Lotus sounds like something slacker who had no proper job, after all Aguilera can still develop a good job. Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    Christina is one of the best singers ever without any doubt. Her voice is simply stunning and she is so versatile. So this can be not her best album, that's for sure, but she is amazing
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    álbum muito bom, com uma gentileza incomparável e uma beleza exuberante, Christina Aguilera mostra todo seu potencial com agudos e batidas que podem não agradar muito a critica, mas vão fazer todos ficarem loucos por essa obra prima da RCA.
  5. Sep 6, 2013
    6
    It's a good album, just not her best. It's definitely not like i taught it will be, when i heard "Blank Page" wich is the first song i heard from the album. I taught it will be so emotional just like "Stripped" while it's full of rowdy dance-pop songs. It's one of her first electro-pop album and it's amazing but i've seen better.
    Album's Highlights: "Blank Page", "Your Body", "Let There
    Be Love", "Army of Me" and Just a Fool"
    Album's Bad songs: "Circles", "Cease Fire" and "All Around the World".
    Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    During one of her interviews Christina said, that "Lotus" is "fun, exciting, introspective, it's going to be great". Yes, it's definitely Christina's poppiest album since her debut in 1999. Tracks like "Your Body", "Red Hot Kinda Love", "Let There Be Love" and "Around The World" are the perfect club bangers. There are also some personal, beautiful ballads like "Sing For Me", "Blank Page" and "Best Of Me". But "Lotus" is not only pop and R&B album. There's a country heart-breaking ballad "Just A Fool" featuring Blake Shelton, alternative "middle-finger to haters" song "Circles" and (finally) ragga/electronica/R&B/dubstep multigenre masterpiece "Cease Fire". There's a few misfires including chaotic "Make The World Move" and excessively vulgar "Shut Up". Besides that "Lotus" is another solid album in Christina's career.

    8 out of 10
    Expand
  7. Sep 12, 2013
    1
    This type of stuff is beneath Christina's wonderful talent and vocals. It all sounds so boring and dull. She has it in her to make stuff ten times better.
  8. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    this is one of the best album Christina Aguilera has made since 2006's back to Basics. She has changed her evolution to keep up with all these other auto tuned artists but her vocals stand out from each track.
  9. Nov 4, 2013
    7
    Lotus is honestly a good record. It's not very commercial but it's a big improvement after the disastrous Bionic. Standout tracks include: let there be love, empty words, lotus and blank page. If some songs were cut it would be more cohesive but overall it's a good work.
  10. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    Lotus is the album Christina wanted to create but failed in Bionic. Stand out tracks include: Army of Me, Blank Page, Make the World Move and Empty Words
  11. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    I think the best way to start this review is to say that I personally enjoyed Christina's 2010 release 'Bionic', despite the fact it's critical and chart receptions were so-so to not good at all. I thought the Sia ballads were flawless, and the departure from Christina's norm was a nice change in my opinion. That being said, that was then and this is now... And here on 'Lotus', Aguilera re-emerges... A much stronger force than before.

    'Lotus' isn't the pop masterpiece I hoped for... But on top 40 standards, Christina certainly delivered. There's powerhouse radio cuts like 'Let There Be Love' and 'Just a Fool', and flawless soulful takes like 'Make the World Move' and 'Sing for Me'. There's also a lot of playful cuts like 'Cease Fire' and 'Circles'. Plus, perhaps the strongest moment on 'Lotus', Sia returns on 'Blank Page'. All of these cuts remind us what a powerhouse of a vocalist Christina Aguilera really is, and her iconic status as one of the best voices of this generation. What stops this record from being a masterpiece though is it's lack of flow. Unlike Christina's mammoth releases 'Stripped' and 'Back to Basics', this album still feels Inconcise and a little all over the place sonically. That being said it's a decent step in the right direction!
    Expand
  12. Nov 13, 2012
    5
    In the academe of pop music, Christina Aguilera can be considered as the wayward, too-cool-for-school kind. Aguilera would release an album, disappear for several years and comeback with an album completely different from its predecessor which can consequently either make a bold statement or end up washed in the mix. For the most part, each transition marked a certain timeline in her career. She opposed everything that was cute & formulaic with pop music back in 2002 when she released the iconic Stripped. And fast forward to 2006 when r&b and hip hop were at their prime, she decided to release a throwback album to everything 60s,70s and 80's with a Marilyn Monroe and Shirley Temple look to match. Back To Basics was a critical success and was a moderate hit compared to Stripped. Then as anyone could have predicted, she again took a hiatus before releasing a career celebrating Keeps Getting Better: A Decade of Hits and it was actually more like a questionable move for her, knowing the fact that she only has 3 albums under her belt. And at that time where pop listeners in general are more fickle than ever, many careers alighted and dimmed during her breaks and the vast landscape of pop is not as forgiving as it was before. Hence the Bionic affair happened. Bionic's high profile underperformance earned its right having a pop cult following, so infamous it can proudly join the ranks of Madonna's American Life and Mariah Carey's Glitter. Though the album finds her in her most experimental and adventurous, most part of the album seemed more like Aguilera playing catch up with the new pop queens. Thus, Lotus finds its place as an alarm for a resurgence. In comparison to her previous allbums, Lotus is her shortest and most pop-leaning record since her debut. Lyrically, it's her most impresive since Stripped, and her vocal technique is miles better than her prime in Back to Basics. And though it is not as genre bending and experimental as Bionic, it is definitely more cohesive and arguably wouldn't sound as dated as the former several years from now. For whatever its real purpose is, Lotus is her safest sounding record and it is exactly what she needs at this point of her career.

    Just like any Aguilera record, Lotus started with a dramatic intro hence I should say that this one takes the cake as the best album opener she ever did. She start things off in high speed with the anthemic Army of Me, which sounds like something Katy Perry would die to record if only Perry had the vocal chops to deliver. The first half of Lotus will give you no room to breathe. With the 1-2 punch of Red Hot Kinda Love and the future funk of Make the World Move, to the radio & club friendly bangers Your Body & Let There Be Love, Aguilera is wasting no time to showcase why she's highly regarded as The Voice of this generation, and that no one can beat her in her own pop game that many thought she abandoned earlier in her career. The middlepiece finds the soft spot of the album. Sing for Me finds her singing her heart out with lines that couldv'e been taken directly out of a Whitney song and ironically sounding like the late Whitney Houston for the most part. Blank Page is her bid to capture an Adele moment with this album and let's admit it, no one sings ballad better than Christina, not even Adele herself. Tracks like Cease Fire & Around The World ultimately proves that Aguilera is not just a singer and that she also has a penchant for details and production to complement her vocals and these Alex Da Kid produced tracks are no fillers. Whether it's the warfare of Cease Fire or the almost marching band sound of Around The World, that Aguilera swag is showing no sign of slowing down. The highlight of the album is surprisingly the genre crossing duet with country superstar Blake Shelton "Just A Fool" which is screaming to be released as a single, and has "Major Hit" written all over it. Deluxe tracks like Light Up The Sky and Empty Words are nice addition to the set. With all these being said, Lotus couldn't be more than an affirmation that Christina Aguilera is indeed a pop star after all. Streamlining her image after all the career troubles that she had in the past. It's the record that is supposed to put her safely and surely back in the map and re-introduce her to the new generation of pop listeners. She might not have the drive, the vision or the passion she once had, Lotus ultimately proves that like the flower itself, Aguilera is unbreakable and will rise after every storm and bloom ever as beautiful.
    Expand
  13. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    The only problem with X is that her music shifts to different fan groups. "Christina Aguilera" was for Teen-Pop fans. Stripped was for RnB fans. Back To Basics was soul and Bionic was Electronic fans. So that leaves lotus. This is for pure pop fans. The lyrics are undeniably well thought out. Auto-tune is used for effect, not for vocal help (we only hear auto-tune on "Lotus Intro". No where else!). The reason why reviews were so bad is probably towards "self-help" lyrics. But this is what it's about. She stated it was a Fighter-esque record. Now why do you guys act so surprised?
    Highlights:
    Army of Me
    Light Up the Sky
    Just a Fool
    Red Hot Kinda Love

    Lows:
    Circles
    Empty Words
    Expand
  14. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Ms. Aguilera has certainly been through a lot lately and her music reflects that greatly. Being known as a pop villain certainly hasn't gained her any fans in music or in the general public, but she knows that and she accepts the role. Still, Christina has a soft side that she only feels safe showing inside of the studio where she feels she can be free to be herself without outside judgement. In "Light Up The Sky," one of the best bonus tracks you will ever hear, Ms. Aguilera blasts her gorgeous vocals over a piano as she sings about how there is a chance to overcome any sort of adversity that holds one down. Some may find the message of peace and harmony a little overused, but coming from Christina it feels genuine, the pain in her voice is something not many in pop can convey. The same pain can be heard in "Army Of Me," a solid track where Christina sings that she is wiser, stronger, and a fighter, probably alluding to the fact that her past releases haven't been the most successful of her career. She sings that she has a thousand faces that will rise up and fight against whatever evil comes her way. Moving on to a more risky recording, "Red Hot Kinda Love" offers a new sound for Ms. Aguilera, she sings over an intricately produced track and delivers something only Beyoncé could bring to the table from this generation of stars. the hook is the best part of the song as she yodels before the start of a chorus that is bound to get stuck in your head. If any song is a comeback smash single it is "Let There Be Love," not only is the chorus a memorable one, but the entire song feels ready for Top 40 without feeling like something we've heard four times this year. "Just A Fool," one of her duets with her fellow Voice coach Blake Shelton, offers something slow and well sang from both artists. It starts beautifully with Christina singing about something she has experience in as of late, losing love. Using her voice as a tool, she sways gorgeously through the first verse, Blake then joins her with his much needed masculine vocals and adds everything that makes the song a winter time smash on radio, she may even get country spins. Expand
  15. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    A perfect album, from the sexist woman in the music business. Christina Aguilera goes above and beyond in this amazing album, with her best song ever "Your Body". Pure perfection, from one of America's hottest women. Whoever said she was fat and ugly need to get hit in the head with a brick.
  16. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    This is probably her most pop influenced album since her debut. It would have been better timed if she had released this after her debut or Stripped but is still a nice way of coming back to her pop roots. The Intro is probably the best one she's ever recorded and i kind of wish the album would have kept that sound as a whole but then again this si a Christina Aguilera album and if you are familiar with her previous work you know she will always mix about 3 different things on one album. I think Army of Me pretty much sums up this 3 piece album: Song about Wisdom, songs about Sex and songs about never backing down. Expand
  17. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    The voice might have matured a bit but the sassiness behind it is still there. Listenning to this album is a journey. Wish Empty Words was part of the standard edition.
  18. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a really good album ! , so the only thing you have to do is go and buy it ! most of the song are really good , specially just a fool , army of me , blank page , cease fire etc. if you hear people who says she oversing in this album , one thing is oversing and other is to sing with passion and thats what christina does in this awesome recording Expand
  19. Dec 2, 2012
    0
    Horrible. I mean Christina kept on praising herself , about how she her music is different and that shes different than other pop stars around , yet she goes ahead and sings songs written by others ,specifically for commercial success.
  20. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    Even if it doesn't include pop pearls, Lotus is Christina Aguilera's best album because most of the songs are great. The other albums are very long and so include bad songs. And even if it is her most pop album, the songs still are in the Aguilera's style so very enjoyable. Refreshing, attractive, seductive.
  21. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Lotus is on my opinion the best pop album of the year, once again Christina Aguilera shows why she is the voice of her generation, this gurl has some pipes. I found some brilliant moments on this album, Just A Fool was definitely one of them. Some other songs like Cease Fire, Around the World, Let there Be Love are amazing pop anthems with an amazing production. On the other side we have tha ballads, Blank Page remind us why we feel in love with Christina, Best of Me is another brilliant moment on the album. The intro is amazing. Lotus is with no doubt an Amazing album, with this project Christina Aguilera shows once again that she is one of the best female singers of our times. Expand
  22. Nov 15, 2012
    4
    Lotus - first came into my mind is that, this concept is kinda weird but nonetheless it is beautiful. Generally, after 2-3 plays, the album consist of mostly to be called as "safe" tracks as there is not much of a standout other than overflowing of power ballads. I have to say, if Bionic get released by now, it would have done better, as Bionic is as if an album from the future.
  23. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    The new project of Christina Aguilera has not anything groundbreaking to the music but it fulfills its role well in pop music. Opening with "Lotus Intro" is more than interesting to move to a new song release in Army Of Me for the new Fighter's on duty. Other songs featured are Cease Fire, Around The World and Just a Fool ('m cheering this to be a great single)
  24. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This album is flawless. Most of the tracks are fun and up-tempo while others are emotional and touching. Both type of songs are flawless here. Even the "generic" tracks are amazing and beyond perfect because she brings talent to the songs as well. I love the album, definitely my favorite from year 2012 and not only. Great job, Christina Aguilera!
  25. Dec 4, 2012
    2
    X-tina, X-tina, X-tina... This album is terrible. There is 3 songs that are good. Like who does she think she is? Circles is one example of a true filler. The lyrics are written horrible. I hope she can come up with something actually good next time, or her career is going *plop*.
  26. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    This album shows of the "old" Xtina and the "new" Xtina. She still have to satisfy her fans and try to win over a newer generation, which she is slowly achieving.
  27. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are some songs that is very slow. But very slow, is very good. There are some club songs like Your body, Let there be love. They are so good. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever Expand
  28. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Two years after her futuristic and underrated 'Bionic', Aguilera is now back with a brand new album that makes it possible to mix soft funny songs, such as Red Hot Kind of Love with strong self-empowering ballads, such as 'Blank Page' and 'Best of Me' and as well mix it all with her 'dirrty mood' songs, such as 'Your Body' and 'Around The World'. In the end, what makes the album great isn't Aguilera's perfect and powerful vocals but the album's variability, doubt it? Listen to her country-pop break-up song with Blake Shelton, 'Just A Fool'. Expand
  29. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    One of the worst albums I've ever bought. This is not music - it's pure trash. What happened to the old Christina we loved? She got her chance and she failed miserably.
  30. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Couldn't be more excited for Lotus. So many gems, this album is amazing and I hope X is in full promo/artist mode because it can do so well. I have been playing it non-stop since it leaked and even more after I bought it!
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    40
    Nothing really stands out like the best thing here, Make The World Move, featuring fellow Voice Judge, Cee-Lo Green. [Jan 2013, p.101]
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    70
    This might not be the golden, triumphant comeback Aguilera had hoped for, but it's pretty close and, let's face it, it's better than most Top 40 music right now.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    50
    This vitriol-tsunami of a record misses a chance to connect Aguilera's music with her warm, empathetic TV presence.