Lotus

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2012
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 278 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 278

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    8
    The pop voice with a great album, actually the best album of her, waiting to see if the next will be able to overcome
    Highlights: Army Of Me and Shut Up
    Lows: Empty Worlds and Sing For Me
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    7
    Lotus is a great divide in the career of Christina, unlike previous albums he has no set theme, sounds just like it was another album released, however the album opens with an interesting intro, despite being just a intro, ''Lotus Intro'' is one of the best songs on the album, the highlights are also ''Blank Page'', ''Army of Me'', ''Best of Me'' and ''Just A Fool'', the rest is not veryLotus is a great divide in the career of Christina, unlike previous albums he has no set theme, sounds just like it was another album released, however the album opens with an interesting intro, despite being just a intro, ''Lotus Intro'' is one of the best songs on the album, the highlights are also ''Blank Page'', ''Army of Me'', ''Best of Me'' and ''Just A Fool'', the rest is not very surprising, Lotus sounds like something slacker who had no proper job, after all Aguilera can still develop a good job. Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    Christina is one of the best singers ever without any doubt. Her voice is simply stunning and she is so versatile. So this can be not her best album, that's for sure, but she is amazing
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    álbum muito bom, com uma gentileza incomparável e uma beleza exuberante, Christina Aguilera mostra todo seu potencial com agudos e batidas que podem não agradar muito a critica, mas vão fazer todos ficarem loucos por essa obra prima da RCA.
  5. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    During one of her interviews Christina said, that "Lotus" is "fun, exciting, introspective, it's going to be great". Yes, it's definitely Christina's poppiest album since her debut in 1999. Tracks like "Your Body", "Red Hot Kinda Love", "Let There Be Love" and "Around The World" are the perfect club bangers. There are also some personal, beautiful ballads like "Sing For Me", "Blank Page"During one of her interviews Christina said, that "Lotus" is "fun, exciting, introspective, it's going to be great". Yes, it's definitely Christina's poppiest album since her debut in 1999. Tracks like "Your Body", "Red Hot Kinda Love", "Let There Be Love" and "Around The World" are the perfect club bangers. There are also some personal, beautiful ballads like "Sing For Me", "Blank Page" and "Best Of Me". But "Lotus" is not only pop and R&B album. There's a country heart-breaking ballad "Just A Fool" featuring Blake Shelton, alternative "middle-finger to haters" song "Circles" and (finally) ragga/electronica/R&B/dubstep multigenre masterpiece "Cease Fire". There's a few misfires including chaotic "Make The World Move" and excessively vulgar "Shut Up". Besides that "Lotus" is another solid album in Christina's career.

    8 out of 10
    Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    this is one of the best album Christina Aguilera has made since 2006's back to Basics. She has changed her evolution to keep up with all these other auto tuned artists but her vocals stand out from each track.
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    7
    Lotus is honestly a good record. It's not very commercial but it's a big improvement after the disastrous Bionic. Standout tracks include: let there be love, empty words, lotus and blank page. If some songs were cut it would be more cohesive but overall it's a good work.
  8. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    Lotus is the album Christina wanted to create but failed in Bionic. Stand out tracks include: Army of Me, Blank Page, Make the World Move and Empty Words
  9. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    I think the best way to start this review is to say that I personally enjoyed Christina's 2010 release 'Bionic', despite the fact it's critical and chart receptions were so-so to not good at all. I thought the Sia ballads were flawless, and the departure from Christina's norm was a nice change in my opinion. That being said, that was then and this is now... And here on 'Lotus', AguileraI think the best way to start this review is to say that I personally enjoyed Christina's 2010 release 'Bionic', despite the fact it's critical and chart receptions were so-so to not good at all. I thought the Sia ballads were flawless, and the departure from Christina's norm was a nice change in my opinion. That being said, that was then and this is now... And here on 'Lotus', Aguilera re-emerges... A much stronger force than before.

    'Lotus' isn't the pop masterpiece I hoped for... But on top 40 standards, Christina certainly delivered. There's powerhouse radio cuts like 'Let There Be Love' and 'Just a Fool', and flawless soulful takes like 'Make the World Move' and 'Sing for Me'. There's also a lot of playful cuts like 'Cease Fire' and 'Circles'. Plus, perhaps the strongest moment on 'Lotus', Sia returns on 'Blank Page'. All of these cuts remind us what a powerhouse of a vocalist Christina Aguilera really is, and her iconic status as one of the best voices of this generation. What stops this record from being a masterpiece though is it's lack of flow. Unlike Christina's mammoth releases 'Stripped' and 'Back to Basics', this album still feels Inconcise and a little all over the place sonically. That being said it's a decent step in the right direction!
    Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Ms. Aguilera has certainly been through a lot lately and her music reflects that greatly. Being known as a pop villain certainly hasn't gained her any fans in music or in the general public, but she knows that and she accepts the role. Still, Christina has a soft side that she only feels safe showing inside of the studio where she feels she can be free to be herself without outsideMs. Aguilera has certainly been through a lot lately and her music reflects that greatly. Being known as a pop villain certainly hasn't gained her any fans in music or in the general public, but she knows that and she accepts the role. Still, Christina has a soft side that she only feels safe showing inside of the studio where she feels she can be free to be herself without outside judgement. In "Light Up The Sky," one of the best bonus tracks you will ever hear, Ms. Aguilera blasts her gorgeous vocals over a piano as she sings about how there is a chance to overcome any sort of adversity that holds one down. Some may find the message of peace and harmony a little overused, but coming from Christina it feels genuine, the pain in her voice is something not many in pop can convey. The same pain can be heard in "Army Of Me," a solid track where Christina sings that she is wiser, stronger, and a fighter, probably alluding to the fact that her past releases haven't been the most successful of her career. She sings that she has a thousand faces that will rise up and fight against whatever evil comes her way. Moving on to a more risky recording, "Red Hot Kinda Love" offers a new sound for Ms. Aguilera, she sings over an intricately produced track and delivers something only Beyoncé could bring to the table from this generation of stars. the hook is the best part of the song as she yodels before the start of a chorus that is bound to get stuck in your head. If any song is a comeback smash single it is "Let There Be Love," not only is the chorus a memorable one, but the entire song feels ready for Top 40 without feeling like something we've heard four times this year. "Just A Fool," one of her duets with her fellow Voice coach Blake Shelton, offers something slow and well sang from both artists. It starts beautifully with Christina singing about something she has experience in as of late, losing love. Using her voice as a tool, she sways gorgeously through the first verse, Blake then joins her with his much needed masculine vocals and adds everything that makes the song a winter time smash on radio, she may even get country spins. Expand
  11. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    A perfect album, from the sexist woman in the music business. Christina Aguilera goes above and beyond in this amazing album, with her best song ever "Your Body". Pure perfection, from one of America's hottest women. Whoever said she was fat and ugly need to get hit in the head with a brick.
  12. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    This is probably her most pop influenced album since her debut. It would have been better timed if she had released this after her debut or Stripped but is still a nice way of coming back to her pop roots. The Intro is probably the best one she's ever recorded and i kind of wish the album would have kept that sound as a whole but then again this si a Christina Aguilera album and if you areThis is probably her most pop influenced album since her debut. It would have been better timed if she had released this after her debut or Stripped but is still a nice way of coming back to her pop roots. The Intro is probably the best one she's ever recorded and i kind of wish the album would have kept that sound as a whole but then again this si a Christina Aguilera album and if you are familiar with her previous work you know she will always mix about 3 different things on one album. I think Army of Me pretty much sums up this 3 piece album: Song about Wisdom, songs about Sex and songs about never backing down. Expand
  13. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    The voice might have matured a bit but the sassiness behind it is still there. Listenning to this album is a journey. Wish Empty Words was part of the standard edition.
  14. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a really good album ! , so the only thing you have to do is go and buy it ! most of the song are really good , specially just a fool , army of me , blank page , cease fire etc. if you hear people who says she oversing in this album , one thing is oversing and other is to sing with passion and thats what christina does in this awesome recording Expand
  15. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    Even if it doesn't include pop pearls, Lotus is Christina Aguilera's best album because most of the songs are great. The other albums are very long and so include bad songs. And even if it is her most pop album, the songs still are in the Aguilera's style so very enjoyable. Refreshing, attractive, seductive.
  16. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Lotus is on my opinion the best pop album of the year, once again Christina Aguilera shows why she is the voice of her generation, this gurl has some pipes. I found some brilliant moments on this album, Just A Fool was definitely one of them. Some other songs like Cease Fire, Around the World, Let there Be Love are amazing pop anthems with an amazing production. On the other side we haveLotus is on my opinion the best pop album of the year, once again Christina Aguilera shows why she is the voice of her generation, this gurl has some pipes. I found some brilliant moments on this album, Just A Fool was definitely one of them. Some other songs like Cease Fire, Around the World, Let there Be Love are amazing pop anthems with an amazing production. On the other side we have tha ballads, Blank Page remind us why we feel in love with Christina, Best of Me is another brilliant moment on the album. The intro is amazing. Lotus is with no doubt an Amazing album, with this project Christina Aguilera shows once again that she is one of the best female singers of our times. Expand
  17. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    The new project of Christina Aguilera has not anything groundbreaking to the music but it fulfills its role well in pop music. Opening with "Lotus Intro" is more than interesting to move to a new song release in Army Of Me for the new Fighter's on duty. Other songs featured are Cease Fire, Around The World and Just a Fool ('m cheering this to be a great single)
  18. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This album is flawless. Most of the tracks are fun and up-tempo while others are emotional and touching. Both type of songs are flawless here. Even the "generic" tracks are amazing and beyond perfect because she brings talent to the songs as well. I love the album, definitely my favorite from year 2012 and not only. Great job, Christina Aguilera!
  19. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    This album shows of the "old" Xtina and the "new" Xtina. She still have to satisfy her fans and try to win over a newer generation, which she is slowly achieving.
  20. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are some songs that is very slow. But very slow, is very good. There are some club songs like Your body, Let there be love. They are so good. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever Expand
  21. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Two years after her futuristic and underrated 'Bionic', Aguilera is now back with a brand new album that makes it possible to mix soft funny songs, such as Red Hot Kind of Love with strong self-empowering ballads, such as 'Blank Page' and 'Best of Me' and as well mix it all with her 'dirrty mood' songs, such as 'Your Body' and 'Around The World'. In the end, what makes the album greatTwo years after her futuristic and underrated 'Bionic', Aguilera is now back with a brand new album that makes it possible to mix soft funny songs, such as Red Hot Kind of Love with strong self-empowering ballads, such as 'Blank Page' and 'Best of Me' and as well mix it all with her 'dirrty mood' songs, such as 'Your Body' and 'Around The World'. In the end, what makes the album great isn't Aguilera's perfect and powerful vocals but the album's variability, doubt it? Listen to her country-pop break-up song with Blake Shelton, 'Just A Fool'. Expand
  22. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Couldn't be more excited for Lotus. So many gems, this album is amazing and I hope X is in full promo/artist mode because it can do so well. I have been playing it non-stop since it leaked and even more after I bought it!
  23. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Lotus es un album multifacetico tal y como lo es Christina Aguilera, por lo mismo es un album que entretiene, podemos encontrar desde baladas hasta pop/rock, para cuando estes sentimental o tengas mucha energia... sin duda es un album que lo puedes escuchar y disfrutar sin importar tu estado de animo, hay una cancion para cada momento!
  24. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Simply put, this is Aguilera's most well packaged Recording effort to date. A Pop joyride from start to finish with Aguilera's pipes font and center.
  25. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    So i just bought Christina's album, and i might say it's a solid comeback from what might be consider the best voice of the pop generation. It sounds current, this is, it accompanies well the evolution of pop music, still having maintaining that Aguilera signature, that puts her album on top of every single one of those remaining current pop artists. This is definitely one of christina'sSo i just bought Christina's album, and i might say it's a solid comeback from what might be consider the best voice of the pop generation. It sounds current, this is, it accompanies well the evolution of pop music, still having maintaining that Aguilera signature, that puts her album on top of every single one of those remaining current pop artists. This is definitely one of christina's best albums and it somehow takes back to "Stripped", where the focal point was conveying a message and all about self empowerment and the idea that we are not alone, and we all go through the same problems. It's relatable, it's musically inspired, and on top of that, it dabbles into country and r & B with 2 incredible duets with fellows "the voice" members Cee-lo Green and Blake Shelton, which are in my personal opinion, two of the best tracks in the album. I say this is one of the best albums i've heard in awhile. Strongly recommend it Expand
  26. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Christina elegantly transforms into a sensual lotus princess on the cover of her 5th studio album which arguably is her best album thus far! From the seductive intro which takes you into her rebirth, into the heartfelt 'Cease Fire', she conducts the show using her strongest and most well-known asset; that voice! Any music lover would love this eclectic album which features Aguilera's firstChristina elegantly transforms into a sensual lotus princess on the cover of her 5th studio album which arguably is her best album thus far! From the seductive intro which takes you into her rebirth, into the heartfelt 'Cease Fire', she conducts the show using her strongest and most well-known asset; that voice! Any music lover would love this eclectic album which features Aguilera's first dabble into country, which many deemed the best song on the album, which is rumoured to be a future single. Another standout track is a pop song with a rock-infused chorus called 'Circles' which is a refreshing switch of the old format, and contains lyrics such as, 'spin around in circles on my middle middle finger' which is a message to all nay-sayers who have been trashing her image since her last album (looking at you perez hilton). What to expect when listening? Vocals, vocals, emotion, and VOCALS! A+ Expand
  27. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    It's not just a masterful and brilliant voice that fans come to expect from her, but an all around versatile sound and a well-rounded album. Christina always delivers with her albums regardless of the public or critical reception. In a sea of mediocracy in todays music she manages to rise to the top setting herself apart from the peers that came out into the scene alongside of her and theIt's not just a masterful and brilliant voice that fans come to expect from her, but an all around versatile sound and a well-rounded album. Christina always delivers with her albums regardless of the public or critical reception. In a sea of mediocracy in todays music she manages to rise to the top setting herself apart from the peers that came out into the scene alongside of her and the ones topping the charts today. The album is a truthful journey that explores all the sides of Christina that fans have come to love over the years. Not many artists can come through adversity with such musical vigor all the whilst standing firm to their beliefs and ever so daring to remain risk takers. Expand
  28. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Lotus is honesty, courage and quality, best pop album of 2012. Aguilera proves that she's the voice of generation and the princess of reinvention. Also one of the greatest artists in music history
  29. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    An incredible, spectacular, fresh, clean disc, what mas do they love? It is an incredible disc for this year as all those that it has been extracting, I have to say that Christina Aguilera has a prodigious voice and that for my undoubtedly it is the best of the world.
  30. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Lotus is a phenomenal album by Legend X. Vocally, she is above all artists from her generation incl. Beyoncpé, Belly Clarkson & Studlicia. Justin is still king bye.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    40
    Nothing really stands out like the best thing here, Make The World Move, featuring fellow Voice Judge, Cee-Lo Green. [Jan 2013, p.101]
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    70
    This might not be the golden, triumphant comeback Aguilera had hoped for, but it's pretty close and, let's face it, it's better than most Top 40 music right now.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    50
    This vitriol-tsunami of a record misses a chance to connect Aguilera's music with her warm, empathetic TV presence.