Lotus - Christina Aguilera
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 254

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Lotus is honesty, courage and quality, best pop album of 2012. Aguilera proves that she's the voice of generation and the princess of reinvention. Also one of the greatest artists in music history
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Christina elegantly transforms into a sensual lotus princess on the cover of her 5th studio album which arguably is her best album thus far! From the seductive intro which takes you into her rebirth, into the heartfelt 'Cease Fire', she conducts the show using her strongest and most well-known asset; that voice! Any music lover would love this eclectic album which features Aguilera's firstChristina elegantly transforms into a sensual lotus princess on the cover of her 5th studio album which arguably is her best album thus far! From the seductive intro which takes you into her rebirth, into the heartfelt 'Cease Fire', she conducts the show using her strongest and most well-known asset; that voice! Any music lover would love this eclectic album which features Aguilera's first dabble into country, which many deemed the best song on the album, which is rumoured to be a future single. Another standout track is a pop song with a rock-infused chorus called 'Circles' which is a refreshing switch of the old format, and contains lyrics such as, 'spin around in circles on my middle middle finger' which is a message to all nay-sayers who have been trashing her image since her last album (looking at you perez hilton). What to expect when listening? Vocals, vocals, emotion, and VOCALS! A+ Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Simply put, this is Aguilera's most well packaged Recording effort to date. A Pop joyride from start to finish with Aguilera's pipes font and center.
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Ms. Aguilera has certainly been through a lot lately and her music reflects that greatly. Being known as a pop villain certainly hasn't gained her any fans in music or in the general public, but she knows that and she accepts the role. Still, Christina has a soft side that she only feels safe showing inside of the studio where she feels she can be free to be herself without outsideMs. Aguilera has certainly been through a lot lately and her music reflects that greatly. Being known as a pop villain certainly hasn't gained her any fans in music or in the general public, but she knows that and she accepts the role. Still, Christina has a soft side that she only feels safe showing inside of the studio where she feels she can be free to be herself without outside judgement. In "Light Up The Sky," one of the best bonus tracks you will ever hear, Ms. Aguilera blasts her gorgeous vocals over a piano as she sings about how there is a chance to overcome any sort of adversity that holds one down. Some may find the message of peace and harmony a little overused, but coming from Christina it feels genuine, the pain in her voice is something not many in pop can convey. The same pain can be heard in "Army Of Me," a solid track where Christina sings that she is wiser, stronger, and a fighter, probably alluding to the fact that her past releases haven't been the most successful of her career. She sings that she has a thousand faces that will rise up and fight against whatever evil comes her way. Moving on to a more risky recording, "Red Hot Kinda Love" offers a new sound for Ms. Aguilera, she sings over an intricately produced track and delivers something only Beyoncé could bring to the table from this generation of stars. the hook is the best part of the song as she yodels before the start of a chorus that is bound to get stuck in your head. If any song is a comeback smash single it is "Let There Be Love," not only is the chorus a memorable one, but the entire song feels ready for Top 40 without feeling like something we've heard four times this year. "Just A Fool," one of her duets with her fellow Voice coach Blake Shelton, offers something slow and well sang from both artists. It starts beautifully with Christina singing about something she has experience in as of late, losing love. Using her voice as a tool, she sways gorgeously through the first verse, Blake then joins her with his much needed masculine vocals and adds everything that makes the song a winter time smash on radio, she may even get country spins. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    It's not just a masterful and brilliant voice that fans come to expect from her, but an all around versatile sound and a well-rounded album. Christina always delivers with her albums regardless of the public or critical reception. In a sea of mediocracy in todays music she manages to rise to the top setting herself apart from the peers that came out into the scene alongside of her and theIt's not just a masterful and brilliant voice that fans come to expect from her, but an all around versatile sound and a well-rounded album. Christina always delivers with her albums regardless of the public or critical reception. In a sea of mediocracy in todays music she manages to rise to the top setting herself apart from the peers that came out into the scene alongside of her and the ones topping the charts today. The album is a truthful journey that explores all the sides of Christina that fans have come to love over the years. Not many artists can come through adversity with such musical vigor all the whilst standing firm to their beliefs and ever so daring to remain risk takers. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This record is a MASTERPIECE! Every single track could be released as a single. The beginning track (Lotus intro) excites you & prepares you for the ride that your about to take. That ride is no disappointment, its a ride your going to want to take over and over again! Spectacular A+
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    LOTUS is a variety of musical styles, has a mix of different sounds and genres, she and her team have established a harmony, and this is reflected in the lyrics and sounds.

    Christina has reinvented itself again in this album, we have songs that are unlike anything she has done before, she has come out of your comfort zone with some little experimental songs like. Lotus Intro, Circles
    LOTUS is a variety of musical styles, has a mix of different sounds and genres, she and her team have established a harmony, and this is reflected in the lyrics and sounds.

    Christina has reinvented itself again in this album, we have songs that are unlike anything she has done before, she has come out of your comfort zone with some little experimental songs like. Lotus Intro, Circles and even Cease Fire... The album has many options regarding the selection of upcoming Singles, any song on the album has the potential to be released like single ...
    Expand
  8. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Imposible puntuar con menos, a una artista que se toma tan en serio su trabajo: "aportar algo sustancial a ese mundo del pop mainstream tan olvidadizo" (con el que mantiene una esquizofrénica batalla de identidad: ahora no, pero sí)

    No es su mejor album, pero igualmente mantiene su sello: "un dispar de conjuntos musicales que se unifican bajo su inconfundible
    Imposible puntuar con menos, a una artista que se toma tan en serio su trabajo: "aportar algo sustancial a ese mundo del pop mainstream tan olvidadizo" (con el que mantiene una esquizofrénica batalla de identidad: ahora no, pero sí)

    No es su mejor album, pero igualmente mantiene su sello: "un dispar de conjuntos musicales que se unifican bajo su inconfundible interpretación vocal" (porque sí, porque le apetece).

    No se echa de menos ningún elemento, pues por algo es un album sin pretensiones, al contrario de sus anteriores trabajos, y fácil de digerir. Y aunque no creo que se asiente jamás debajo de una etiqueta, quizás haya más de esto en futuros proyectos (eso de actuar sin pretensiones digo).
    Expand
  9. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    An incredible, spectacular, fresh, clean disc, what mas do they love? It is an incredible disc for this year as all those that it has been extracting, I have to say that Christina Aguilera has a prodigious voice and that for my undoubtedly it is the best of the world.
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Lotus is a phenomenal album by Legend X. Vocally, she is above all artists from her generation incl. Beyoncpé, Belly Clarkson & Studlicia. Justin is still king bye.
  11. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    A perfect album, from the sexist woman in the music business. Christina Aguilera goes above and beyond in this amazing album, with her best song ever "Your Body". Pure perfection, from one of America's hottest women. Whoever said she was fat and ugly need to get hit in the head with a brick.
  12. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Christina's biggest power is that she can use her voice in so many different ways and that versatility allows her to create beautiful songs. In an age when music relies heavily on beats and production, Christina can still rely on her voice to deliver a stellar song. And that's why the ballads on Lotus are all strong. Blank Page, Sing For Me and Just A Fool all showcase why Christina'sChristina's biggest power is that she can use her voice in so many different ways and that versatility allows her to create beautiful songs. In an age when music relies heavily on beats and production, Christina can still rely on her voice to deliver a stellar song. And that's why the ballads on Lotus are all strong. Blank Page, Sing For Me and Just A Fool all showcase why Christina's rivals will never be able to match her vocal prowess. But the ballads themselves are not what make Lotus great, it is the playful side of Aguilera that bring her back to true form. The thing is Christina's playfulness and tongue-in-cheek approach to sexually driven songs (Candyman, Dirrty, Genie In A Bottle) have always set her apart from her peers. And with songs like Your Body, Let There Be Love, Around the World and Red Hot Kinda Love, she is back in true form. There's a little bit of everything on this album for everyone, Christina delivered a filler-free album with Lotus. Expand
  13. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    this is one of the best album Christina Aguilera has made since 2006's back to Basics. She has changed her evolution to keep up with all these other auto tuned artists but her vocals stand out from each track.
  14. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This album is flawless. Most of the tracks are fun and up-tempo while others are emotional and touching. Both type of songs are flawless here. Even the "generic" tracks are amazing and beyond perfect because she brings talent to the songs as well. I love the album, definitely my favorite from year 2012 and not only. Great job, Christina Aguilera!
  15. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Two years after her futuristic and underrated 'Bionic', Aguilera is now back with a brand new album that makes it possible to mix soft funny songs, such as Red Hot Kind of Love with strong self-empowering ballads, such as 'Blank Page' and 'Best of Me' and as well mix it all with her 'dirrty mood' songs, such as 'Your Body' and 'Around The World'. In the end, what makes the album greatTwo years after her futuristic and underrated 'Bionic', Aguilera is now back with a brand new album that makes it possible to mix soft funny songs, such as Red Hot Kind of Love with strong self-empowering ballads, such as 'Blank Page' and 'Best of Me' and as well mix it all with her 'dirrty mood' songs, such as 'Your Body' and 'Around The World'. In the end, what makes the album great isn't Aguilera's perfect and powerful vocals but the album's variability, doubt it? Listen to her country-pop break-up song with Blake Shelton, 'Just A Fool'. Expand
  16. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Lotus es un album multifacetico tal y como lo es Christina Aguilera, por lo mismo es un album que entretiene, podemos encontrar desde baladas hasta pop/rock, para cuando estes sentimental o tengas mucha energia... sin duda es un album que lo puedes escuchar y disfrutar sin importar tu estado de animo, hay una cancion para cada momento!
  17. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    So i just bought Christina's album, and i might say it's a solid comeback from what might be consider the best voice of the pop generation. It sounds current, this is, it accompanies well the evolution of pop music, still having maintaining that Aguilera signature, that puts her album on top of every single one of those remaining current pop artists. This is definitely one of christina'sSo i just bought Christina's album, and i might say it's a solid comeback from what might be consider the best voice of the pop generation. It sounds current, this is, it accompanies well the evolution of pop music, still having maintaining that Aguilera signature, that puts her album on top of every single one of those remaining current pop artists. This is definitely one of christina's best albums and it somehow takes back to "Stripped", where the focal point was conveying a message and all about self empowerment and the idea that we are not alone, and we all go through the same problems. It's relatable, it's musically inspired, and on top of that, it dabbles into country and r & B with 2 incredible duets with fellows "the voice" members Cee-lo Green and Blake Shelton, which are in my personal opinion, two of the best tracks in the album. I say this is one of the best albums i've heard in awhile. Strongly recommend it Collapse
  18. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    This is probably her most pop influenced album since her debut. It would have been better timed if she had released this after her debut or Stripped but is still a nice way of coming back to her pop roots. The Intro is probably the best one she's ever recorded and i kind of wish the album would have kept that sound as a whole but then again this si a Christina Aguilera album and if you areThis is probably her most pop influenced album since her debut. It would have been better timed if she had released this after her debut or Stripped but is still a nice way of coming back to her pop roots. The Intro is probably the best one she's ever recorded and i kind of wish the album would have kept that sound as a whole but then again this si a Christina Aguilera album and if you are familiar with her previous work you know she will always mix about 3 different things on one album. I think Army of Me pretty much sums up this 3 piece album: Song about Wisdom, songs about Sex and songs about never backing down. Expand
  19. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Having as the worst performances de eletropop ones, Lotus makes well its work: It is the BEST release in 2012, and show a full Aguilera, with all that we love in her.
  20. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Lotus is on my opinion the best pop album of the year, once again Christina Aguilera shows why she is the voice of her generation, this gurl has some pipes. I found some brilliant moments on this album, Just A Fool was definitely one of them. Some other songs like Cease Fire, Around the World, Let there Be Love are amazing pop anthems with an amazing production. On the other side we haveLotus is on my opinion the best pop album of the year, once again Christina Aguilera shows why she is the voice of her generation, this gurl has some pipes. I found some brilliant moments on this album, Just A Fool was definitely one of them. Some other songs like Cease Fire, Around the World, Let there Be Love are amazing pop anthems with an amazing production. On the other side we have tha ballads, Blank Page remind us why we feel in love with Christina, Best of Me is another brilliant moment on the album. The intro is amazing. Lotus is with no doubt an Amazing album, with this project Christina Aguilera shows once again that she is one of the best female singers of our times. Expand
  21. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    El mejor album del 2012 sin dudas, sonido fresco, sin caer en lo generico, la voz de Aguilera esta mejor que nunca! El disco lo tiene todo! Baladas romanticas, canciones cortavenas, canciones que prenderan las pistas de baile,!
  22. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    The new project of Christina Aguilera has not anything groundbreaking to the music but it fulfills its role well in pop music. Opening with "Lotus Intro" is more than interesting to move to a new song release in Army Of Me for the new Fighter's on duty. Other songs featured are Cease Fire, Around The World and Just a Fool ('m cheering this to be a great single)
  23. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Christina Aguilera is the best vocalist in the world and she shows it in this studio album. This record, LOTUS, is a masterpiece. Every single track could be released as a single. Army Of Me, Sing For Me, Blank Page, all the songs have a special message. Christina' vocals and instrumental are amazing, I will recommend LOTUS to all people.
  24. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Lotus definitely is the best album pop of the year! Sing 4 Me and Blank Page is the most beautiful balad of Lotus.. Army of Me and Cease Fire is POWER. Let There Be Love is awesome.. OMG, this albums so **** good! Xtina always made it the best!!! Legendtina is BACK!
  25. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lotus is an album of multiple layers where we identify the essence of aguilera, she navigates her comfort zone without much pretension and without ceasing to be pop.
    Lotus is a great album where every song we heard the eternal christina that captivated us since the stripped. The album is very diverse covering various styles, Inspiring songs like Army of Me and Sing for Me, the mid temps Your body and thebe Let love be giving a cheer on the album, the incredible Blanck Page that shows all the potential of singer besides their vulnerability.
    Christina Shows all its fury in Circles, with stretches: sit and spin on my middle finger, **** sings with aggressive vocals Cease Fire making a plea for peace.
    Makes a rant in Best Of Me, shows his country roots in Just a Fool.
    back to basics but once in Make the World Move, fun and different risks in Red hot kinda Love produced by Lucas Secon.
    Generally Lotus is good pop album, and with very good commercial potential to hit, is well diversified beyond what one can not compare them to previous works of the same.
    Aguilera said as own lotus is its revival, its reflection ..
    Expand
  26. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Lotus is a wonderful album. Christina honestly did a great job in her new comeback, of course! The best song is "Cease Fire". It's a great meaning between war and love. When I heard "Lotus Intro" for the first time, I felt like I was in heaven. No doubt, Lotus is by far the best album of the year.
  27. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Album incredible, strong songs, the best we can offer for Xtina fans who already admire and for new fans that may arise over time. A blend of good compositions combined the powerful voice of the blonde.
  28. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Album incredible, strong songs, the best we can offer for Xtina fans who already admire and for new fans that may arise over time. A blend of good compositions combined the powerful voice of the generation!!!
  29. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Love Let There Be Love, Army Of Me, Just A Fool, Lotus Intro, Your Body, Shut Up, Sing For Me and Make The World Move. Christina Aguilera is amazing.
  30. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Lotus is a strong album of wonderful songs!! Xtina's vocal with more powerful than ever. Lotus is perfectly composed and produced, deserves all the success in the world.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    40
    Nothing really stands out like the best thing here, Make The World Move, featuring fellow Voice Judge, Cee-Lo Green. [Jan 2013, p.101]
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    70
    This might not be the golden, triumphant comeback Aguilera had hoped for, but it's pretty close and, let's face it, it's better than most Top 40 music right now.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    50
    This vitriol-tsunami of a record misses a chance to connect Aguilera's music with her warm, empathetic TV presence.