• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Lotus Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 353 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Cee Lo Green and Blake Shelton, co-judges on The Voice guest on the pop singer's latest studio release that also includes production from Alex da Kid, Jayson DeZuzio, Max Martin, and Shellback.
Buy On

Top Track

Just a Fool
Another shot of whisky please bartender Keep it coming 'til I don't remember at all How bad it hurts when you're gone Na Na Na Turn the music up a... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    82
    Lotus largely benefits from all the bombast--Aguilera hasn't sounded so fun and energized in years.
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    It's hard to blame her for playing it safe, particularly because she wound up with such a strong pop album, one that reconfirms her gifts as a singer and savviness as a pop star.
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    70
    This might not be the golden, triumphant comeback Aguilera had hoped for, but it's pretty close and, let's face it, it's better than most Top 40 music right now.
  4. Nov 9, 2012
    60
    By virtue of the fact that Lotus is Aguilera's shortest album since her debut, it boasts less filler, but also fewer obvious standouts.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    50
    This vitriol-tsunami of a record misses a chance to connect Aguilera's music with her warm, empathetic TV presence.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    50
    Aguilera has always been an unstoppable force when she pours her heart and soul into her music-and not as adept at dumbing down her voice or lyrics for the sake of lightweight tunes or prevailing trends. Unfortunately, by focusing on the latter route, Lotus becomes disappointingly faceless.
  7. Nov 12, 2012
    40
    The anonymity of much of Lotus is its biggest crime, more than its musical unadventurousness or its emphasis on bland self-help lyrics or its reluctance to lean on Ms. Aguilera's voice.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 82
  2. Negative: 8 out of 82
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Lotus is honesty, courage and quality, best pop album of 2012. Aguilera proves that she's the voice of generation and the princess ofLotus is honesty, courage and quality, best pop album of 2012. Aguilera proves that she's the voice of generation and the princess of reinvention. Also one of the greatest artists in music history Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Lotus is his best album since Stripped. Ok, Back To Basics was great, but does not have the variety of sounds and songs that express differentLotus is his best album since Stripped. Ok, Back To Basics was great, but does not have the variety of sounds and songs that express different emotions as does Lotus. Let There Be Love is a perfect song to dance, I think this song is your song more danceable. Blank Page is a masterpiece, I have no words to describe it. Army Of Me is a powerful song with great lyrics. Just a Fool is a very emotional song dedicated to broken hearts. A perfect song when you miss someone. Other songs with great lyrics are Ceaser Fire, Empty Words, Sing For Me and Best Of Me. Make the World Move and Red Hot Kinda Of Love are the most fun songs on the album. Shut Up and Circles are perfect for Haters. For me it is a great album with great songs that could be singles. Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    She's known for changing it up with every record musically and look wise, she did it again. It's a solid pop record full of messages. As sheShe's known for changing it up with every record musically and look wise, she did it again. It's a solid pop record full of messages. As she calls herself "a message girl". I liked how cohesive the album is. It's has a lot of up-tempos as well as mid-tempos and a few ballads, which are always the best of Xtina's albums.
    I absolutely love the album. I consider myself a hardcore Xtina fan and I'm very picky with her so, she delivered this time.
    Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Christina's biggest power is that she can use her voice in so many different ways and that versatility allows her to create beautiful songs.Christina's biggest power is that she can use her voice in so many different ways and that versatility allows her to create beautiful songs. In an age when music relies heavily on beats and production, Christina can still rely on her voice to deliver a stellar song. And that's why the ballads on Lotus are all strong. Blank Page, Sing For Me and Just A Fool all showcase why Christina's rivals will never be able to match her vocal prowess. But the ballads themselves are not what make Lotus great, it is the playful side of Aguilera that bring her back to true form. The thing is Christina's playfulness and tongue-in-cheek approach to sexually driven songs (Candyman, Dirrty, Genie In A Bottle) have always set her apart from her peers. And with songs like Your Body, Let There Be Love, Around the World and Red Hot Kinda Love, she is back in true form. There's a little bit of everything on this album for everyone, Christina delivered a filler-free album with Lotus. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    álbum muito bom, com uma gentileza incomparável e uma beleza exuberante, Christina Aguilera mostra todo seu potencial com agudos e batidas queálbum muito bom, com uma gentileza incomparável e uma beleza exuberante, Christina Aguilera mostra todo seu potencial com agudos e batidas que podem não agradar muito a critica, mas vão fazer todos ficarem loucos por essa obra prima da RCA. Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    7
    Lotus is honestly a good record. It's not very commercial but it's a big improvement after the disastrous Bionic. Standout tracks include: letLotus is honestly a good record. It's not very commercial but it's a big improvement after the disastrous Bionic. Standout tracks include: let there be love, empty words, lotus and blank page. If some songs were cut it would be more cohesive but overall it's a good work. Expand
  7. Dec 2, 2012
    0
    Horrible. I mean Christina kept on praising herself , about how she her music is different and that shes different than other pop stars aroundHorrible. I mean Christina kept on praising herself , about how she her music is different and that shes different than other pop stars around , yet she goes ahead and sings songs written by others ,specifically for commercial success. Expand

See all 82 User Reviews