LotusFlow3r

  • Record Label: NPG
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2009
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 2 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RichardC.
    Apr 3, 2009
    10
    David S --I agree 100%!!!! I have not stopped listening to LotusFlow3r since it came out!
  2. EmilieS
    Apr 2, 2009
    10
    Lotusflower is Prince's most solid and consistent complete work since 1995's 'The Gold Experience'. This set is free from the stubborn rigidity present in much of the man's recent work (see 3121). While the critics may not receive this album as intended, the die-hard fans who are familiar with Prince's extensive body of work have been craving an organic yet Lotusflower is Prince's most solid and consistent complete work since 1995's 'The Gold Experience'. This set is free from the stubborn rigidity present in much of the man's recent work (see 3121). While the critics may not receive this album as intended, the die-hard fans who are familiar with Prince's extensive body of work have been craving an organic yet sleek, guitar-driven record for decades. Fortunately, Lotusflower delivers on all fronts! Recommended Tracks: Boom Crimson and Clover Dreamer $ Colonized Mind. Expand
  3. DJBigdavid
    Apr 2, 2009
    10
    Prince lets his guitar sing on one of the very best albums of his entire career. This is a thrilling blend of rock-pop-funk that only he could create. An essential album of 2009.
  4. DavidS
    Apr 1, 2009
    10
    "LotusFlow3r" is an instant classic. Prince's best and most enthralling album since "Sign O' The Times."
  5. BrandonS
    Apr 1, 2009
    7
    LotusFlow3r is the best disc of the three and definitely my favorite of Prince's modern era. My face is melting from all those amazing solos! The MPLSound is cool, too, with an 80s-era Prince vibe. I haven't even listed to the disc from his protege yet. Too bad that third disc isn't more pure Prince.
  6. DanieleB
    Apr 14, 2009
    9
    This is a really good album, the work of a genius. Given how a genius' mind works, it is far from perfect. But that's fine with me. Prince's failed experiments are better than anything else pop "musicians" may ever hope to accomplish. He's the last superstar, the last extraordinary instrumentalist, the last genius composer to devote himself to popular music. We should This is a really good album, the work of a genius. Given how a genius' mind works, it is far from perfect. But that's fine with me. Prince's failed experiments are better than anything else pop "musicians" may ever hope to accomplish. He's the last superstar, the last extraordinary instrumentalist, the last genius composer to devote himself to popular music. We should be grateful, instead of spitting on him as some reviewers do. America is rarely grateful to his giants. Sonny Rollins is living in a stinky two-room apartment, so. Expand
  7. KaranS
    Apr 16, 2009
    9
    Musically there's not much of a connection between songs although there are some beautiful moments in the album. I truly believe that's what he was going for but vocally he's downgrading from previous albums. All in all this is a great album and there are tons of things to learn if you are an aspiring musician.
  8. LorrellT
    Apr 2, 2009
    10
    This is an excellent album. All 3 albums in the disc show the amazing writing, vocal and musical ability of Prince. Elixr is the biggest surprise as Bria is not a super talent, but with the material and musicianship nearly all the songs are very good. The songs "Home", "Elixr" and "Another Boy" are particular stand-outs. The albums Lotusflow3r and MPLSound have far too many variances in This is an excellent album. All 3 albums in the disc show the amazing writing, vocal and musical ability of Prince. Elixr is the biggest surprise as Bria is not a super talent, but with the material and musicianship nearly all the songs are very good. The songs "Home", "Elixr" and "Another Boy" are particular stand-outs. The albums Lotusflow3r and MPLSound have far too many variances in style to talk about in a short setting. Dance 4 Me is fun and funky yet $ takes it up one from there. The song 77 Beverly Place is a wonderful instrumental track. Dreamer is not Jimi Hendrix reborn as a lot of listeners will no doubt say. It is, simply Prince still living. It is amazing. The guitar work on Lotusflow3r makes it a classic for guitar enthusiast. This is an album that you simply have to have. It will take a couple of listens for the routine listener but they will find at least 3 of every 4 songs across the 3 albums will be to their likinig. For musicians of any genre this 3 disc set is a must. Expand
  9. XzavierA
    Apr 2, 2009
    10
    Dang! I am blown away by this album. All 3 disk would have been worth the $12 bucks as individual disc. I love the Lotusflow3r disk the most but the Elixr album is so smooth and loving and sexy. The title track Elixr is really sexy and a turn on to listen to. The song Everytime is a beautiful love song. MPLSound is a groove from start to finish. I am feeling this album. Not a big Prince Dang! I am blown away by this album. All 3 disk would have been worth the $12 bucks as individual disc. I love the Lotusflow3r disk the most but the Elixr album is so smooth and loving and sexy. The title track Elixr is really sexy and a turn on to listen to. The song Everytime is a beautiful love song. MPLSound is a groove from start to finish. I am feeling this album. Not a big Prince fan since Sign of the Times but this album here made me go back and buy a couple of the Prince albums that I missed and never really heard much about. I got the Rainbow Children album and 3121 and I am simply blown away. This little guy is really a genius of some type. Expand
  10. TheCAT
    Apr 2, 2009
    10
    okay, i have to admit Prince is the best musician out there by far. Even the stuff i don't like a whole lot on the 3 disc shows that he is a genius and there are not many tracks that i don't like maybe 2 on the entire body of albums. MPLSound is my personal favorite but my girlfriend is really into the entire Elixr album she is becoming a huge Prince fan because of this album
  11. PamJ
    Apr 3, 2009
    10
    Best Prince album ever. Grammy.
  12. JayM
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    Amazing! Prince finally delivers the guitar CD we've been waiting for to great extent. This is an amazing set of songs and a musical journey. Boom, Colonized Mind - classics! Dreamer - masterpiece!!!
  13. CosmicDay
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    Lotusflow3r (10/10) Lotusflow3r is a completely SICK album. Why? Because it shows Prince the complete musician and what a joy it is to listen to a complete artist. MPLSound is a good album and one that I enjoy, but it only shows one side of his musical genius and is a nostalgic throwback to his early "sound" when he was just becoming the musician he is today. Lotusflow3r details Prince Lotusflow3r (10/10) Lotusflow3r is a completely SICK album. Why? Because it shows Prince the complete musician and what a joy it is to listen to a complete artist. MPLSound is a good album and one that I enjoy, but it only shows one side of his musical genius and is a nostalgic throwback to his early "sound" when he was just becoming the musician he is today. Lotusflow3r details Prince the complete musician. There's isn't one weak song on this album. 4ever, my least favorite, suffers from weak lyrics but is a joy to listen to. As a whole, these twelve songs span rock (Boom, Wall of Berlin, Dreamer), 60's style jazz (Love Like Jazz), Pet Sounds style instrumentals (77 Beverly Park), straight up Prince funk (Feel Better, $) and there's even a cover song (and a great one at that, Crimson And Clover) for good measure. At first I wanted the entire album to be Prince's "rock" statement and was disappointed that it went in a different, more complete direction. But now I see it for what it is... a diverse masterpiece of music from the master. Prince isn't afraid to hit you in the face with some stunning rock guitar and then fake you out with a song that turns into a beautiful instrumental that older, more refined listeners will love. He can funk it up, but he can also sound like Hendrix while spreading a message without being too preachy. I didn't think Prince could top the musicianship of The Rainbow Children, but he's done it with a more diverse masterpiece. Lotusflow3r is an album for real music lovers who can appreciate a complete work of art. Expand
  14. pfanukjw
    Apr 3, 2009
    10
    Lotusflow3r is spectacular concepualisation. xperimental, diverse musical styles whilst managing to be cohesive. Guitar work is fantastic, as is all instrumentation. If, like me you hoped for as less over - produced sound you wont be disappointed! The way all tracks blend together wotks well here. Mnplsound - wow..some Prince magic here - ol skool, fun, eclectic. Prince back to the sound Lotusflow3r is spectacular concepualisation. xperimental, diverse musical styles whilst managing to be cohesive. Guitar work is fantastic, as is all instrumentation. If, like me you hoped for as less over - produced sound you wont be disappointed! The way all tracks blend together wotks well here. Mnplsound - wow..some Prince magic here - ol skool, fun, eclectic. Prince back to the sound he emerged from. Elixer - as protoges go Bria maybe takes 2nd place to Jill Jones. But average singing aside, no mistaking Prince is all over this, the writing/ producing/ playing and even vocals. If you like chilled out- which you n=might after the last 2 offerings - then this is cool. Not sensational but good nonetheless. And, yes, itwould appear that the title track is a play on words...dirty Prince is back! This 3 set is gonna become a prince classic i reckon. Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. LotusFlow3r is perhaps the most palatable of the three albums, a guitar-driven collection of rockers and slow jams. There's a lot to like here....Still, they can't save the album from its turkeys.
  2. The set's signature disc Lotusflow3r, is its most consistently enjoyable, a far-flung cornucopia of electric guitar licks from one of the instrument's sharpest practitioners.
  3. LotusFlow3r is the work of a musician who's still curious after all these years.