Loud City Song - Julia Holter
Loud City Song Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length release for the Los Angeles artist was influenced in part by the film "Gigi."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Aug 26, 2013
    90
    This album is the sound of an excellent singer, songwriter, arranger, and, I’d argue, thinker translating those strengths into some of the most stirring music you’ll hear this year. Loud City Song may not be loud, but the echo it makes is unforgettable.
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    It’s certainly Holter’s most accomplished and imaginative album--indeed, there hasn’t been an album this packed with ideas since tUnE-yArDs' w h o k i l l a couple of years ago.
  3. 90
    This is wild music, a celestial cabaret that absorbs and unsettles.
  4. Aug 19, 2013
    80
    Like Gigi herself, it is a work of perpetual self-invention, an extended state of becoming. Have pity on the inquisitory birds, because it's impossible to look away.
  5. Jan 27, 2014
    80
    Her songs are challenging, expansive and cinematic, turning minimalist melodies on their heads and redefining the limits of pop. [Oct 2013, p.103]
  6. Aug 22, 2013
    80
    It’s a jaw-dropping accomplishment, one of those records that’s almost pointless to listen to as a series of individual songs--tracks are mini symphonies in themselves, and to break Loud City Song down into tracks would be missing the point.
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    70
    It is an easier, more focused listen than Ekstasis, but there is nothing here to rival that album's 'Marienbad' for sophisticated songwriting.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    This is simply the best album of 2013 so far, the beauty of the songs and the voice of Julia are magnificent. The sounds and the lyrics are incredible and the albums is a masterpiece! Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Julia Holter viene da Los Angeles (‘dove tutti sembrano invisibili e perciò mi piace’) e prende spunto per questo suo terzo disco, da un film ambientato a Parigi agli inizi del Novecento, il musical ‘Gigi’. La pellicola di Vincent Minnelli con Leslie Caron, va riconosciuto, un bel salto rispetto alla classicità greca, in special modo di ambito tragico, ispiratrice dei lavori precedenti (la ragazza ha studiato e non si vergogna di farcelo sapere): il risultato un lavoro più aperto e variegato che non tralascia le oscurità capaci di distillare angoscia, ma capace di avventurarsi su sentieri diversi, contrassegnati da una certa aura pop e, soprattutto, da incursioni nel jazz che rendono più facile (sebbene mai scontato o banale) l’approccio. Già l’iniziale ‘World’ in fondo, una torch-song con la bella voce di Julia che si appoggia su uno sfondo di carezzevoli fiati, idea che viene poi amplificata con però una prevalenza di archi nella successiva ‘Maxim’s I’ il riferimento più diretto a ‘Gigi’ che si rivela assai più accogliente di quanto possa fare pensare al primo impatto. Gli angoli bui non mancano, come nel piccolo incubo metropolitano che gli ansimanti fiati creano in ‘Horns surrounding me’ prima che le tastiere vadano a ripescare anche Siouxsie, oppure nella sfuggente ‘Maxim’s II’ che, alternando minacciosi silenzi a una voce recitante tra ottoni da banda e un sassofono obliquo, potrebbe fare da colonna sona a un film dell’orrore: al confronto la pianistica, eterea ‘He’s running through my eyes’ un sospiro di sollievo, per non parlare poi del pop, sintetico e minimale, che contrassegna la meno tormentata ‘In the green wild’. Tra sogno e incubo si sviluppano invece i sette minuti della conclusiva ‘City appearing’, dall’inizio garbato con il canto accompagnato dal pianoforte, ma sviluppata in un crescendo tra dissonanze assortite che portano il disco a terminare su note non certo rassicuranti: quasi l’autrice voglia far dimenticare, o comunque diminuire il peso, della precedente ‘This is a true haeart’e il suo profilo da Bacharach trattenuto sullo sfondo di un notturno urbano con tanto di carezzevole assolo di sax. Sonorità che non fanno apparire certo un caso che, al centro dei nove brani in programma, ci sia una lunga versione del classico di Barbara Lewis ‘Hello stranger’: brano a rischio, viste le millanta interpretazioni che ne sono state date, eppure restituito immerso in un’atmosfera languida e avvolgente di tastiere e archi che colpisce subito nel segno. Tutti insieme, i pezzi non ne ho voluto tralasciare alcuno perché una scelta sarebbe stata difficile e ingiusta assemblano un accurato ritratto della vita in una moderna metropoli, tra opportunità e spersonalizzazione, che ben si accorda con l’oscurità spezzata da immagini sfocate sfoggiata in copertina: soprattutto, però, vanno a costituire quaranta minuti, o poco più, di musica che spande attorno a sé un alone di luminosa (malgrado quanto scritto sopra) bellezza. Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    One of the albums that has completely captured my attention. An album that satisfies you from start to hear that, despite having only 9 songs you want even more. I love this. Expand
  4. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    This is a very good and original album. Love the gentle texture and rhythms of each of the songs. Very relaxing. After several listens, Maxim's I, Hello Stranger and This is a True Heart are standouts for me; however, all songs are great. One of the best albums this year. Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    Beautiful and surprising album. I'll be playing this one for a long long time. Pretty much addresses every quality I look for in an album. Every song has a very deep, orchestral feel. This isn't the kind of album you are going to want to play loudly in a car full of friends, but rather an album best enjoyed in solitude.. Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2013
    8
    Like listening to someone's thoughts throughout a day, "Loud City Song" holds a surreal theme, yet does so through the exploration of peaks and valleys. Many of the low key compositions and arrangements are intense and take a bit of getting used to. Once you're there and have occupied Julia's train of thought, it becomes as comfortable as a cup of unusual tea you can't help but drink to the bottom (and gets tastier with every refill). Regardless of hints at possible influences Julie Anderson and others, this is overall a lovely and original effort with true moments of brilliance. Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2013
    5
    I am totally on the fence with this one. I want to like it. But ultimately I feel it's a bit overrated. Unusual yes and that is a good thing. But it feels like a sorbet when you are extremely hungry nice, refreshing, but doesn't hit the spot. Maybe I'll have to give it a few more listens but there's not much to grasp onto here. Collapse

See all 10 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.