Loud Like Love Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The seventh full-length studio release for the alternative rock trio was produced by Adam Noble.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    80
    [Placebo is now] sounding modern and sneakingly world-beating. [Oct 2013, p.109]
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    74
    Loud Like Love’s loudest moments (“Exit Wounds,” “Purify”) are all puff and no power. But on the tormentedly bemused “Too Many Friends,” we get incisive philosophical reflections on technological alienation and the swelling meaninglessness of modern existence.
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    70
    The release is among the group's most accessible material, even if their tendency toward goth romance and arch fantasy are still very much intact.
  4. Sep 4, 2013
    60
    Easy to absorb musically and easy to ignore lyrically, Loud Like Love is 50 minutes of simply okay alt-rock.
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    50
    Overall, this still feels very much on the level Placebo was at with 1999 single "Every You Every Me," minus more artfully constructed, impressive instrumental compositions and lyricism. [No. 102, p.59]
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    50
    To the casual ear, this could be any of their other albums. But with such a consistent sound, it becomes harder for individual songs to stand out.
  7. Sep 4, 2013
    30
    Loud Like Love is sadly a chugging bore. [Aug-Sep 2013, p.93]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Loud Like Love isn't edgy like Meds or Battle for the Sun; its approach is more of a pop album than a rock album, although some tracks are very guitar heavy. There is a lot of piano in this album, as well as great keyboard backing. Brian's voice is as strong as its ever been, and I think that although this album has a totally different feel, it feels totally natural. Expand
  2. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    Highly addictive, beautifully mature and so Placebo. Can't stop listening to Bosco and A Million Little Pieces. The Loud Like Love is another amazing piece of art that can't disappoint the long time fens. Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    The best album of Placebo, better than Battle for the sun and Meds, this album have at least five epic musics: A million little pieces, Loud like love, scene of crime, rob the bank and hold on to me. Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    Loud Like Love is really one of Placebo's best albums!I could never believe that the band I loved a few years ago could make such a masterpiece again...Maybe because I didn't enjoy Battle For The Sun that much I guess.The weirdest thing ever is that fans think it's one of their best but "critics" seem to hate it.Yes...weird as you my band! Collapse
  5. Jan 31, 2014
    9
    I think this is one of the best albums they have, if not their actual best. This is the result of a mature and experienced band containing all the elements of the band from their beginning till present. All their experience put together in one album. Love it ! Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    8
    Not a bad album, but NOT their best. This album sounds like Placebo, but not as the Placebo we used to know. Some songs are joyful (Loud Like Love, Too Many Friends) and other are very melancholic (Bosco, Hold on to Me) and others could have been part of Battle for the Sun; but it doesn't matter because the album sounds different. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    7
    To me, Meds was one of the highest moments on Placebo's discography. They rediscovered Molko's vocals, Stephan's riffs and Steve's style on drums. After a hardly reachable Sleeping with ghosts, they did it.
    Loud like love is another effort to reach their own style, after a non-recognizable Battle for the sun. No doubt they have evolved, and it's remarkable that they are on their way again.
    Expand

See all 13 User Reviews