Loud

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Loud Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 453 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Barbadian pop star's fifth album is boasted as her rebirth, showcasing her vocal and lyrical range as a versatile artist. It carries more than just club-ready cuts and includes collaborations with Nicki Minaj and Eminem.
Buy On

Top Track

S&M
Na na na, come on Na na na, come on Na na na, na na come on Na na na, come on, come on Come on, na na-na na come on Na na na, come on Na na na, na... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 91
    At times the album's lurid sexuality can feel forced: kink as oversold diva commodity. What Loud showcases best, though, is a star undefeated by her worst circumstances - and finding redemption in exactly the kind of pop nirvana that made her famous in the first place.
  2. Nov 15, 2010
    80
    More than her previous records, Loud is all about Rihanna's fighting side.
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    76
    More than a stocking stuffer but less than an idol, Rihanna has grown into one of the most reliable pop stars we've got.
  4. Nov 23, 2010
    67
    With Rated R, she waded further into the co-writing pool, and the album's resulting darkness could be attributed to her public personal struggles. She goes the exact opposite route on Loud, eschewing any co-writing credits, acting as a conduit for club and radio jams about sex, parties, and sexy parties.
  5. Nov 24, 2010
    60
    There is a clear aspiration for this album to be ubiquitous, and well, overbearing with tunes. Rather than follow the typical pop formula, Rihanna gives an album specifically catered to where she is now with her career, music, and life. And blaring seems to be the point.
  6. Nov 15, 2010
    60
    Loud would not sound quite so slapdash if it did not follow Good Girl Gone Bad, one of the best pop albums of its decade, and Rated R, one of the most fascinating pop albums of the same time frame.
  7. Nov 23, 2010
    40
    Pop chanteuse lets the sunshine back in.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 86
  2. Negative: 8 out of 86
  1. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Just A Perfect Album!
  2. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    I must say, before I start that this album is FULL of surprises and great sounds...Her mixing of different genres and her great vocal isI must say, before I start that this album is FULL of surprises and great sounds...Her mixing of different genres and her great vocal is probably the reason why she's so successful in today's music industry.
    About Loud:
    I think it's great album but, honestly, I expected a little more great hit songs. I mean... it's gonna finish like Rated R... Only Girl made a big smash.... and also S&M will do the same.... maybe Cheers take on some charts but the rest is just gonna fade and there will be many nice songs that are gonna get forgotten because she didn't make a good balance between those slow jams and those smashes....
    But still, it's a great album.... My favorites are Cheers, Skin, Only Girl & What's My Name... The weakest link is, at my opinion Complicated (she sang it very good but it has something that doesn't fit in this whole concept)....
    Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This album is probably one of my favorites of the year. It's super catchy, and there are a variety of songs in it. It isn't repetitive likeThis album is probably one of my favorites of the year. It's super catchy, and there are a variety of songs in it. It isn't repetitive like most albums and what I love is how Rihanna can always keep it fresh and with time she's becoming better and better. Expand
  4. Apr 25, 2016
    8
    The most complete, well-structered and cohesive album by Rihanna. A record full of great songs, genres, that makes it an album full of hits,The most complete, well-structered and cohesive album by Rihanna. A record full of great songs, genres, that makes it an album full of hits, even until today. Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2011
    7
    This album is quite good. There are some great songs in this album (Cheers (Drink To That), Love The Way You Lie Part 2 (feat. Eminem) but itThis album is quite good. There are some great songs in this album (Cheers (Drink To That), Love The Way You Lie Part 2 (feat. Eminem) but it still isn't the best album ever. Still, definitely worth a listen. Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2011
    7
    Rihanna is back again with some strong work after her previous (disastrous, in my opinion) album. While Loud doesn't show a wide range ofRihanna is back again with some strong work after her previous (disastrous, in my opinion) album. While Loud doesn't show a wide range of growth in terms of the sound of the music, the shrillness of her voice has declined and she's singing better than she ever has. Loud is far from a classic and you might not even be listening to it next year but for now, it's a collection of fun, well-produced pop songs that are a joy to listen to. Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    Wow, Im shocked at these reviews, Not too shocked because Critics Overrate & Underrate thing all the time. Poor Rihanna, She thought she couldWow, Im shocked at these reviews, Not too shocked because Critics Overrate & Underrate thing all the time. Poor Rihanna, She thought she could pull off another Bâ Expand

See all 86 User Reviews