Loud - Rihanna
Loud Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 263 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Barbadian pop star's fifth album is boasted as her rebirth, showcasing her vocal and lyrical range as a versatile artist. It carries more than just club-ready cuts and includes collaborations with Nicki Minaj and Eminem.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 91
    At times the album's lurid sexuality can feel forced: kink as oversold diva commodity. What Loud showcases best, though, is a star undefeated by her worst circumstances - and finding redemption in exactly the kind of pop nirvana that made her famous in the first place.
  2. Nov 15, 2010
    80
    More than her previous records, Loud is all about Rihanna's fighting side.
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    76
    More than a stocking stuffer but less than an idol, Rihanna has grown into one of the most reliable pop stars we've got.
  4. Nov 23, 2010
    67
    With Rated R, she waded further into the co-writing pool, and the album's resulting darkness could be attributed to her public personal struggles. She goes the exact opposite route on Loud, eschewing any co-writing credits, acting as a conduit for club and radio jams about sex, parties, and sexy parties.
  5. Nov 24, 2010
    60
    There is a clear aspiration for this album to be ubiquitous, and well, overbearing with tunes. Rather than follow the typical pop formula, Rihanna gives an album specifically catered to where she is now with her career, music, and life. And blaring seems to be the point.
  6. Nov 15, 2010
    60
    Loud would not sound quite so slapdash if it did not follow Good Girl Gone Bad, one of the best pop albums of its decade, and Rated R, one of the most fascinating pop albums of the same time frame.
  7. Nov 23, 2010
    40
    Pop chanteuse lets the sunshine back in.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 75
  2. Negative: 7 out of 75
  1. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    This album is probably one of my favorites of the year. It's super catchy, and there are a variety of songs in it. It isn't repetitive likeThis album is probably one of my favorites of the year. It's super catchy, and there are a variety of songs in it. It isn't repetitive like most albums and what I love is how Rihanna can always keep it fresh and with time she's becoming better and better. DIVA!!! Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    I must say, before I start that this album is FULL of surprises and great sounds...Her mixing of different genres and her great vocal isI must say, before I start that this album is FULL of surprises and great sounds...Her mixing of different genres and her great vocal is probably the reason why she's so successful in today's music industry.
    About Loud:
    I think it's great album but, honestly, I expected a little more great hit songs. I mean... it's gonna finish like Rated R... Only Girl made a big smash.... and also S&M will do the same.... maybe Cheers take on some charts but the rest is just gonna fade and there will be many nice songs that are gonna get forgotten because she didn't make a good balance between those slow jams and those smashes....
    But still, it's a great album.... My favorites are Cheers, Skin, Only Girl & What's My Name... The weakest link is, at my opinion Complicated (she sang it very good but it has something that doesn't fit in this whole concept)....
    Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This album is probably one of my favorites of the year. It's super catchy, and there are a variety of songs in it. It isn't repetitive likeThis album is probably one of my favorites of the year. It's super catchy, and there are a variety of songs in it. It isn't repetitive like most albums and what I love is how Rihanna can always keep it fresh and with time she's becoming better and better. Expand
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    It clearly spawn great tracks. And to be honest, those tracks are pretty good. On the other hand, I can see no vocal evolution here. Instead,It clearly spawn great tracks. And to be honest, those tracks are pretty good. On the other hand, I can see no vocal evolution here. Instead, I witnessed a vocal fall down. With the consistent use of auto-tune in most songs, this album sucked vocally. But the lyrical and musical composition of some tracks like Love The Way You Lie, California King Bed, and Man Down are strong enough to carry the album to a higher rate. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2014
    7
    S&M 55/100
    What's My Name 100/100
    Cheers (Drink to That) 100/100 Fading 100/100 Only Girl (In the World) 15/100 California King Bed 5/100
    S&M 55/100
    What's My Name 100/100
    Cheers (Drink to That) 100/100
    Fading 100/100
    Only Girl (In the World) 15/100
    California King Bed 5/100
    Man Down 100/100
    Raining Men 100/100
    Complicated 5/100
    Skin 100/100
    Love the Way You Lie (Part II) 95/100
    Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    6
    This album is such a complete party. But I think some songs in this cd have more harmony and dancing than the singles. "Man Down" is boring,This album is such a complete party. But I think some songs in this cd have more harmony and dancing than the singles. "Man Down" is boring, "Complicated" or "Skin" can replace this single, I think. But, in general, the album isn't so bad, I just think that a little more of work can transform this in something far better. Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    Wow, Im shocked at these reviews, Not too shocked because Critics Overrate & Underrate thing all the time. Poor Rihanna, She thought she couldWow, Im shocked at these reviews, Not too shocked because Critics Overrate & Underrate thing all the time. Poor Rihanna, She thought she could pull off another Bâ Expand

See all 75 User Reviews