Loud - Rihanna
Loud Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 228 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Barbadian pop star's fifth album is boasted as her rebirth, showcasing her vocal and lyrical range as a versatile artist. It carries more than just club-ready cuts and includes collaborations with Nicki Minaj and Eminem.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 91
    At times the album's lurid sexuality can feel forced: kink as oversold diva commodity. What Loud showcases best, though, is a star undefeated by her worst circumstances - and finding redemption in exactly the kind of pop nirvana that made her famous in the first place.
  2. Nov 15, 2010
    80
    More than her previous records, Loud is all about Rihanna's fighting side.
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    76
    More than a stocking stuffer but less than an idol, Rihanna has grown into one of the most reliable pop stars we've got.
  4. Nov 23, 2010
    67
    With Rated R, she waded further into the co-writing pool, and the album's resulting darkness could be attributed to her public personal struggles. She goes the exact opposite route on Loud, eschewing any co-writing credits, acting as a conduit for club and radio jams about sex, parties, and sexy parties.
  5. Nov 24, 2010
    60
    There is a clear aspiration for this album to be ubiquitous, and well, overbearing with tunes. Rather than follow the typical pop formula, Rihanna gives an album specifically catered to where she is now with her career, music, and life. And blaring seems to be the point.
  6. Nov 15, 2010
    60
    Loud would not sound quite so slapdash if it did not follow Good Girl Gone Bad, one of the best pop albums of its decade, and Rated R, one of the most fascinating pop albums of the same time frame.
  7. Nov 23, 2010
    40
    Pop chanteuse lets the sunshine back in.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 68
  2. Negative: 6 out of 68
  1. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    This album is probably one of my favorites of the year. It's super catchy, and there are a variety of songs in it. It isn't repetitive like most albums and what I love is how Rihanna can always keep it fresh and with time she's becoming better and better. DIVA!!! Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Who cares about this negative user reviews? They are just jealous for this amazing record!
    LOUD is so far the best album of 2010, Rihanna is
    the QUEEN! Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This album is probably one of my favorites of the year. It's super catchy, and there are a variety of songs in it. It isn't repetitive like most albums and what I love is how Rihanna can always keep it fresh and with time she's becoming better and better. Expand
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    It clearly spawn great tracks. And to be honest, those tracks are pretty good. On the other hand, I can see no vocal evolution here. Instead, I witnessed a vocal fall down. With the consistent use of auto-tune in most songs, this album sucked vocally. But the lyrical and musical composition of some tracks like Love The Way You Lie, California King Bed, and Man Down are strong enough to carry the album to a higher rate. Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2013
    7
    This album for me was her best until I listened to the others more thoroughly and enjoyed this one less. The standout track has to be 'Man Down' as it takes her back to her Caribbean roots with the letdowns being 'Raining Men', 'Skin' and 'Complicated'. But considering that by averaging out the 11 songs scores I got 7.36 it shows that this album is actually pretty good. Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2012
    6
    I leave above the average for the songs are good, which there is no way to contest. However, it's just an album made â
  7. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    Wow, Im shocked at these reviews, Not too shocked because Critics Overrate & Underrate thing all the time. Poor Rihanna, She thought she could pull off another Bâ Expand

See all 68 User Reviews