• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Loud Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The popular German trance DJ offers up his first set of original songs, featuring guest vocals by the likes of Kelis and Finley Quaye.

Top Track

Na na na, come on Na na na, come on Na na na, na na come on Na na na, come on, come on Come on, na na-na na come on Na na na, come on Na na na, na... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. So, in a strange way, Loud is an extremely successful album for Maas: it rids him of the trance tag, has enough vocal dance-pop to win over even more admirers, and is so diverse that everyone will find at least one enjoyable track.
  2. 80
    Maas has done what not many others in his class have managed to successfully pull off: making a truly decent, engaging record that is more than just 72 minutes of electronica generica trading on name recognition.
  3. Blender
    Maas translates this superclub-oriented sound -- all tectonic bass and whooshing stero-panned effects -- into home-friendly music. [Apr/May 2002, p.115]
  4. Maas' forays into more conventional song structure tend to falter, thanks mainly to weak vocals and corny lyrics that overshadow some interesting instrumental arrangements.... Fortunately, half of Loud is vocal-free, and it's here that Maas' music really shines.
  5. Spin
    There's plenty of that spacey/dirty sound on Loud, even when the tracks don't fit the trance template. [Apr 2002, p.122]
  6. Like his predecessors', the results here are decidedly mixed.
  7. Uncut
    Maas isn't confident enough to strike out in any single direction, and the LP feels too consciously aimed at crossing over to the pop charts. [May 2002, p.98]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Nov 15, 2010
    ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss Collapse
  2. AnshulJ
    Jul 15, 2003
    Cool CD. Play it Loud and Keep on Dancin'.
  3. Nikolas
    Aug 3, 2005
    very sexy, eerie electro-funk record
  4. MacM
    Sep 28, 2003
    Two strong singles and a tonne of lacklustre filler. Stick to DJ-ing you ugly Euro!