Love Album, Part Two - Angels & Airwaves
Love Album, Part Two Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio album was released in conjunction with the film Love and executive produced by band leader Tom DeLonge.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    75
    Angels & Airwaves has carved out a nice little spot for itself in the oxymoronic world of thinking-man's arena-rock.
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    70
    Love: Part 2 winds up as the group's most effective album yet: it channels their '80s hero worship into something propulsive and distinctive.
  3. 60
    Except for the dearth of truly original ideas, Love Part II is, at its core, just another Angels & Airwaves record--nothing more, nothing less. [Jan 2012, p.100]
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    50
    Any distinction between "Dry Your Eyes" (which sneers, "Don't pretend to cry") and "The Revelator" (which offers moral support in hard times) is erased by the band's numbing grandiosity.
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    40
    It can be boring and not much fun. [19 Nov 2011, p.50]
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    30
    There's nothing here to be triumphant about.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 1, 2014
    9
    I don't see L)VE part I even though L)VE is now a double album. L)VE part I was released for free when it came out. Angels And Airwaves needs to get L)VE part I posted, as well as Stomping The Phantom Brake Pedal so I can write a review.

    Saturday Love (9.25) I remember when this album came out the same day as Skyrim and I had a semi in my grandma's basement while I was waiting for Skyrim to download on DSL which is slow as heck playing this joint. This album really came out 11-11-11 not 11-1-11. Saturday Love is one of my favorite songs ever because of the melodic rises especially in the beginning and the lyrics which are very awesome.

    Surrender (9) This song and the music video correlated with it represents how alot of my generation feels about the times. The song just really just promotes never giving up even though I have. The song itself is just really upbeat and always gives me a positive mood when I listen to it.

    Anxiety (9.25) Another one of my favorites. The message within this song is so great along with the instrumentals. Most people in their twenties feel pressured because of how the world is changing and how the stale population doesn't care because they refuse to believe it or it's too much work. What this song did for me was relieve some of the stress associated with life with the line 'just a passenger.' The songs instrumentals change when they don't even need to and makes it even better. This song is in my top three on the album depending on what type of day I'm having.

    My Heroine (It's Not Over) (9.25) This is a great love song written by Angels And Airwaves and if you listen to just the instrumental you will agree with my score I think. What I like about this song is how it's calm in the beginning and it changes to a more mainstream rock guitar further within the song. The changing of the elements really make the song great I think.

    Moon As My Witness (9) This is another great love song by Angels And Airwaves. My favorite line in the song is 'when I'm on my own, and your all I feel.' The song gets unique in the middle and the flow of it becomes totally different and it is pure instrumental which flows into the next song.

    Dry Your Eyes (9) This song has more of an Blink 182 feel but it's not punk and I'm glad. I gave it a nine because of how it flows in from the last song. This is a good song for helping you feel more positive even if it feels terribly impossible. The drumming sounds very complex and when Ilan busted out that Piano at that concert and it went viral on YouTube, all the critics were silenced.

    The Revelator (8.75) This song has a very interesting tune to it, and it sounds a little off base in the beginning but I like it. My favorite part of the song is the 'no ones dying' line and the harmony associated with the song around that time. If the beginning didn't sound a little fonky to me, I probably would have given this song a nine.

    One Last Thing (9) This song has a great message I feel and how the idea behind the song is finding something to base you life off of. The reason why I give this song a nine is because of my personal experiences and that is the only reason. The quote from the movie L)VE that talks about 'finding something bigger than yourself' is a really great premise and how you should look at life I feel.

    Inertia (8.5) This song has a unique sound to it. The guitar and synth in the beginning really make a really interesting beat. The song changes and I feel it improves even though the girl at the end is way too happy I think.

    Behold A Pale Horse (9) While this song is great instrumentally, the lyrics can be somewhat depressing. The book of Revelation talks about the Pale Horse and alot of death is associated with it. If you listen to the lyrics, they talk about there being no gates of pearl. It really raises the question of what is Angels And Airwaves spiritual beliefs are. I am giving it a nine though for basing their feelings on the subject off facts and not emotions. There is a higher power though I feel, his name is B.O. yeah ya know. We know that for a fact yo.

    All That We Are (9.5) This is my favorite song by Angels And Airwaves. Because of the amazing guitar work at the end of the song along with the tender lyrics with the Piano background. And plus, I like rhyming the title like I do with all songs.
    Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    Ignore the critics. Love part 2 is the best Angels and Airwaves to date. The album brings an energy that most bands cant create. Many critics blast then band as nothing more than Arena Rock but i would argue that the music is much more mature and developed than your average arena rock band. This is a great album and is def worth the money. Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2012
    8
    Worst AVA album, actually. BUT this band is so great so this doesn't matter. It's a bit unvaried but still great! Similar to its predecessors, 'Love: Part Two" has no really striking songs, it's the whole album who makes it. 11 songs full of beauty, which make me happy everytime I hear them :) Collapse