User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 141

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    An absolutely amazing album ! In my opinion, its Dylan's best since Blood on the Tracks (1975) and arguably one of Bobby's best three or four records. Love and Theft improves with each listen. Brilliant.
  2. RichardK
    Jan 8, 2007
    5
    If you never really liked Dylan (like myself), you'll not like this album either. I had high hopes after seeing the critical acclaim and incrediably high ratings given this album. But as I'm learning, a high rating on Metacritic usually only means that fans of the artist find this one of his best. Sample it first before you buy. If you don't like it after sampling, save If you never really liked Dylan (like myself), you'll not like this album either. I had high hopes after seeing the critical acclaim and incrediably high ratings given this album. But as I'm learning, a high rating on Metacritic usually only means that fans of the artist find this one of his best. Sample it first before you buy. If you don't like it after sampling, save your hard earned money for something you'll like. Expand
  3. joebob
    Mar 31, 2007
    0
    crappy sell out album, almost unlistenable
  4. AndrzejB
    May 7, 2007
    1
    boring and unimportant
  5. BubbaHick
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    Bob Dylan sucks he's a fruitcake and should dye, He's like fucking Cher!!!
  6. richtones
    Mar 31, 2007
    1
    he should retire now1
  7. bobd
    Mar 31, 2007
    1
    could not be any worse
  8. Heather
    Oct 2, 2001
    10
    It's simple. Bob rocks.
  9. MarkR.
    Oct 2, 2001
    10
    Truly exceptional! In this age of cotton candy country and bubble gum pop/rock, Love and Theft is so refreshingly real. Absolutely authentic. A patchwork quilt of genius. Plus, Ol' Bob seems to be having himself a ball...which in and of itself is something to hear.
  10. JasperS.
    Oct 2, 2001
    8
    some funky, some bluesy, some jazzy, some rocky it's a nice album but also very strange. So a real Dylan album.
  11. AlbertoC.
    Oct 3, 2001
    9
    A great album near to 10 !
  12. PeterD.
    Oct 5, 2001
    10
    Grand Pa' Bob know what is Music ... Blues, Rock, Country, Jazz, Folk and Love Italian Friend
  13. tim
    Oct 5, 2004
    10
    not only one of the best by dylan -- one of the best by anyone. if i could only take one song to a desert island, it would be mississippi...
  14. Botticelli'sNephew
    Oct 2, 2001
    10
    Gets better and better with repeated llistenings.
  15. JohnD.
    Oct 3, 2001
    10
    Remarkably loving & energetic, a celebration of freedom from w/in pain, a meditation on fate & its refusal, this collection soars throughout like very few other high points in this artist's long career.
  16. erikhaatvedt
    Oct 6, 2001
    10
    as dylan himself said: "it's a greatest hits album"
  17. erikhaatvedt
    Oct 6, 2001
    10
    as dylan himself said: "it's a greatest hits album"
  18. SigurjonThorF.
    Oct 1, 2002
    10
    Unbelievably good! You alway hear something new with each listen, every song is a plesant surprise. So many qoutable lines, so many clever word play and different things tied together you never thought would ever be related. Thank you Bob. sion
  19. WimE.
    May 23, 2002
    10
    No words needed
  20. HarmS.
    Jan 4, 2004
    7
    A relaxed and laidback record. Dylan and the other musicians are really enjoying themselves. One of the best records he has made in the last 20 years, but compared to his best work this record is not very special. It is good, but not great.
  21. wayneh
    Apr 7, 2004
    9
    still got it
  22. ThomasD
    Dec 25, 2005
    9
    Wow, he's happy again. I'm glad Bob, it's good to see you happy again.
  23. SammyM
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    This is my favorite album. It's not only a great album but a great document in American music history.
  24. jamess
    Feb 9, 2006
    10
    Being a Dylan freak, I might be biased ;) but this CD is worth being biased about. The epitome of cool.
  25. BrianM
    Mar 5, 2006
    9
    Excellent in almost every way! Total enjoyment is to be expected when playing this recording, and not from just Dylan fans. This is for anyone that enjoys meaningful music, from the lyrics of "Missisippee" to the driving beat of track 5.
  26. PeterE
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    An astonishing album. This is up there with Dylan,s masterpieces.
  27. waynet
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    I have been a Dylan fan for over 25 years and 6 years after the release of the album, I still find myself having to play it. Every track is Dylan at is best. This is the best of his recent trilogy
  28. RussellF
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    The critics are right on this one - a truly great CD.
  29. AlanB.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    This album was released on September 11, 2001. Bod Dylan may not be a prophet but he is a poet and poetry and prophecy go hand in hand. Listen to each track several times and you will be rewarded with beauty, insight and truth.
  30. sanv
    Oct 2, 2001
    9
    I think this is a great album, though call me crazy but Time Out Of Mind was THE album for me. I think TOOM was a 10 so I have to give this one a 9 and a half. It is a masterpiece still, and overall, this is the disc that I would assume could convert the conquered. His lyric style has sort of reverted back to that style which produced his seminal albums like Blonde On Blonde and Highway I think this is a great album, though call me crazy but Time Out Of Mind was THE album for me. I think TOOM was a 10 so I have to give this one a 9 and a half. It is a masterpiece still, and overall, this is the disc that I would assume could convert the conquered. His lyric style has sort of reverted back to that style which produced his seminal albums like Blonde On Blonde and Highway 61. He is the master, there's no doubt and I think he remembers that finally, and I must add, it's about time that he did. Now we can continue on in the direction that should have stayed had there probably been no boos in the audiences way back when. Buy this album, if not steal it from Walmart. There's bound to be something on it you'll love. He knows alot of things and no one says it better than Bob so take heed. Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. "Love and Theft" sees Dylan roaring back from Highway 61 at full bore, reminding us -- as he did on Blonde on Blonde, The Basement Tapes, and Blood on the Tracks -- that, like him or not, there isn't anybody else who can do his job.
  2. Mojo
    90
    An album virtually bereft of fluff and filler. [Album Of The Month] [Oct 2001, p.104]
  3. Spin
    90
    Where [Time Out Of Mind] stared down heartbreak and mortality with somber melancholy, Love and Theft finds Dylan taking on those same themes loaded up with piss and vinegar. [Nov 2001, p.127]