Love Is a Four Letter Word

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Apr 17, 2012
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MES
    Apr 18, 2012
    8
    I generally like Jason's lyrically interesting pop. He's a good songsmith, albeit not great. Not yet. This album is readily listenable but less than half of the 12 songs qualify as above-average songs. My favorite: The World As I See It. A bit disappointing given that I think he's got better songs in him than is displayed on this album. Still, for likeability and upbeat message,I generally like Jason's lyrically interesting pop. He's a good songsmith, albeit not great. Not yet. This album is readily listenable but less than half of the 12 songs qualify as above-average songs. My favorite: The World As I See It. A bit disappointing given that I think he's got better songs in him than is displayed on this album. Still, for likeability and upbeat message, I'll give it an 8. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    The songwriting, melodies, and vocals on this album are outstanding. Despite the mellower, and more consistent, tone as compared to previous albums, this is a refreshingly good collection and another terrific effort from Jason Mraz.
  3. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Welcome to Jason's journey... I listened to this album to cover to cover and was carried away. While some might argue that songs tend to be mellow, I love it. No ups or downs... common musical and lyrical journey with no major twists or bends. The initial feel and riffs from his debut can be found in in most songs. He has managed to keep true to himself. Was scared that this album would beWelcome to Jason's journey... I listened to this album to cover to cover and was carried away. While some might argue that songs tend to be mellow, I love it. No ups or downs... common musical and lyrical journey with no major twists or bends. The initial feel and riffs from his debut can be found in in most songs. He has managed to keep true to himself. Was scared that this album would be massively commercial with loads of electrical insensitivities.
    Great tunes, interesting lyrics and awesome guitar riffs, melodies depicting his musical signature. Vividly encourage you to listen to it. Have been following Jason's career for close to 10 years now, before he was all big and famous.
    Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. May 29, 2012
    70
    [Mraz] is taking the true-blue pop rock formula and expanding on it in ways other, less competent musicians fail to do in today's world of watered-down songwriting and formulaic radio.
  2. May 11, 2012
    40
    For a listener who's only been aware of Mraz by reputation, this is no instant-fix point of entry. It relies on past experiences, knowledge of what the artist is capable of rather than anything he delivers with consistency across these 12 songs.
  3. Q Magazine
    Apr 25, 2012
    40
    He's re-engaged the formula of sweet, James Taylor-ish vocals, lyrical inoffensiveness... and a laid-back Jack Johnson-like musicality where 5/6 embraces cruise ship reggae. [May 2012, p.101]