Love Is Overtaking Me

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Love Is Overtaking Me Image

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The album features 21 tracks never before released by the late singer/songwriter Arthur Russell.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Uncut
    It features tracks recorded with rock outfits like The Flying Hearts which recall Jonathan Richman and Lou Reed; minimal, folksy miniatures that sound a ltttle like John Martyn or James Taylor; and a string of delicious, whimsical synth-pop songs that are as good as anything in the early-'80s canon. [Dec 2008, p.115]
  2. Love Is overtaking Me is just another reason to mourn Russell's far too early loss.
  3. The tracks currently being dusted off in his archive, however, have so far been dependably strong, despite being mostly unfinished tracks of incredible musical variety.
  4. Mojo
    That these and a tranche of equally alluring gems were never released during Russell's lifetime only adds to their poignancy. [Dec 2008, p.104]
  5. 80
    Love letters, brief smiles, a touch on the arm, friends, and pets abound; throughout, Russell poignantly captures and echoes life's ephemeral delights.
  6. Culled from the 1,000 tapes he left behind on his death in 1992, this collection showcases an immense, eclectic talent.
  7. Q Magazine
    It's clear Russell was a true renaissance man, as at home with thoughtful guitar pop as he was with New York disco. [Dec 2008, p.143]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of

Awards & Rankings