Love Is The Answer

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Sep 29, 2009
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ScooterC.
    Oct 5, 2009
    2
    Always will love the Babs, but give me Diana Krall instead! The album is on Quaaludes and Xanax, nothing stands out, and I do mean nothing. Barbra is flat in some songs and while the pared down arrangements are good for singers like Krall, it doesn't work for Ms. Streisand's big voice and even bigger interpretations. Sorry, no me gusta!
  2. ArnieR.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Nothing but perfect from talented and genius singer. p.s. all music guide rating in their website is 70 not 90.thanks.
  3. PeterM.
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    The most inspired and personal album she's made since Higher Ground in 1997.
  4. DavidH.
    Oct 5, 2009
    9
    I'm a big fan of Barbra's records from the 60's and her new record comes very close to that sophistication and charm of that recording period. I really don't think she's come this close to it really since then. Less is so very much more here. Thanks to Diana for streamlining and helping create a beautiful and sublime record
  5. RickK.
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    One of Streisand's best ever!!!
  6. TamirB.
    Oct 6, 2009
    4
    So very boring one cannot avoid falling into a ditch when listing and driving, be aware. Talented as she is this CD has no true extra value, the interpretations are so predictable the voice not as good as in the past, even the fans of the diva will be disappointed, please Mrs S, record something fresh and new already.
  7. ErikB.
    Oct 3, 2009
    6
    She's trying too hard...just sing Barbra....we and YOU know you can..... But...you still goit it!!!!!
  8. A.J.G.
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    Thank you Barbra Thank you Diana.
  9. BillP
    Oct 5, 2009
    9
    Streisand was and is the best female vocalist...has been since The Barbra Streisand Album, and still is with Love is The Answer. You can keep your Dions, Houstons, Careys....all fine singers with fine instruments, but there is ONLY one Barbra. At 67, her voice is in MUCH better shape than Mariah "I only whisper now" Careys or Whitney "I've so misused my voice I sound like I gargle Streisand was and is the best female vocalist...has been since The Barbra Streisand Album, and still is with Love is The Answer. You can keep your Dions, Houstons, Careys....all fine singers with fine instruments, but there is ONLY one Barbra. At 67, her voice is in MUCH better shape than Mariah "I only whisper now" Careys or Whitney "I've so misused my voice I sound like I gargle with gravel" Houston. Bravo, Barbra. Expand
  10. Oct 29, 2010
    9
    At such an age, she proved she is still here. Classic singer, classic songs, maybe only in winter can you really have the mood for enjoying this classic album.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. The overall effect is that this is one of the Streisand albums most appealing to her fans and her potential fans--which includes nearly everyone who appreciates a singer singing like she's lived every line of her songs.
  2. Streisand gives her trademark romantic-ballad treatment to 13 well-known standards.
  3. At 67, Streisand’s gorgeous tones and powers of interpretation are utterly intact, and also front-and-center thanks to producer Diana Krall’s class-conscious pairing of her own understated quartet with Johnny Mandel’s velvety orchestrations.