Love Lust Faith + Dreams - 30 Seconds to Mars
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 17, 2013
    40
    Giant "woooaaahhs" abound but as with anything frantically chasing arena singalongs, Love Lust Faith + Dreams feels empty in the extreme. [Jul 2013, p.111]
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    30 Seconds to Mars' latest collection is not cloying, expansive yet often economical, approachable without being familiar. [11 May 2013, p.52]
  3. May 23, 2013
    60
    Flawed yet with some redemption, Love Lust Faith + Dreams is a mixed effort.
  4. May 22, 2013
    82
    Some of the music occasionally leans toward being overwrought, but mostly Love Lust Faith + Dreams--along with its Leto-directed visuals--invests itself fully and artfully in its own vision.
  5. May 22, 2013
    60
    With shorter songs and more restrained production it lacks the epic quality of its predecessor, and overall it is weaker for it.
  6. May 20, 2013
    40
    Their brand of gut-wrenching emo, aligned to fearsome fantasy rock remains both wildly overcooked and deeply derivative. [Jun 2013, p.79]
  7. 91
    The album's overarching narrative is both inexplicable and pointless, but throbbing modern-rock anthems "Up in the Air" and "Bright Lights" offer visceral, hands-up hedonism. [24 May 2013, p.83]
  8. May 20, 2013
    40
    A disappointingly tepid affair.
  9. May 20, 2013
    70
    30 Seconds to Mars are no longer afraid to dabble with disco--"Up in the Air" puts all four on the floor and there's an overall tendency to push big beats over hard attacks--and this loosening of their stylistic confines results in their boldest, brightest, most imaginative record yet.
  10. May 20, 2013
    40
    While Leto's vocals remain as central as ever, there's only so much you can take of his constant overbearing bellowing. Love Lust Faith + Dreams was set up as a new chapter for the band. The end result just feels empty.
  11. May 20, 2013
    40
    If Derek Zoolander made a record it would sound like Thirty Seconds to Mars: stadium rock so vapid and bombastic that if frontman Jared Leto were pulling off some kind of long-duration joke it would be genius.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. May 21, 2013
    1
    I was once such a fan of this band I went as far as to get a tattoo. After listening to this album, how much I regret that choice. This boring and lifeless album is a shadow of previous albums. So many times I was told to embrace their change but clearly all change is not for the best. With repetitive noises played across the whole album with no songs really offering a roar of excitement heard in 'The Kill' or 'Closer to the Edge'. With a minimal 12 songs and 3 of those consisting of nothing but a random assortment of noise, disappointment is an understatement. I am reminded of Linkin Parks 'Living Things' album... Awful. Full Review »
  2. May 21, 2013
    8
    This is by far the best album by the band. I said it, they said and other people said it. It's undeniable. It's strong. It's epic. It's deep. You can realize this is lyrically personal. The best tracks here are "Do or Die", "Bright Lights", the lead single "Up in the Air" and "City of Angels". "Conquistador", although a little bit repetitive, does its job well so as "The Race". "End of All Days" is good but certainly not a highlight. Such as "Northern Lights", a track made to please fans of a heavier 30 Seconds to Mars. Some tracks, such as "Birth", give the impression of being fillers. "Depuis Le D├ębut", for instance, was supposed to work as an incredible ending. Well... it's an ending. Not incredible though. "Convergence", although a little bit vague, works better with the concept of the album than the last track. And "Pyres of Varanasi"... that's something to discuss.
    So, the bottom line is: There are some excellent highlights songs here that are worth checking out. But buying this album should be a more delicate decision because there are eight full songs here and four "interludes". That means that 1/3 of the album could feel be a filler for you, if you don't appreciate the kind of art that Jared and his gang are trying to express through this album.
    My suggestion is, if you like the first single, to check out tracks like "Do or Die" and "City of Angels" and see how you feel about them. Next step, "Bright Lights" and "The Race" and so on.
    Full Review »
  3. May 21, 2013
    10
    I think this album is great. I mean every song is amazing its a different direction and I'm in love with it. Each song on the album is versatile and you'll never get bored. Full Review »