Love Lust Faith + Dreams - 30 Seconds to Mars

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. May 22, 2013
    Some of the music occasionally leans toward being overwrought, but mostly Love Lust Faith + Dreams--along with its Leto-directed visuals--invests itself fully and artfully in its own vision.
  2. 91
    The album's overarching narrative is both inexplicable and pointless, but throbbing modern-rock anthems "Up in the Air" and "Bright Lights" offer visceral, hands-up hedonism. [24 May 2013, p.83]
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. May 21, 2013
    I was once such a fan of this band I went as far as to get a tattoo. After listening to this album, how much I regret that choice. This boring and lifeless album is a shadow of previous albums. So many times I was told to embrace their change but clearly all change is not for the best. With repetitive noises played across the whole album with no songs really offering a roar of excitement heard in 'The Kill' or 'Closer to the Edge'. With a minimal 12 songs and 3 of those consisting of nothing but a random assortment of noise, disappointment is an understatement. I am reminded of Linkin Parks 'Living Things' album... Awful. Full Review »
  2. May 21, 2013
    This is by far the best album by the band. I said it, they said and other people said it. It's undeniable. It's strong. It's epic. It's deep. You can realize this is lyrically personal. The best tracks here are "Do or Die", "Bright Lights", the lead single "Up in the Air" and "City of Angels". "Conquistador", although a little bit repetitive, does its job well so as "The Race". "End of All Days" is good but certainly not a highlight. Such as "Northern Lights", a track made to please fans of a heavier 30 Seconds to Mars. Some tracks, such as "Birth", give the impression of being fillers. "Depuis Le D├ębut", for instance, was supposed to work as an incredible ending. Well... it's an ending. Not incredible though. "Convergence", although a little bit vague, works better with the concept of the album than the last track. And "Pyres of Varanasi"... that's something to discuss.
    So, the bottom line is: There are some excellent highlights songs here that are worth checking out. But buying this album should be a more delicate decision because there are eight full songs here and four "interludes". That means that 1/3 of the album could feel be a filler for you, if you don't appreciate the kind of art that Jared and his gang are trying to express through this album.
    My suggestion is, if you like the first single, to check out tracks like "Do or Die" and "City of Angels" and see how you feel about them. Next step, "Bright Lights" and "The Race" and so on.
    Full Review »
  3. May 21, 2013
    I think this album is great. I mean every song is amazing its a different direction and I'm in love with it. Each song on the album is versatile and you'll never get bored. Full Review »