Love Lust Faith + Dreams - 30 Seconds to Mars
Love Lust Faith + Dreams Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length release for the rock band led by Jared Leto was co-produced with Steve Lillywhite.
  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, New Wave/Post-Punk Revival, Hard Rock, Emo-Pop, Neo-Prog
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 91
    The album's overarching narrative is both inexplicable and pointless, but throbbing modern-rock anthems "Up in the Air" and "Bright Lights" offer visceral, hands-up hedonism. [24 May 2013, p.83]
  2. May 22, 2013
    82
    Some of the music occasionally leans toward being overwrought, but mostly Love Lust Faith + Dreams--along with its Leto-directed visuals--invests itself fully and artfully in its own vision.
  3. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    30 Seconds to Mars' latest collection is not cloying, expansive yet often economical, approachable without being familiar. [11 May 2013, p.52]
  4. May 22, 2013
    60
    With shorter songs and more restrained production it lacks the epic quality of its predecessor, and overall it is weaker for it.
  5. May 20, 2013
    40
    If Derek Zoolander made a record it would sound like Thirty Seconds to Mars: stadium rock so vapid and bombastic that if frontman Jared Leto were pulling off some kind of long-duration joke it would be genius.
  6. May 20, 2013
    40
    Their brand of gut-wrenching emo, aligned to fearsome fantasy rock remains both wildly overcooked and deeply derivative. [Jun 2013, p.79]
  7. Jun 17, 2013
    40
    Giant "woooaaahhs" abound but as with anything frantically chasing arena singalongs, Love Lust Faith + Dreams feels empty in the extreme. [Jul 2013, p.111]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. May 21, 2013
    10
    Great album, so different and original. For the most part, it is a minimalistic record, so not everybody will like it. Just ridiculous those critics talking about Jordan Catalano. Expand
  2. May 22, 2013
    10
    This album is somewhat different then their last album but that's as expected because they change and give something new from each album. If you like their early released song from the album "Up In The Air" you will more then likely like the album a lot. I've been a 30 Seconds to Mars fan since their first album and while this isn't their best album it sure is great overall if you're a fan. Expand
  3. May 21, 2013
    10
    I think this album is great. I mean every song is amazing its a different direction and I'm in love with it. Each song on the album is versatile and you'll never get bored. Expand
  4. May 22, 2013
    9
    great album,i say it is quiet different from their previous works,less scream vocals,less hard rock,but it's still a fantastic album,songs including northern lights end of all days etc are great.. Expand
  5. May 21, 2013
    8
    This is by far the best album by the band. I said it, they said and other people said it. It's undeniable. It's strong. It's epic. It's deep. You can realize this is lyrically personal. The best tracks here are "Do or Die", "Bright Lights", the lead single "Up in the Air" and "City of Angels". "Conquistador", although a little bit repetitive, does its job well so as "The Race". "End of All Days" is good but certainly not a highlight. Such as "Northern Lights", a track made to please fans of a heavier 30 Seconds to Mars. Some tracks, such as "Birth", give the impression of being fillers. "Depuis Le Début", for instance, was supposed to work as an incredible ending. Well... it's an ending. Not incredible though. "Convergence", although a little bit vague, works better with the concept of the album than the last track. And "Pyres of Varanasi"... that's something to discuss.
    So, the bottom line is: There are some excellent highlights songs here that are worth checking out. But buying this album should be a more delicate decision because there are eight full songs here and four "interludes". That means that 1/3 of the album could feel be a filler for you, if you don't appreciate the kind of art that Jared and his gang are trying to express through this album.
    My suggestion is, if you like the first single, to check out tracks like "Do or Die" and "City of Angels" and see how you feel about them. Next step, "Bright Lights" and "The Race" and so on.
    Collapse
  6. May 21, 2013
    6
    Good. They are back with good songs but is not their best album. Some songs are incredible but just some. Anyway, it's real and Jared's voice sounds great. Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    1
    I left the terrible pop scene after realizing how terrible it was a few years back. I heard This is War in the Dragon Age trailers and I fell in love instantly. I furiously looked for more and was pleased to find so much. I have been a proud and outspoken fan of 30STM since the beginning especially since their songs helped me through some personal issues, particularly Closer to the Edge.

    You can see why I was so excited when I had heard this album come out. Then I actually HEARD it. I had read that it was a bit of a departure from their usual stuff, but I shrugged it off. And I read great things about Up in the Air as well. It was sent to SPACE, so it must be good right? Those are SCIENTISTS. That was the first I listened to. "Wait wait wait. Is this 30STM? Am I listening to the right band???" It didn't live up to the hype. I listened to a few others and immediately lost interest. Months later I found a youtube video with part of Conquistador in the background and thought, "Hey that's familiar. Is that 30STM? Why haven't I heard this before?" So I looked into it and was surprised to find that it was this album. Maybe I was quick to judge. I tried again. I thought that maybe it was just those, but again and agian I was let down and left with a bad taste in my mouth. I hoped that in Love, and most ESPECIALLY in Faith and Dreams that I would find that awe inspiring rock, but it wasn't there. The final Depuis Le Début was an absolute disaster. A complete and utter MESS.

    It was such a MASSIVE DISAPPOINTMENT. A return to the pop that I had been so enthusiastic to reject. They did not give me that emotion or introspection I was looking for. Only disappointment. These songs are filled with repetetive beats and vapid lyrics. It was more that just a small departure. It was almost unrecognizable.

    A travesty.
    Expand

See all 15 User Reviews