• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Nov 30, 2010
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Although overdoing the soulful melodrama doesn't beat overdoing the suave cool as decisively as the retro-nuevo believe, the songwriting here is a big extra difference maker, with enough pop moves to lighten the overall mood.
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    90
    After factoring in the fictitious post-breakup duet with Ne-Yo (which is more like a verbal joust), the self-flagellating "Holding You Down (Goin' in Circles)" (a collision of oft-used samples and references that does not sound the least bit tired), and the nakedly ambitious "Famous" (where she yearns for girls to want to be like her), it becomes increasingly clear that Love Me Back sprawls and stuns in equal measure.
  3. Dec 7, 2010
    90
    Love Me Back is worth so much more than the future classic tag it's been lumped with--it's an instant and self-assured blast of a record, its maker a new star to love
  4. 83
    True to her nickname "Mini MJB" (as in, Mary J. Blige), she's the best kind of R&B paradox: the vulnerable diva.
  5. Dec 22, 2010
    80
    There are times when the album relies too much on vintage soul staples, with songs like Stuttering coming across as pastiche, but then the strident beat of Love You Long Time and the Elliott-produced dancehall-influenced closer Luv Back remind you of how versatile that voice can be.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    80
    This Philly-born belter sounds like a direct reaction against the Auto-Tune era, with Sullivan turning her pain into a performance worthy of a vintage Apollo headlining gig.
  7. Jan 14, 2011
    78
    It is readily apparent on Love Me Back that Ms. Sullivan is making a huge push at greater mainstream success.
  8. 75
    She finds the plaintive center, the kind of soothing intimacy that almost seems like the way we'd sing to ourselves in times of trouble.
  9. Dec 7, 2010
    70
    It's disappointing that she doesn't raise the bar on her sophomore effort, Love Me Back--but she doesn't crumble under the weight of expectations either.
  10. 70
    Her voice is narrow and jagged, with more grain and more tears as she applies gospel dynamics to her venting; the productions use hip-hop programming but aim for soul. While Ms. Sullivan revels in drama, she still has a sense of humor.
  11. Sep 17, 2012
    60
    The 23-year-old diva plays a little nicer, adhering to the Mary J. Blige school of gritty, nuanced hip-hop soul.
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    it's obvious that is better than her last effort Fearless because her new album is plagued with catchy melodies, the resonant mix of genresit's obvious that is better than her last effort Fearless because her new album is plagued with catchy melodies, the resonant mix of genres and the distinctive voice of Jazmine, solid and at times really surprising like her power R&B-soul ballad 10 seconds, the sticky and pop Good Enough, the ingenious Holding You Down under the excellent production such as Missy Elliott in Excuse Me o Luv Back! the great collaboration with Ne-Yo!!! In short the best R&B album of the year and a phenomenal growth of this girl genius urban music!!! Full Review »
  2. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    Jazmine is unique with her own perfect style...! her voice sound amazing in each track like 10 Seconds...and the production of Missy ElliottJazmine is unique with her own perfect style...! her voice sound amazing in each track like 10 Seconds...and the production of Missy Elliott make her best achievement like Holding You Down, Excuse Me or Luv Back.
    Jazmine Sullivan achieve to be one of the R&B artists most prominent and creative, her music is a mixture of Neo-Soul, Hip-Hop Soul, pop and R&B.
    Love Me Back is mature, deep, and strong!
    Her passional spirit and persona introducing to the best R&B album of the year!
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    In the Top 2 Best R&B albums of 2010. Wonderful job by Ms. Sullivan. The standouts were "Holding You Down", "Don't Make Me Wait", "Excuse Me"In the Top 2 Best R&B albums of 2010. Wonderful job by Ms. Sullivan. The standouts were "Holding You Down", "Don't Make Me Wait", "Excuse Me" and "U Get On My Nerves". Full Review »