Love, Pain & the whole crazy thing

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Nov 7, 2006
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TrishG
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    This CD is FANTASTIC. There is not one track that I don't love!!
  2. CandaceC
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    I am a huge keith urban fan and I have been for 7 years. I love this CD and I love everyone of his CD's. I love every song on this CD.
  3. JulieM
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    Keith just never stops reaching and coming up with gold!
  4. KatyD
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    Fabulous!!!! He is the most creative talented HOT artist ever!
  5. NikkiR
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    I think he is a wonderful singer/sonwriter/guitarist. I don't think it sounds pop at all...if anything rock mixed with country...I give it 10+
  6. CarolynG
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    I love this CD, this is the very first time i have ever liked every single song on an album. It has everything u could look for in an album. I truly believe that this is Keith Urban finest piece of work. People who don't even like country have found this enjoyable. I hope that this album will win many awards, I'm not saying this because im a HUGE Keith Urban fan, I'm saying I love this CD, this is the very first time i have ever liked every single song on an album. It has everything u could look for in an album. I truly believe that this is Keith Urban finest piece of work. People who don't even like country have found this enjoyable. I hope that this album will win many awards, I'm not saying this because im a HUGE Keith Urban fan, I'm saying this because it truly is a work of art. Expand
  7. RiddleB
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Awesome!!
  8. KatyJ
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    Great album! Faster Car, Used to the Pain, and I Told You So are all really rhymic and interesting to listen to again and again. Raise the Barn is a classic country duet with Ronnie Dunn. Yes, Keith really got it right this time.
  9. PamH
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    Love hearing Keith sing but....what happened to the country sound????? I agree that this sounded more like a love album for Nicole. Love you as an actress Nicole but leave the music to Keith please!!! He sounded so much better before you!!!!!
  10. AngelH
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    This CD is quite possibly his best. I'm listening to it right now and I'm loving it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  11. ShawnH
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Amazing!!!
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. As a country album, a pop album, or something in between, Love, Pain, & The Whole Thing is simply bad.
  2. His lyrics may be doggedly unspecific, but ear-worming hooks and top-shelf instrumentation largely rectify that shortcoming.
  3. Love, Pain & the Whole Crazy Thing, will certainly gain Urban new fans with its safety net of sweet ballads and radio-friendly songs, yet the album still affords him the ability to have a little fun and take a few risks on a number of the tracks.