• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Nov 21, 2006
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 174 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 174

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    Love is a beautifully crafted, flowing remix album which captures all the mystique of the world's greatest ever band. The remix of 'Glass Onion' which is a microcosom when compared with the album length, sounds better than the original and the album delivers a new sound every time you listen to it making you feel all nostalgic as you relate it back to the original song. It turns out TheLove is a beautifully crafted, flowing remix album which captures all the mystique of the world's greatest ever band. The remix of 'Glass Onion' which is a microcosom when compared with the album length, sounds better than the original and the album delivers a new sound every time you listen to it making you feel all nostalgic as you relate it back to the original song. It turns out The Beatles can be reworked after all... Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    Me, being a huge Beatles fanatic, received this from a family member having heard good things about it. I turn the volume up, and... Oh my god. It's so beautiful! This album designed for "The Love Show" (The Beatles Cirque De Soleil) is a wonderful, beautifully crafted remix album of the world's greatest band ever. Combing different tracks and never before heard recordings into a wonderfulMe, being a huge Beatles fanatic, received this from a family member having heard good things about it. I turn the volume up, and... Oh my god. It's so beautiful! This album designed for "The Love Show" (The Beatles Cirque De Soleil) is a wonderful, beautifully crafted remix album of the world's greatest band ever. Combing different tracks and never before heard recordings into a wonderful album, that will surely delight any Beatles fans. Examples include the wonderful alternate version of "While My Guitar Gently Weeps", setting a more relaxing feel and sadder tone, it just wants to make you tear up (In both ways). Indeed, it is a great album, and it receives an outstanding 10 from me. Expand
  3. Jessica
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    I thought George Martin did an exceptional job on this album. You're taking timeless music and tweaking it brilliantly. The sting instruments and the fact that he brough out the "back" instruments is just awesome. It's almost as if the stage would have the string instruments and drummer in the front and singer/guitarist in the back. What a concept. Well done. I will listen for I thought George Martin did an exceptional job on this album. You're taking timeless music and tweaking it brilliantly. The sting instruments and the fact that he brough out the "back" instruments is just awesome. It's almost as if the stage would have the string instruments and drummer in the front and singer/guitarist in the back. What a concept. Well done. I will listen for years to come. Expand
  4. ChuckC
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    If anyone other than George Martin had done this, I never would have given it a listen. If you were ever a fan of the Beatles, put on a good set of headphones and fire this one up. Parts will bring tears of joy. John and George would love this.
  5. GlennF
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    A good pair of headphones, or stereo system, and possibly a 'herbal Jazz cigarette' or two, and you will hear the Beatles in all of their re-mastered glory. This album is just a prelude for the re-mastered catalog that is expected to be released in the near future. 40 years after Sgt. Pepper, and still no one can touch them.
  6. lynnh
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    Only George Martin could get away with this "heresy." But it creates a Beatles revival that serves as a soundtrack for another Cirque de Soliel masterpiece and a fitting tribute to the Fab 4. Only Martin would know how to take a lot of his previous work and the Beatles songs and remix them into a fresh sound that's almost like hearing the Beatles for the first time. Reviewers can Only George Martin could get away with this "heresy." But it creates a Beatles revival that serves as a soundtrack for another Cirque de Soliel masterpiece and a fitting tribute to the Fab 4. Only Martin would know how to take a lot of his previous work and the Beatles songs and remix them into a fresh sound that's almost like hearing the Beatles for the first time. Reviewers can argue that this should have been used and that should have been done, but you have to appreciate the whole CD as a masterpiece in itself. Let them remix the next CD. Expand
  7. AndrewH
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    Martin, you beauty! Money can buy you Love! I happen to have every single Beatles' album and I say without any hesitation, my collection is now conclusively complete!
  8. JosephA
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    A best of type album, with a few differences that make it better, this is a fantastic album of the most popular band ever
  9. JImK
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    Beatlemania reigns in the 21st century. Another generation can ALMOST understand what we did when they first hit the shores.
  10. KenS.
    Mar 1, 2008
    9
    I'm a huge Beatles fan and really appreciate most of their music but how many more variations of the same music can we be expected to buy? It may be time for us to move on.
  11. BobT
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Love Love - As I lifelong Beatles fan I thought I'd never get as jacked again now as I did in the '60s when the boys came out with something new - but I have. I need to make the pilgrimage to Vegas now to see the show. My kids already were Beatles fans and now they are listening to their songs all over again - and getting their friends into it too - what more could you ask for.
  12. RussY
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    Only a master like George Martin can keep the integrity of the original recording while paying homage with this masterpiece!!! Every Beatle fan will find this enjoyable and it will prove once again why even today Beatle music blows away the music of today.Martin again shows how The Beatles and himself were so ahead of their time!
  13. RobertD
    Dec 1, 2006
    9
    I did not think I was going to like this but I was blown away by the sound. It works.
  14. MatthewT
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    When I heard this on Virgin Radio's Geoff Show, (this was before they released it) I thought to myself, wow. This album is amazing. Sir George Martin and his son Jules have done an outstanding job at remastering and mixing old Beatles songs, to make them into something new and fresh. Something for a new generation.
  15. JesseM
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    If anyone out there is unclear about the genius of Paul McCartney as a bass player, put some headphones on and listen to this record.
  16. PaulG(newcastle)aged19
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    I think some of the critics haven't read what the concept of the album and the music is all about. The songs feature parts of other songs all the way through album, some really noticeable, some that you can't hear because it fits with the music so well. I honestly do believe that this is one of the greatest albums of the year. It brings together some of the best music ever I think some of the critics haven't read what the concept of the album and the music is all about. The songs feature parts of other songs all the way through album, some really noticeable, some that you can't hear because it fits with the music so well. I honestly do believe that this is one of the greatest albums of the year. It brings together some of the best music ever written, and in a way that you've never heard it before. I think people should just sit back and enjoy listening to it. Expand
  17. AlexS.
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    A stunning achievement. Everything old is new again. It is like hearing the music for the first time.
  18. BradP
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    "Love" is all about fun, and making things fun again. I am giving it a 10 because each time I hear this CD I just grin from ear to ear, laughing out loud at the transitions and familiar tidbits. It is like watching your family in a funhouse mirror! I grew up with the Beatles during the 60's, when each new album was greeted with amazement - what were they going to do now, after Rubber "Love" is all about fun, and making things fun again. I am giving it a 10 because each time I hear this CD I just grin from ear to ear, laughing out loud at the transitions and familiar tidbits. It is like watching your family in a funhouse mirror! I grew up with the Beatles during the 60's, when each new album was greeted with amazement - what were they going to do now, after Rubber Soul, after Revolver? Such anticipation has long worn off, but "Love" brings back a palpable feeling of joy and surprise to this material. Imagine all this growth in only 5 years - incredible! I am firmly in the camp that values emotional expression over historical purity - I support a complete remastering of the Beatles catalog that brings the work into present day sonic standards. "Love" demonstrates how powerful those original tracks still are, and how exciting a new presentation can be. The old mixes are a classic experience, but were made with almost no understanding of the potential of stereo sound - the assumptions of the LPs were that of sub-standard delivery systems, and there is no longer a need to hit that lowest common denominator. More than anything else, "Love" reminds me just how great the Beatle's music really is - and how much fun it can be. Expand
  19. jasong
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    this alblum comfirms what i always knew,george martin was the 5th beatle."love" takes you on a Magical Mystery Tour of some of the best recordings ever made by any artist."love"could be described as an extension to what abbey road was and is.the word "mashed" shouldn't be used to describe this alblum.love is brillent."love" is the closest thing any of us will ever have to what a this alblum comfirms what i always knew,george martin was the 5th beatle."love" takes you on a Magical Mystery Tour of some of the best recordings ever made by any artist."love"could be described as an extension to what abbey road was and is.the word "mashed" shouldn't be used to describe this alblum.love is brillent."love" is the closest thing any of us will ever have to what a modern day beatles concert would sound like.thanks for the idea george harrison and thank you george & giles martin for a job well done. Expand
  20. EdwinL
    Jan 6, 2007
    9
    The Beatles left such a large legacy of music it would take too long to come up with something in the vein of "Love" that every fan liked. The Beatles produced a lot of experimental music and this album is experimental. We become conditioned to what we hear, so hearing something so similar but different can be disturbing. But this album was produced as the soundtrack to a The Beatles left such a large legacy of music it would take too long to come up with something in the vein of "Love" that every fan liked. The Beatles produced a lot of experimental music and this album is experimental. We become conditioned to what we hear, so hearing something so similar but different can be disturbing. But this album was produced as the soundtrack to a 'Cirque' show in Las Vegas, so there are limits to what could be done. The best way to appreciate the album is to first see the show in Las Vegas. There are some places in the show where the mash-up is required, but there are other places where staying with something more traditional is better. The combination of the chord from Help, the drum solo from Abby Road leading into Get Back, with the action on stage is one of the most powerful theatrical moments I have ever seen. I want to see it again, because I know I missed some of the action. The stage is very busy. It is one of the shows where every time you see it you will probably se something new. Expand
  21. RitaX
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    wonderful
  22. EdwinB
    Aug 4, 2009
    9
    If you are a Beatles fan (and who isn't?) who sits around some days thinking, "I would give my left arm if someone could discover a long-lost Beatles album of previously unreleased material - like a sequel to Sgt. Pepper or something... oh my god I'm getting excited just thinking about it!) I'm sorry, but that's never going to happen. This is the next best thing If you are a Beatles fan (and who isn't?) who sits around some days thinking, "I would give my left arm if someone could discover a long-lost Beatles album of previously unreleased material - like a sequel to Sgt. Pepper or something... oh my god I'm getting excited just thinking about it!) I'm sorry, but that's never going to happen. This is the next best thing though. I would even take this over "Let It Be... Naked." It's for Beatles fans. Expand
  23. Quaid
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    I have heard so many people say this album fails on the concept, but do these people really know what they are talking about. The album was not intended for a cd. It is part of a show in Vegas. Of course the cd inside the show is much better, but it's nice to hear it on cd. If the cd was all complete tracks, then what kind of show would that be. The inside jacket gives photos from I have heard so many people say this album fails on the concept, but do these people really know what they are talking about. The album was not intended for a cd. It is part of a show in Vegas. Of course the cd inside the show is much better, but it's nice to hear it on cd. If the cd was all complete tracks, then what kind of show would that be. The inside jacket gives photos from the show to sort of visualize the experience. Anyone who gives this lower than a 9 did not do their homework as to why this show was even made into a cd to begin with. Expand
  24. trygve
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    it`s like hearing a new beatles album......Great
  25. TonyK
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    its getting better all the time
  26. dougj
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    a splendid time is guaranteed for all !!!
  27. DavidM
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    Wasn't sure anything could improve the memories of "being there" when first heard on vinyl, but Martin's strings with "While My Guitar.." heard in Dolby 5.1 reflects the Love that went into the whole project - amazing
  28. JonathanC
    Dec 27, 2006
    9
    This album is outstanding. It's hard to make a mess of such amazing tunes and George and Giles Martin have created a further masterpiece to add to the Beatles catalogue. And the 5.1 is incredible!
  29. PromoladD
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    A definite 10 from the geniuses of George and Giles Martin. No true fan of the Fabs should be without this wonderful album. It only gets better with each listen.
  30. DavidN
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    This album shows the true genius of the artists and the Martin's intimacy with the music. A truly emotional experience that will bring the music of the Beatles to a new generation. It actually crosses generations, grandmothers and grandfathers are listening and reliving cherished memories, mothers and fathers are sharing this amazing music with their children who, many for the first This album shows the true genius of the artists and the Martin's intimacy with the music. A truly emotional experience that will bring the music of the Beatles to a new generation. It actually crosses generations, grandmothers and grandfathers are listening and reliving cherished memories, mothers and fathers are sharing this amazing music with their children who, many for the first time, are hearing some of the best music of all time. I cannot wait to see the show with my family and enjoy the combination of music and visuals. I am not ashamed to admit that there will be tissues in my pocket and few tears shed before we hear the final notes of All You Need is Love. Expand
  31. Rev.Rikard
    Dec 8, 2006
    9
    An effort of this type can degenerate into sappy sentimentalism, unless the thread that weaves the album together is the music of The Beatles, and the seamstress George Martin. These songs have aged well as has the creativity of Martin. "Love" is far more than a pleasing fusion of great music from one of rock's great bands; it is an earnest reminder of why The Beatles remain relevant An effort of this type can degenerate into sappy sentimentalism, unless the thread that weaves the album together is the music of The Beatles, and the seamstress George Martin. These songs have aged well as has the creativity of Martin. "Love" is far more than a pleasing fusion of great music from one of rock's great bands; it is an earnest reminder of why The Beatles remain relevant involving any discussion of popular music and its various directions and expresssions throughout the years. The only reason I could not rate this album a 10 is because McCartney was correct in his opinion that Martin could have been even more experimental. Still, a great piece of work for collectors of fine pop music. Expand
  32. ChrisM
    Dec 8, 2006
    9
    This really is an excellent piece of work.
  33. DavidJ
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    This is a real Beatles album. It is Revolution #9 and Abbey Road fully realized. A true concept album. Yes there are moments when the transitions will cross a person line, but there are new moments of true Beatles power which will reach to the listener. It is art, so it won't be everything to everyone, but you can feel that the inspiration and muse behind this album comes from a This is a real Beatles album. It is Revolution #9 and Abbey Road fully realized. A true concept album. Yes there are moments when the transitions will cross a person line, but there are new moments of true Beatles power which will reach to the listener. It is art, so it won't be everything to everyone, but you can feel that the inspiration and muse behind this album comes from a place and time before "the suits won". Of course there is a marketing juggernaught behind any official Beatle offering, but the reality is that this particular piece harkens to other ideals. It's a magnificent soundscape, and listening in 5.1 surround sound is the closest thing to a "happening" I have experienced in a very long time. Expand
  34. paul
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    did you know sirc de soley performs with this album
  35. Hany
    Jan 13, 2007
    9
    LOVE continues the experimental explorations the Beatles were fond of. I'm glad that Paul and Ringo told Giles and George Martin to 'go crazy' with the music.
  36. halb
    Jan 21, 2007
    9
    Gets better upon repeated listenings... I was very skeptical at first, but this CD has won me over. An amazing compilation, re-mastering and re-mxing of some great songs. Every year or two I re-discover the Beatles and am amazed at what they accomplished. Yes, it would be great if they re-mastered all the original LPs, but until they do, this is a nice way to pass time, to escape into a Gets better upon repeated listenings... I was very skeptical at first, but this CD has won me over. An amazing compilation, re-mastering and re-mxing of some great songs. Every year or two I re-discover the Beatles and am amazed at what they accomplished. Yes, it would be great if they re-mastered all the original LPs, but until they do, this is a nice way to pass time, to escape into a soundscape of pop and rock masterpieces. Expand
  37. RoyE.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    This is a great Cd...Its fun hearing things that were pushed back a bit in the original mixes and less of the "stacked" sounds that covered up some great things proving that sometimes less is more. Now...to all you purest...This Cd is what it is...a new fresh way to listen to the fab four...You still have the original cds and I'm not in any way implying that this is better....just a This is a great Cd...Its fun hearing things that were pushed back a bit in the original mixes and less of the "stacked" sounds that covered up some great things proving that sometimes less is more. Now...to all you purest...This Cd is what it is...a new fresh way to listen to the fab four...You still have the original cds and I'm not in any way implying that this is better....just a new aproach! Expand
  38. StephenE
    Jan 24, 2007
    9
    If you like the originals more, listen to them. Nobody forces you to only listen to Love. Having said that, I purchased the DVD-Audio version, and it is by far the best sounding Beatles release yet. That alone, warrants a high rating. However, this should be the last Beatles release for a long time. "1" was great for the people who loved the "hit" songs, but it wasn't for me and If you like the originals more, listen to them. Nobody forces you to only listen to Love. Having said that, I purchased the DVD-Audio version, and it is by far the best sounding Beatles release yet. That alone, warrants a high rating. However, this should be the last Beatles release for a long time. "1" was great for the people who loved the "hit" songs, but it wasn't for me and would have rathered listen to the originals. Because I can't always listen to all the Beatles albums in one sitting, I consider this to be my version of "1". Expand
  39. STEVENR
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    Right from the beginning, hearing "Because" in Acapella the CD grabbed me and the songs grab you in ways they didn't before. Hearing well constructed versions of great songs adds a new dimension without dimiinshing the fantastic originals.by the best musicians in history.
  40. JeffL
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    A T-bone steak for a starving Beatle's fan!
  41. VirgilD
    Feb 10, 2007
    9
    This work is really a showcase of the Beatles increadable talent. Their harmony is quite remarkable and their imagination when these tracks are disected is captivating. A few spots are troubling, but overall Martin does a fine job of piecing it all together. "because" will loop in your head all day long...
  42. PavinK
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    This is a great CD but i dont encourage first time beatle listners to listen to it, listen to the originals then listen to these fantasticaly mixed songs
  43. DustinP.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    A truly outstanding and original twist on the Beatles music.It's just as fun to try to identify all the little sound effects in each song as it is to just enjoy the music.
  44. andrewc
    Nov 21, 2006
    9
    this album is simply remarkable....i only gave it a 9 because it's such a tease. you'll hear certain intros and parts to other songs, and you want them to continue...when suddenly they end. however, another tune starts and you begin to feel the goosebumps. i was very surprised when i heard this album. kudos to george and giles.
  45. ArmandV
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Always been a Beatle fan, saw the show in Vegas, was blown away. The CD brings it all back. HIgh point is the way the transitions are made from great song to great song.
  46. pgannon
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Fantastic!! NOW. CAN'T THEY REDO THE REST OF THE CATALOG. The sound is great. Good job Gerog and Giles and thank you Beatles!!!
  47. BobO
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    The remastering alone would qualify this disc for a '9' rating, as would the pure entertainment value. But more than that, the finely detailed song reconstructions within illuminate the detail and texture that the Beatles put into every layer of their songs -- even though (at the time) most typical sonic equipment was incapable of unveiling it. This is music that had to wait for The remastering alone would qualify this disc for a '9' rating, as would the pure entertainment value. But more than that, the finely detailed song reconstructions within illuminate the detail and texture that the Beatles put into every layer of their songs -- even though (at the time) most typical sonic equipment was incapable of unveiling it. This is music that had to wait for time and technology to catch up with, and which reveals its creators as the major talents they were. Expand
  48. JohnW
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    i listened to this on Beatles.com and wow its so amazing how all the songs fit perfectly...it makes you have another reason to love The Beatles even more! im buying it tomorrow!
  49. LarryS
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Amazing!
  50. zman
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    Other then the odd -not really dvd-audio disk- this is a wonderful cd. This music is truely Magical and timeless.
  51. JerradH
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    Being able to hear some of the old classics in remixed, remastered versions is something I've been waiting for longer than I can remember. I am the Walrus and A Day in the Life are worth the price of admission alone.
  52. TomM
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    Anyone and everyone who loves or even remotely likes the Beatles (and, really, shouldn't that be just about anyone who enjoys rock?) should purchase this special edition with the DVD. Not only is the music itself incredible, not only is the remastering job on the CD amazing, but the DVD in surround is absolutely mind-blowing. You cannot believe how huge and clear the sound is in Anyone and everyone who loves or even remotely likes the Beatles (and, really, shouldn't that be just about anyone who enjoys rock?) should purchase this special edition with the DVD. Not only is the music itself incredible, not only is the remastering job on the CD amazing, but the DVD in surround is absolutely mind-blowing. You cannot believe how huge and clear the sound is in surround. Fantastic! What Goerge M. and son have accomplished here is a work of art, pure and simple. Finally, one last comment - in remastered sound, it is astounding how fresh and new these recordings sound. The music is beyond timeless - most, if not all of it sounds as though it was literally recorded a few hours ago. They are, and always will be, the best band ever. Expand
  53. SteveG
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    Listening to "Love" for the first time was an astronatical lift off into an emotion-filled startosphere. WOW! WOW! WOW! The feeling was intense. Can you still remember the first time you rode a tilt-a-wheel or a roller coaster? Can you imagine the joy of holding a ressurected loved-one in your arms once again. If you can, then you have an idea of what listening to this album did for me. I Listening to "Love" for the first time was an astronatical lift off into an emotion-filled startosphere. WOW! WOW! WOW! The feeling was intense. Can you still remember the first time you rode a tilt-a-wheel or a roller coaster? Can you imagine the joy of holding a ressurected loved-one in your arms once again. If you can, then you have an idea of what listening to this album did for me. I can only imagine what listening to these sounds again did to the remaining Beatles, Paul and Ringo. If I were one of them, I could not have held back the tears of emotion. Thank you Giles and George. Your legacy is postively imprinted forever on the hearts of the listening public. Expand
  54. JenkinsB
    Nov 26, 2006
    9
    Great album. Keep in mind that this was produced as a soundtrack to a Cirque du Soleil show, not just as another Beatles re-release. Some of the mixes were designed for the live performance in mind and without that performance, they may lose some of their "oomph". Overall, it's a great CD. See the show in Vegas to complete your experience.
  55. ChaudL
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    no matter who we are, or what we are doing in life, if we have a family, we all like to spend some quality time with them during the holidays. it is something that i think we all have in common. and for those of us who are less fortunate, i guarantee to you that they reminisce about quality family time at the very least. (i know i have been lately. this year has not been so good to me in no matter who we are, or what we are doing in life, if we have a family, we all like to spend some quality time with them during the holidays. it is something that i think we all have in common. and for those of us who are less fortunate, i guarantee to you that they reminisce about quality family time at the very least. (i know i have been lately. this year has not been so good to me in the personal life department.) i won't go into detail about what happened to me. that's not the point i'm trying to make here at all. i'm actually trying to understand how the entire planet has chosen a specific time of year to get all close and personal. cozy up with each other. etc. and then it dawned on me. during the first rain of the season. it's cold outside! we have to be inside if we want to stay warm. and if we want to get even warmer, we huddle together with those that we are close to. could it be that we all get together during the winter time because we have to? to survive? now i'm not saying that we don't want to be together with the ones we love. we all know that we want to be with them. so maybe we have to huddle together during the winter to survive, but it is our decision as to who to pick to surround ourselves with. and then we all survive together. and then we all survive together. and then we all survive together. and then we all survive. together. together. and then we all survive together. ~CL www.wakeupbang.com Expand
  56. MattD.
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    Don't expect any re-invention here. But none of the songs are ruined, so because they were great to begin with, this CD deserves a 10!
  57. KennethW
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    Classics should be respected, Cirque should be respected. a breath of fresh air from classic Rock on todays stale rock.
  58. RobertoS
    Nov 29, 2006
    9
    A few hears ago I read an article from a man who was traveling across the US in his car in 1967 the week Sgt. Peppers was released. In those hopeful times, the core of the sixties exploded that summer. Most radio stations played Sgt. Pepper straight through, 24 hours, some of them for days on end. He wrote as one radio station would start to fade another would take its place on the radio. A few hears ago I read an article from a man who was traveling across the US in his car in 1967 the week Sgt. Peppers was released. In those hopeful times, the core of the sixties exploded that summer. Most radio stations played Sgt. Pepper straight through, 24 hours, some of them for days on end. He wrote as one radio station would start to fade another would take its place on the radio. As the Summer of Love blossomed in full force that June, the Beatles provided for a short but eternal time its soundtrack. The Beatles, their sound, their time, their life, and their music are intrinsically wrapped around the hope, ultimately unrealized of the 1960's. The 60's... the visual koan of any individual life, from the innocence of a pre-sexualized love found in I Want To Hold Your Hand, to the awakening of something more than self-indulgence and self-absorption as expressed in Rubber Soul and Revolver Expand
  59. JustinT
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    See the show. It's outstanding. Brought tears to my eyes.
  60. KudsiaB
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    Makes me wish i had been there then - but this is good now!!!!!!
  61. JPP
    Dec 18, 2006
    9
    It is almost as if The Beatles were still alive and making revolutionary music nowadays.
  62. dannyk
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    once again, the beatles are the best band ever!
  63. AlexA
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    If you want to know why did The Beatles become the most important band on Earth, easily listen to this album. That's the perfect Beatles compilation.
  64. AbercrombieF
    Dec 25, 2006
    9
    Definitely holds your interest, more depth than the originals.
  65. ChristianT
    Dec 3, 2006
    9
    A magical reinterpretation of great songs. Yes, some of the mash ups could have gone further, but it was refreshing to see some of the more experimental and, in my view, better tracks getting a run rather than taking the predictable route and sticking all the standard Beatles number 1 lollipops on the CD. The remastering of some tracks (revolution, Here comes the sun), where previously A magical reinterpretation of great songs. Yes, some of the mash ups could have gone further, but it was refreshing to see some of the more experimental and, in my view, better tracks getting a run rather than taking the predictable route and sticking all the standard Beatles number 1 lollipops on the CD. The remastering of some tracks (revolution, Here comes the sun), where previously fused lead/rhythm guitar parts are now given full reign as individual instruments better shows the muscial tapestry that was woven in the studio. And this leads to my only gripe, I now want to hear the entire catalogue properly remastered even though it will come at my own considerable cost. Expand
  66. RobD
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    fantastic
  67. xy
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    A Magical Musical Tour
  68. jime
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    best thing i heard this year
  69. DouglasL
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    Simply Fuckin' Brilliant!!!
  70. ThomasM
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    this album is one of the most brilliant, midblowing, amazing albums ever. the greatest songs ever by the greatest band ever. the beatles will live forever
  71. JohnT
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    Anyone who confuses the songs with jingles is clearly uneducated... Get Back/ Within You Without You/ Here Comes The Sun/Glass Onion are instant classics reborn by the man who is undoubtablyt the 5th Beatle. producer George Martin, joined by his son Giles. Their care is what created this album... any more mixing and it would have become a novelty record. Instead, it is a classic.
  72. DannyC
    Jan 28, 2007
    9
    A very refreshing look at the classics. Very enjoyable. And as for Joe P. your rating makes no sense. You are basically calling the Beatles music crap, because all this is is there songs looked at in a different light. Dude we have obviously worshipped the originals for years upon years now. We know they are great. This album is a fun new way at looking at the catalogue.
  73. AlexD
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    Absolutely Superb! What a joy to lisen to, what a march back in time to hear how wonderful this music was, and stil lis...I wish the entire Beatles albums would be rencoded by the Martins in DTS 5.1.....what a sonic goldmine! I have never heard the Beatles sound so good, and with all the rereshing remixing and blending in ny the Martins this is a collabortation that is exquisite!! Thanks! AD
  74. JimW
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    Incredible!
  75. SeanG.
    May 27, 2007
    10
    One of the fab four's best....bar none.
  76. ronaldG.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    Great fun figuring out where the various sub-parts come from, and a great variety of Beatle sounds - not necessarily #1 hits. The one Beatle album to take on a desert island.
  77. RayB
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    The Beatles were truly the greatest band in the history of music, and their music is timeless. This album is a prime example of how great they really were. Other folks say you should'nt mess with the classic songs of the Beatles, so what are we to do? Look and listen but not never touch? Thats exactly the opposite of what the Beatles were all about. The White Album's "Revolution The Beatles were truly the greatest band in the history of music, and their music is timeless. This album is a prime example of how great they really were. Other folks say you should'nt mess with the classic songs of the Beatles, so what are we to do? Look and listen but not never touch? Thats exactly the opposite of what the Beatles were all about. The White Album's "Revolution 9" shows my point completely. Anywho I think this album would have made John and George very happy, as it had Paul and Ringo. Peace. Expand
  78. adrian
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Yesterday I thought i'd never want to hear some of these songs ever again yet to hear this in surround is simply breathtaking. The mash ups are fascinating but I also hope they start a debate on Apple updating the catalog. Lets get these albums remasterd and release the later ones with 5.1 mixes please.
  79. AntonioR
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    The Album is perfect !
  80. SarryB
    Nov 22, 2006
    9
    There certainly seems to be 3 camps to this one. Those that think any altering of the originals is sinful and evil, those that are OK with the idea, but not with the execution, and those that love it. And, contrary to the post below, I doubt any 16 year-old with GarageBand could have made anything as clean and impressive as these new mixes. Here's a news flash to those who don't There certainly seems to be 3 camps to this one. Those that think any altering of the originals is sinful and evil, those that are OK with the idea, but not with the execution, and those that love it. And, contrary to the post below, I doubt any 16 year-old with GarageBand could have made anything as clean and impressive as these new mixes. Here's a news flash to those who don't know - this was put together for as a soundtrack for the Cirque du Soleil show "Love". Some tracks were mashed up to create a varied soundscape, others remained whole because of the "weight" or importance they apparently carry in the show. Plus, I respect any reverence Sir George Martin would have for these recordings, imagine the history he has with them. And no, this ISN'T some purely money-hungry attempt to "market" the Beatles to a new generation. The founder of Cirque du Soleil approached George Harrison regarding this project, and thus we have this final product. This wasn't a case of, "hey, kids will love Beatles' remixes for Christmas this year!". It was the desire of Cirque du Soleil to do a show based around (altered) Beatles music. So those guys make some coin off this, who gives a rat's ass? They only made some of the most timeless music ever - it deserves that kind of (monetary) respect. Think of all the money that's been wasted on crap like K-Fed and the flavor-of-the-month boy-band and girl-band crazes a few years back. At least purchases of this album are money well spent on real music. Great stuff, no controversy, no complaints (except now the whole Beatles catalog needs to be remastered...) Expand
  81. PeterD
    Nov 24, 2006
    10
    I love this record. Just to hear Beatle music remixed is fantastic.
  82. MiguelS
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    This is the Best Compilation i hear of the Beatles. Excellent work to Sir George Martin and Giles Martin.
  83. Xavier
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    Amazing... It blew my mind and ears and take my breath away. The choice of the songs is nice and the most incredible is that 36 years after the separation of the Beatles , 26 years after the death of John and 5 after George's, there is still a new Beatles CD on the racks. And not made by any wanna be Beatles, but but a man who knew them more than anybody else, Mr George Martin. Lots Amazing... It blew my mind and ears and take my breath away. The choice of the songs is nice and the most incredible is that 36 years after the separation of the Beatles , 26 years after the death of John and 5 after George's, there is still a new Beatles CD on the racks. And not made by any wanna be Beatles, but but a man who knew them more than anybody else, Mr George Martin. Lots of good rythm, great songs, excellent mixes and lots of nostalgia and tears, but happy tears... Expand
  84. DavidT
    Dec 14, 2006
    10
    I grew up with the Beatles and this is the most exciting recording of theirs I've heard since Sergeant Peppers. Listen on a great stereo system, you'll hear songs you've grown tired of like they've just been released. Some say the Martins didn't go far enough. The point wasn't to tear apart the Beatles to where it was unrecognizable. Rather, they have I grew up with the Beatles and this is the most exciting recording of theirs I've heard since Sergeant Peppers. Listen on a great stereo system, you'll hear songs you've grown tired of like they've just been released. Some say the Martins didn't go far enough. The point wasn't to tear apart the Beatles to where it was unrecognizable. Rather, they have saturated us with the Beatles magic and made it fresh again. Expand
  85. RobW
    Dec 22, 2006
    9
    I gave LOVE a high rating because it's not just another CD with already pre-released Beatle's material, but an audio experience all within itself. George Martin and group did an exceptional job of condensing many years of Beatlemania into one album that will give younger listeners (and some of us older ones, as well) the experience of top-of-the-line digital technology and "The I gave LOVE a high rating because it's not just another CD with already pre-released Beatle's material, but an audio experience all within itself. George Martin and group did an exceptional job of condensing many years of Beatlemania into one album that will give younger listeners (and some of us older ones, as well) the experience of top-of-the-line digital technology and "The Beatles", all in one package. LOVE points out what a tight and almost timeless act the Beatles were...and brings out the beauty and creativeness that each member of the band contributed, to the overall experience of Beatlemania. I was hestitant, at first, to listen to this CD...but it's a beautiful piece of work and I was "blown away", to say the least. From the heart, I thank all of you who participated in the LOVE project - you gave me, and I'm sure others, something to remember for a long time. Expand
  86. JCph3
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    didn't let me down and in he end all you need is Love!
  87. DannyB
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    This album equally celebrates the genius of Sir George Martin as it does the subjects themselves. Martin uses inovative arrangements and mixing to create a brand new twist on some of the classics of all time. One listen reinforces how bad music has become since 1972.
  88. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    If Abbey Road side 2 gave us a ground-breaking 20 minute medley of Beatles magic that was the precursor to the rock "opera" format of studio bands of the late 60's onwards then "Love" is the crowning epitaph.
  89. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    Love is a brilliant album which takes the classic Beatles tracks and make them gel into a seamless flow of music. New energy is brought to old tracks without tampering with what made them so exceptional in the first place. When you listen to it you are reminded of just how diverse and inventive the Beatles really were.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Love vindicates the Beatles' status as master musicians and conceptualists.
  2. The question of whether anybody would listen to Love more than once if the original Beatles albums were available in equivalent sound quality is a nice one. But it doesn't seem to matter much when you can almost feel the spit flying from John Lennon's mouth during Revolution, or when A Day in the Life's orchestral swell comes surging from the speakers. After all, it's hard to ask questions when your breath has been taken away.
  3. You could figure it as a sop to today's interactive mash-up culture. Or you could say it's just extending the medley-ish, segue-happy ethos of Abbey Road to the band's entire catalog. Really, it's both, and it's bliss.