lovehatetragedy

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    It is pretty interesting that critics are generally satisfied with this album whereas fans are definitely divided. I belong to lovehatetragedy's fans - for me it's the best Papa Roach album. 'Decompression period', 'Life is a bullet', 'Black clouds' are powerful songs, 'She loves me not' won't get out of my head easily, 'M-80' makes me want to jump, scream, lets me feel the music insideIt is pretty interesting that critics are generally satisfied with this album whereas fans are definitely divided. I belong to lovehatetragedy's fans - for me it's the best Papa Roach album. 'Decompression period', 'Life is a bullet', 'Black clouds' are powerful songs, 'She loves me not' won't get out of my head easily, 'M-80' makes me want to jump, scream, lets me feel the music inside me. Amazing album, but it seems that Papa Roach stopped to release albums as great as this one. Collapse
  2. May 8, 2011
    7
    Just a great album from a great band that has developed more and more throughout their career. This album isn't their best but contains real classics
  3. NoahS.
    Jan 27, 2005
    7
    I'm not sure why people are comparing this album to RATM. The Infest album was a Rap/Metal outfit, this album is not at all. It has a completely different style, more like a Lit/Nirvana/Staind hybrid than any rap-rock business. There is one rap verse in the whole album, and it is the low point of the worst song on the album. Other than that song, the single (She Loves Me Not) I I'm not sure why people are comparing this album to RATM. The Infest album was a Rap/Metal outfit, this album is not at all. It has a completely different style, more like a Lit/Nirvana/Staind hybrid than any rap-rock business. There is one rap verse in the whole album, and it is the low point of the worst song on the album. Other than that song, the single (She Loves Me Not) I thought this was a very entertaining mood record. Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Aug 9, 2007
    8
    This is a great rock/alternative metal album. There's hardly any rap on it at all... why are people even comparing them to RATM? They don't sound like them at all. If you're obsessed with RATM and that's all you want to hear then don't bother with this album, but it's solid throughout.
  5. Chris
    Aug 5, 2003
    9
    Like infest, this is another great album, with outstanding songs like 'Time and Time Again', 'Born With Nothing, Die With Everything', and not to forget their hitsingle 'She Loves Me Not'. One negative point: Jacoby Shaddix (formerly known as Coby Dick) brought his personal frustrations to the studio. While listening everybody will notice alot of the songs Like infest, this is another great album, with outstanding songs like 'Time and Time Again', 'Born With Nothing, Die With Everything', and not to forget their hitsingle 'She Loves Me Not'. One negative point: Jacoby Shaddix (formerly known as Coby Dick) brought his personal frustrations to the studio. While listening everybody will notice alot of the songs are about love and girlfriends. Besides that, this is just a great rock/metal album, though not as good as their debut 'Infest'. Expand
  6. vjvjhjgki
    Aug 26, 2002
    8
    Good riffs and lyrics, although sounds too similar to Infest.
  7. Eposivia
    Mar 11, 2005
    10
    This album is the best of Papa Roach until now, I don't know why you people don't like it, but than please don't listen it if you get disappointed, the half of the people who gave it a low point comes with bullshit, why should you compare? It's about the feeling etc...
  8. DaraghL.
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    Very different from infest, but still a masterpiece.
  9. Sep 9, 2015
    9
    This is and will always be my favorite papa roach album. I don't understand the hate. It's not watered down, it's just an evolution in sound. She loves me not is probably the greatest song by papa roach ever.
  10. Jan 3, 2017
    9
    I cannot understand the people comparing this album to RATM. Even they are both considered as nu metal band, they haven't the same musical direction. This albums contain rock masterpieces like She loves me not, Code of Energy, or M-80, all that is to contest in this album is that the chorus are repetitive. Overall, the riffs in this album sounds very good. I think it is the most artisticI cannot understand the people comparing this album to RATM. Even they are both considered as nu metal band, they haven't the same musical direction. This albums contain rock masterpieces like She loves me not, Code of Energy, or M-80, all that is to contest in this album is that the chorus are repetitive. Overall, the riffs in this album sounds very good. I think it is the most artistic albums created by Papa Roach, the other one are more and less commercial. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Precise? Yes. But does it work your frustrations out? Only a little.
  2. No post-nu-metal. No nu-post-hardcore. Just a solid, honest, rock album.
  3. Shaddix's woes connect directly to a large and equally confused audience, and that nobody this side of Kurt Cobain communicates them with as much power.